Chevron Left
Retour à Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
133,118 évaluations
32,095 avis

À propos du cours

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality instructor
(1484 avis)
Introductory course
(4203 avis)

Meilleurs avis

SM

Mar 25, 2016

excellent for beginners, very well described, great understanding grasped and its simple, very simple, but thats what makes it 5 star, is that its for anyone or as the title says pythong for Everybody

FG

Jan 08, 2018

Tan solo auditar este curso me ayudó bastante en el aprendizaje de este lenguage de programación. A penas ahorre el dinero compraré el resto de cursos para seguir adelante. Gracias Charles Severance!!

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 10,000 Avis pour Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

par Ryan Y

Jun 14, 2016

This course is a well-introduced course for all ages and professions. With the modern world expanding and discoveries made every day, its important that people understand some form of computer science or programming. The teacher, Charles Severance, stresses this point as this course is ONLY centered toward future programmers or rather as common people and professions from astronauts to bankers through a variety of puns, jokes, and fun music. Overall, this course is very helpful and impactful, as the instruction is very thorough and simple with LITTLE AMOUNTS OF TIME REQUIRED. By the end of this course, one with completely no background with programming should be sufficient in creating his or her own program.

par Mohsin M K

Apr 06, 2020

I am very fortunate to take this course. I am really passionate about programming and I was learning programming concepts from YouTube but never found such a detailed and very basic course which really removed lots of confusions in my mind. After taking this course I got the right understanding of control flow of the Python programming language and I am sure because now I do understand the basics of programming and how they actually work at the back-end I am sure I can learn other programming languages with ease and at much faster pace. I also request Coursera community, team and the management to please let me take this complete series for free as I really want to learn but I can't afford any fee. Thanks

par Bryan G

Feb 15, 2019

I started Coursera with a course in AI and Machine learning only to find out that I was in way over my head. realizing I needed some basic programming skills, I headed over to this course knowing that Python is one of the most use languages right now in programming. As a non-programmer/software engineer-type, this has been an amazing course. Dr. Chuck breaks things down for the average person so you can start understanding how things are done but also WHY they are done (which is more important in the beginning IMO). I'm now walking through the entire section (6 courses) with the end goal to make it back to that AI and Machine learning course and understand it far better. Thanks, Coursera! (and Dr Chuck!)

par Ashmita G

Jul 08, 2020

My favorite part was the approach taken in this course. You checked a solid issue I had faced as a beginner in programming back in the day, which was the perspective with which one must approach the syntax errors any programming language (in this case Python) throws at you. One must be positive, understand that the language is, as stated in the course, truly 'lost', and we must make the instruction a bit more clearer to retrieve the desired output. Also, the structure is very friendly for anyone from a non CSE background as well. So proud to have taken your course, there is a learning on an academic as well on a personal front. Thank you for sharing how one must approach a subject one intends to teach.

par Dan H

Sep 29, 2017

Really an exceptional course. Instructor did a great job, and by taking good notes I managed to complete every assignment on my own, without help - which is unusual for online courses. The automated graded system is accurate but brutally exact, so be careful when submitting because something as simple as an extra space in one of the responses is enough to trigger an error (but fortunately usually very easy to fix). Another perk is that for people coming from a background in R, like myself, the latest version of Python - 3 - is closer to R than previous versions in terms of syntax, so it's a pretty easy transition. For everybody else this is a great starting point. Highly recommend this course!

par Daniil B

Apr 13, 2018

This course is very useful and astonishing for people who are starting or want to start programming on Python. It contains basic information and does not require any knowledge about programming. So, classes are brilliant for beginners! Furthermore, Dr. Chuck is a significant teacher and his lectures are able to inspire almost anybody. Additional materials inside the course are interesting and give listener an opportunity to think about programming in general, about an essential role of programming in modern age of technology. Exercises are exciting and helpful. I am strongly recommending this course for everybody who wants to get started with programming or just get new useful skills.

par Cammillius R J J

Oct 02, 2017

First Time A Programming Course is This Interesting!

Most of my previous tries to learn Python have hit a dead end as at some point, I lost interest. I felt that the previous courses I had taken before were talking to someone behind me. In some cases, the course was too easy. It left no room to think. Some times, the courses were too hard. As in, the instructor teach something very easy and expect you to do something 10x hard.

This course was of the right pace. Dr. Charles Severance gives you all the tools you need. I felt like riding the "Python bike". I fell, yes, but knew what to do to do better next try. Thanks a lot to the course! Will definitely continue with the rest of the modules. . .

par Kamadi S

Jul 09, 2020

It is one of the best online courses,I have ever taken.Our instructor Dr.Charles is a spectacular person with his awesome knowledge and versatility.Sir's teaching style was soo lucid and simple. This course is one of the best basic Python course for beginners without any basic stuff.

I highly recommend everyone especially beginners who doesn't have a knowledge of programming and can assure them that at the end of the course they will be ready to tackle the world of programming languages with a new confidence level. Its really a worthy course.Just give it a try and see the changes in the perspective of programming that one adopts during the course time,which is really mind blowing.

par VISHNU N

Apr 05, 2020

It is a great course for beginners, Dr. Chuck is highly enthusiastic in his approach. The course starts from the basics, the explanation to install the software and starting with python was explained very well. The course covers each topic we need to start with Python. The way professor makes things interesting is really commendable. I highly encourage students to take this course who are just starting to program, this course gives a flavor of all the important topics required to start python.

The bonus videos were also interesting. I feel that there should be more assignments. Apart from that this course was really helpful for me to start programming and motivated me to study further.

par Siddhi K

May 07, 2020

This course gives a perfect start if one is new to python. The video lectures are perfectly explained by Charles Russell Serverance and the best part of this course was the bonus associated with every chapters in which students get to know more about many great people about whom we used to study, here i got opportunity to listen to them and get many more industrial knowledge through them and the assignments and the assignment tool to execute the code was also a very perfect part of the course and moreover finantial aid is available for this course so that anyone who wants to learn get an opportunity to learn, this is a very great initiative took by Coursera it is the best part of Coursera.

par Arnab M

Nov 24, 2019

This course was presented in a very interesting way, some of the basic concepts were discussed in various depth.The instructor is very good at teaching programming. With well structured assignments and quiz this course is perfect for the beginners and intermediate level leaning of Python.The bonus materials like interview with Guido, CEO of Coursera, Pizza, Arduino etc are extremely entertaining and gives an overview of the current state of technology and entrepreneurship.The course contains various examples and tips to perform different tasks using Python - which without a doubt shall be useful in the future.Overall this course is very informative, conceptual, motivating for the learners.

par Stefan M

Sep 05, 2016

Great intro to python for non programmers.

I have experience with programming and Python; was looking for a refresher, so I ended up finding this remedial (not surprising). Ended up breezing through the content in a weekend on 2x speed.

With that said, this class is an excellent introduction to programming and python. Anyone should be able to pick Python up from this class.

However, the only downside to this course in my opinion is that the programming assignments are trivial. In order to start thinking in terms of algorithms, you need to program. If you supplement this class with some programming challenges (which should be easy to find online), this will be a great way to get into Python.

par Edwina H

Jun 20, 2020

It would have been better instead of watching the lectures first, then doing the exercises or assignments, we can code at the same time the lecturer is speaking. It is hard to concentrate on a talking head, when the subject matter is coding. We also need to know what are the correct answers to the quiz questions that we got wrong so as to be able to learn from it. Other than that, the course is taught in a logical way, pitched at the right level for beginner coders, and in general, enjoyable. Thank you very much to Prof. Severance and the team at the University of Michigan for creating the course. I am still torn between whether I should move on to the next lecture series in the course.

par Roee F

Jul 27, 2019

This is an excellent course to learn the very basic of programming. If you have any previous programming background and just want to learn Python syntax and grammer you will be able to go quickly through the lectures and focus on excercising the code.

If you don't have previous experience, you might struggle a little bit to figure out the basics - in that case make sure you don't only watch the lectures but also read the class' book as you progress.

The instructor, Prof. Severence, is absolutely brilliant! The lectures are carefully constructed to take you step by step along the way and his way of teaching really makes you feel comfortable and clears up even the more complicated subjects.

par Sekti W

Oct 18, 2016

Amazing course, this course also provided video and text book, so i can learn really really fast. I though it's gonna be hard to learn, but after i red the text book and watch the video. This programming language really fast almost like Javascript, but better and the syntax is syntactic sugar. So during the course, i think the textbook and the video so coherent and clear. So as a student i really appreciated for the lesson about Python. Overall, this course really good. Especially, if you don't have any experiences on programming before, but if you already had it, you should take because it's gonna open up your mind to python and others programming languages. 5 Stars for this course

par Carter T

Apr 15, 2020

The flow of information in this course was very easily digestible and left me wanting more with each successive lesson. The segmentation of lectures and quick turnaround from didactic to hands-on learning facilitated my continued engagement. Regarding the instructor, I really enjoyed Charles's presentation style - he didn't try to impress me with his knowledge and never went too fast through the material, but more than that - he also sprinkled in some bonus topics and code features that someone already familiar with coding and algorithmic logic would be able to pick up on. I am thoroughly looking forward to the next series of courses as I continue to build my foundation in Python.

par Richard N

Jun 25, 2016

I tried to learn Python 2 years ago. But I was naive and studied other courses at the same time. During this time I was also working night shifts. I had to quit all courses when I found a new job and they never amounted to anything. I am so happy that I now have found Coursera and this is my first course at Coursera. I have really enjoyed it and it has had a nice level for beginners and smart exercises which make the student really learn the skillsets previously explained in the chapter.

I would also like to thank you for releasing the book in ibooks format. This was my first time trying out that format and it made the whole experience so much better and easier.

Thanks again!

par Shaun A

Dec 14, 2015

This course (for me) was like learning to understand Shakespeare. Though I know how to read, I had difficulty comprehending the language behind the poetry.

Learning the concepts and thought-process in programming was difficult for me. Though I have had a dozen programming teachers, and have read a dozen "Teach Yourself..." programming books, Professor Severance flipped that switch in my head to illuminate the root of those concepts and theories with regards to programming. I am more confident now than I have ever been. Thank you for this course, and thank you for making it and the materials open so that I may share it with others who are interested in learning to program.

par Nicole

Dec 16, 2015

Very good course for anyone who has struggled to understand how to program, especially in a self-directed/self-motivated way. This course taught by Dr. Chuck was broken down into concise simple sections that kept me interested, and I could follow along easily, with just the right amount of complexity in the quizzes and chapter exercises, so as not to discourage me.

I've tried to learn computer programming using Java (inside & outside of a tertiary environment) with very limited success, but switched to learning python because it seemed more intuitive. So while i'm not a complete "novice" to programming, this course had the "Goldilocks Effect" for me.

"Just right" :D

par Elinor W

Feb 12, 2018

This class is great! The material, while dense, is explained at length by the professor, and the lectures do a good job of complementing the information in the provided course textbook. In addition to the professor being very down-to-earth and thorough, the mentors are incredibly responsive and helpful when asked for assistance in the forums. My fellow students are also very engaged, and it's a good choice on the part of the course organizers to get us to grade each other's work for the first (optional) assignment. The logic of programming can be very dense and forbidding, but through this course, you will feel like you have a lot of support in learning how to use it.

par Amr M E

Dec 16, 2019

I am an engineer and I studied one programming course for a different language in university and I totally hated it. I thought to give it a try again and I found this course really simple for beginners even with no programming experience. Prof. Charles breaks down everything to make sure the message is properly conveyed and understood. Great teacher! I definitely know more about programming now compared to before the course. I am planning to continue the rest of the Python courses.

I think it is a good idea though to add an extra section (or recommend external resources) for more exercises after each chapter in the course for students who are eager to practice more.

par Chiazam U

Sep 18, 2019

Loved this course. I especially like the active transcript feature where you can go back to a specific part of the video by clicking on sentences below the video player window- this is really cool. I also like the arrangement of buttons around a lecture video - it's very intuitive. The "Save A Note" feature works very seamlessly (on PC). You just click the button during the part of the video that you want to save and it adds a snapshot of the video to your list of thumbnails. Lastly, I appreciate the progress bars for each week, and the Overview - these do a good job of showing your overall progress so you know where you stand at any given time. Very well designed.

par Mahmoud H M S

Jan 15, 2020

It's very very good course. I really advise all people who want to learn PYTHON to get this course now and start with it. This course is very organized, and structured well for learners , an excellent lecturer, also good practices for all .Thank You very much COURSERA . You all have to enroll this course if you start to learn PYTHON, prepare yourself, and get into this for the future. I hope you all doing well and listen to my advise, it's for free, and you will realize that after doing it. I have to thank Dr. Chuck, he is my best lecturer of this course and this field that I have been met, so take a look on this course on COURSERA, and you will love it

Sincerely,

par Gareth C

Nov 20, 2017

As a beginner(computer illiterate) in computer science, I had tried pretty hard in searching for the most suitable Python learning materials, but it turned out the contents I found online were nothing close to this program. This course is carefully designed to be a well organized step by step Python journey, it focuses on the basics, the fundamentals and explains the logic behind each arguments, conditionals, variables, etc. If this is your first time learning how to program and you certainly want to have a clear structure of what is going on with each code you type in and why you are typing it, I will recommend you to try it out. Get ready to say "Hello Python"!!

par Paramasivan D

Jan 04, 2019

I was a C Programming enthusiast about 12 years ago. Over the years, I had not got a lot of opportunity to code in C (I had been using only ProC rarely, PL/SQL and Unix Shell). This course was very exciting from the beginning. I always wanted to attend classes of professors like Charles. The Idea becomes far fetched when you have a day job to do. I was so excited from the beginning and completing the course and seeing the certificate was icing on the cake.

Coursera is a big gift for people like me who wanted to pursue higher education, but could not leave their day jobs due to personal commitment.

Thank you to Coursera, University of Michigan and Charles Severance