Chevron Left
Retour à Quantitative Methods

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Quantitative Methods par Université d'Amsterdam

4.7
étoiles
1,748 évaluations
625 avis

À propos du cours

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Meilleurs avis

LG
4 janv. 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

GM
15 nov. 2020

Excellent course! Well narrated, even entertaining, VERY well structured, with supporting material, and a great mix of theory and examples or discussions. Perhaps the best MOOC I've ever encountered.

Filtrer par :

576 - 600 sur 619 Avis pour Quantitative Methods

par Vibhor B

22 oct. 2020

The videos are comprehensive and the assignments really test your learning

par Hanneke L

13 janv. 2020

Love the videos and the clear explanations of all concepts discussed.

par Georgina D

8 juil. 2019

Great course. Broad scope and hones in on important ethical aspects.

par Tobias R A

29 juil. 2020

A very good course, with very good examples, lectures and exams

par ThomasIwalla

2 mars 2019

A very intensive course. Learnt a lot from the course so far.

par Jennifer P

7 mai 2016

Good pacing, good explanations, reasonable expectations.

par 婉佑 田

17 août 2016

it's really good for a student in planning department.

par Toshan M

19 nov. 2018

Good introduction to statistics and social science.

par Chris C

24 août 2020

Very interesting but could have been more rigorous

par Enchill G L

14 nov. 2020

It is a pleasure and great to learn this course.

par Fabian G

2 déc. 2015

Interesting and concise. Straight to the point.

par Bartosz K

10 déc. 2015

Great content and delivered in a clear way.

par Mahalakshmi V

11 sept. 2020

good and easy understandable subject

par Juan S B M

12 janv. 2017

very good course, well structured!!

par Madiha G

13 août 2020

Good one for beginners

par PUSPARGHYA S

29 août 2020

THIS HELPS A LOT.

par Ree R

7 juil. 2020

Excellent course.

par MYAT T W

3 oct. 2019

effective for me

par Jamer N C A

29 oct. 2015

Excelente!

par MUSA T S

24 janv. 2017

good

par Nitika J

10 août 2020

.

par Flavia F

6 juin 2020

The course is very interesting and the material discussed is all essential knowledge for doing research in the field of social sciences. I also really appreciate the extra material that the teachers offered, the interesting interviews in particular, which presents the student with the perspective of scientists conducting research in the field.

However, the amount of work required for completing the course is significantly above that mentioned in the course description, or at least in one takes the final assignments seriously.

Another problem I had was with understanding the questions of several final assignments and of the final exam. I have a master in cognitive science, one in analytic philosophy, and I am at the final stage of my PhD in philosophy. I have studied my masters in English, and I am writing my PhD thesis in English. Yet, many questions really puzzled me, including the questions regarding the philosophical content of the course.

Given the difficulties I encountered, I wonder whether this course would be really suitable to undergraduates.

Despite that, I am happy to have completed the course and I recognize that I learned a lot during the course. Despite the final assignments requiring more work than I had planned, I had a lot of fun doing them. Furthermore, I really appreciate the teachers' effort (and I believe quite some was needed) to design this course and to offer students more than it was required to provide them with some basic knowledge.

par Dori H

19 sept. 2020

The course content is great. The lectures and materials are good as well. However, the peer review assignment is more than terrible. The idea of collaborative learning is awesome, but pursing which requires certain checking and supporting mechanisms. There is no quality control of the review system. Plagiarism is prevalent!!! I don't understand how people just copy-n-past the same thing and submit as their own work? This happens every week, and people copied the exact same works. I was shocked reading several identical submissions in a row. Such actions of ACADEMIC DISHONESTY should NOT BE TOLERATED. Another huge problem, relating to peer-review, is the discussion forum. There is almost no discussion about the course content. I thought the purpose of forum is to clarify confusion through discussions. But it turns out to be a place to post one's work requesting for review. It's okay for sure, but this should not be the main function of the forum. Thus, overall, unfortunately, I feel that the disfunction of the discussion forum and the lack of countering mechanism against plagiarism tarnished this wonderful course.

par Stephen R

17 oct. 2015

The actual educational value of this course is quite high. The score I can offer it in good faith is dragged down by the additional "assignments" like "Write you own quiz question!" and the expectation to review the quiz questions thought up by other students. Such things in a scientific course are unnecessary and may actually be counterproductive because of the reliance upon other students and their grasp of the material. If they are to remain part of this course, they really should be treated as supplementary and not required to complete the course. It really detracts from the experience for those of us who come here to learn and not to socialize.

par Rafael d M B

26 juin 2020

The course is good, although some things bothered me a lot: 1) The peer review is just horrible. I've been plagiarized 3 times during this course, it takes a lot of time to wait for other students' assignments to be ready for evaluation and most of the time the evaluations received follow a random pattern. 2) the examples and the knowledge are mainly for Psychology. Don't be fooled, it says Social Sciences, but 90% of the examples or the subjects is about Psychology. If you want to have real examples of Economis, Political Science or International Relations, you won't find them here. I suggest changing the title of the course to address this issue.