Chevron Left
Retour à Quantitative Methods

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Quantitative Methods par Université d'Amsterdam

4.7
1,134 notes
376 avis

À propos du cours

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filtrer par :

351 - 369 sur 369 Examens pour Quantitative Methods

par Jan B

Aug 24, 2019

Very good course, the videos were entertaining and the tasks forced me to use the newly acquired knowledge in practice. Still, I guess we all would benefit from a longer project completed part by part, for example, a study using some database. In this way, it would bring even more benefits.

par Sara H M

Sep 02, 2019

I would like to have a review that included what answers are expected on the Writing Assignments. Because sometimes, especially in the second writing assignment, I didn't know if it was a correct answer or what is expected as an answer.

par MYAT T W

Oct 03, 2019

effective for me

par Melanie W

Nov 07, 2019

Overall the course was great. The only major critique that I have is that the exam questions were often worded unclearly, which sometimes caused me to get answers wrong for concepts that I actually understood. Otherwise I'm very happy with the quality of the course!

par Beatrice B

Jul 25, 2018

positive points: explanations in videos are often clear and comprehensible; video illustrations are fairly useful; the quizzes to test knowledge and comprehension of the concepts of the week are accurate enough (but only test 'passive' comprehension of the concepts).

negative points: explanations are extremely concise and often too short to be clearly understandable and effective; assignments are especially time- and effort-consuming and are not particularly useful in the perpective of passing the final test; the peer-assigned grades are neither reviewed nor moderated by course managers (so even if they happen to be rather questionable at times, they cannot be discussed nor changed); in the practice tests as well as in the final test some questions dealt with statistics concepts that were not featured in the course; the feedback in videos for the second practice test featured different response options for one question and an entirely different question from the adminitered test.

par PHUONG T

Jan 12, 2017

Fairly good. Fundamental knowledge for researcher.

par Daniel M C

Dec 14, 2015

Just three stars so far, I've just started the course late... I think it looks good tho.

par smeets

May 28, 2016

very good course, but I never recieved the feedback I needed on the forum

par Stephen R

Oct 17, 2015

The actual educational value of this course is quite high. The score I can offer it in good faith is dragged down by the additional "assignments" like "Write you own quiz question!" and the expectation to review the quiz questions thought up by other students. Such things in a scientific course are unnecessary and may actually be counterproductive because of the reliance upon other students and their grasp of the material. If they are to remain part of this course, they really should be treated as supplementary and not required to complete the course. It really detracts from the experience for those of us who come here to learn and not to socialize.

par Hafeez A

Oct 25, 2015

interesting and informative course.

par Big W

Apr 08, 2016

mechanically it worked pretty well. just a little hard to figger out what's going on and what's important. what needs to be memorized and what just needs to be understood . . .

par Bianca V

Mar 15, 2018

It was a well and clearly structured course. Although rich in content, it was enjoyable and useful to complete.

However, the course is missing a contingency plan in case somebody fails a session. Since assessments are peer reviewed, I do not see the motivation of my peers to come back and grade me again - which means I cannot complete the course on time despite, being on time with all assignments.

par Jason M H

Mar 04, 2016

Over reliance on student grading. Material does not map well to the quizzes.

par Marcos B

Jun 28, 2016

Couldn´t finish it because assigmnets were not graded.

par José L M D

May 03, 2016

When you are late in delivery, they tell you "everything is fine, do not worry, you have until the last week of the course to complete the activity, get your note and end of the course." They'll repeat over and over again in every week. My course ended on May 15, but they have not let me present my last activity, May 3 even before the final exam. They have forced me to leave the current session, still unfinished deadlines, missing a single activity after two months of work, and enroll again in the next session, which still nor has begun, delaying all the planning I had made for the entire course and all terms of the following courses.

In short, disastrous system to keep deadlines and complete the courses that make it totally useless any planning you have to do to set the course for the months that suit you, which, in my case at least, may at risk which I can complete the full specialization before the deadline. Money thrown away.

par aron B

May 09, 2016

I have done the course but I didn't get my certificate yet for reasons that I don,t know.

par Winthrop Y

Apr 19, 2016

Excellent lectures, good tests, too many peer evaluations!

par chengxiaoxue

May 08, 2016

Abstract when the assignment is related to psychology. Could you give us some not that professional articles?

The whole course is not designed in a clear and logic way. Overwhelmed with so many terms without clear explanations.

par Marc F

Mar 25, 2018

too much work, too much specific question, alot of not related knowledge that we need to learn... Not useful in my opinion.