Chevron Left
Retour à Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
80,321 évaluations
19,701 avis

À propos du cours

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
Introductory course
(4203 avis)
High quality instructor
(1484 avis)

Meilleurs avis

GS

Sep 10, 2018

Great introduction to Python and programming as a whole. Everything is broken down making it easy to understand. Had zero programming experience before and this class made it easy and fun to get into.

FG

Jan 08, 2018

Tan solo auditar este curso me ayudó bastante en el aprendizaje de este lenguage de programación. A penas ahorre el dinero compraré el resto de cursos para seguir adelante. Gracias Charles Severance!!

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 10,000 Avis pour Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

par Amit K

Sep 19, 2019

This was my first ever course online and I am happy to say that I had a satisfying experience. The great thing about this course is that not only the instructor is dedicated and really puts his heart into teaching the material; all the necessary steps are taken to ensure the student's success; that the student can really complete the course without getting demotivated. I highly recommend this course to the beginner programmers, who have never written any code and want to learn to code in an fun yet challenging manner.

par Herb R

Dec 13, 2018

Dr. Chuck presents the subject matter in an easy to understand way. The overall course design is very well thought out. The video lectures have excellent graphics; the lectures follow the outline of the text book. I particularly valued the ability to reschedule my class; if my job and other activities in life get super demanding, it was very nice to know I had flexibility with this course (although I did not exercise it). I could not be happier with this course. Well Done Dr. Severance and University of Michigan!

par Ken R

Feb 15, 2016

This introductory course to the Python programming language boosted my confidence in my ability to learn programming for data analysis. Without any prior background in programming and just a bit of algebra several years ago in college, I was able to make it through this course fairly easily. The time estimate for each week accurately reflected the amount of time required for me to complete an assignment. After completing this first course in the Specialization, I decided to sign-up for the entire five-course series.

par Patricia Z

Jan 23, 2019

Loved the pace and how the lessons were broken down. The buildup from one lesson to another was really good and super great for beginners. I also love how the professor explains a lot of things in a very friendly manner (i.e. not condescending, not too advanced, etc.). The last exercise challenged me quite a bit, but looking through forums really helped. At the end of the day, it at least prepares you on how to deal with getting frustrated with code that doesn't work. Can't wait to get started on the next courses!

par Alejandro M

Oct 03, 2015

Best course of Python I've taken so far. Tried with MITx's Intro to Computer Science and learnpythonthehardway.org, without success. The learning curve was too steep. This one, on the other hand, progresses slowly and easily, but in the end, after a month or two you find yourself writing short programs in Python, which actually work. Won't make you an expert, but it will help you to understand the general logic of the language, and start coding for real. Took me about a month to finish it. I highly recommend it.

par Karan S

Jan 09, 2020

I have to say, this is the best course that is available(according to my research) in any of the online platforms. It has a well-defined structure and everything is so beginner-friendly. The teacher, Professor Charles Severance, amazing guy. When he is teaching, it's like he is talking to you directly and not to a camera. The introduction is so good that it makes you comfortable with the course easily. So, if you are looking to learn Python language and are confused about where to start from, this is the place.

par Katarzyna S

Dec 06, 2015

This course is my first encouter with programming and I really enjoy it. The lecturer's way of explanation is very clear and simple. I did not expect to become so interested in it, however, learning Python turned out to be a fresh and great experience. Thanks to Dr Chuck it is real fun to learn Python. You can get through this course even if you think you are not very good at mathemathics (personal experience). I recommend this course to everybody who is interested in beginning their adventure with programming.

par Mrinal V

Mar 11, 2018

Out of all the courses that I have taken on Coursera, this one left me with a smile on the face as I worked through the content week by week. Professor Chuck has a humorous and engaging style of teaching. The bonus materials are absolutely a charm, I loved seeing so many students as they meet and greet with professor and share their experiences. The exercises are a great way of beginning in programming and are very relevant to the material being taught. I am eager to take more courses from this specialization.

par Aakriti S

Aug 26, 2017

A great introduction to basic programming concepts and Python language. The instructor, Dr Chuck, is really good and explains the concepts in a manner easy to understand even for beginners. For me, personally, the bonus material was the most interesting with the expert interviews (look out for the talk with the inventor of Python). The short videos of other Coursera students meeting Dr Chuck helped me feel connected to the student community. Overall, a must-do course if you want to learn programming in Python.

par SOURAV S

Oct 31, 2019

This course is an excellent course for those who know a little bit of programming and also a very good course for those who are just starting to learn programming. The instructor of the course Sir Charles Severance has explained the concepts in a very easy way and the assignments and review questions makes them more clearer. I think that if anyone is looking for a course in Python from scratch he can go with this course and further with the specialization to get all the basic and advanced concepts of Python.

par Keith M

Dec 10, 2015

Wonderfully composed and paced course. Dr. Severance does a fantastic job of scaling technical descriptions from basic terminology up to the specific programming jargon. The assignments are well detailed, explained, and the technology in the course works well. The book is free and also a treat because it ties so nicely back into the course materials making is probably the best learning Python book available today based on what I've seen. Thank you for continuing to support this program. It is FANTASTIC.

par wivai

Dec 05, 2019

this course is wonderful! It includes so many details that usually a beginner won't notice or understand why can and why can't.This course has helped me to save the time for trial mistakes and taught me to keep a good coding behaviour.After each chapter,there is one or two coding assignments. Every time, I watch the explanation video and compare my codes in my assignment. While there are some codes I don't understand very well during the course video, I'll stop and try the codes.That makes me learned a lot.

par Suruchi F

Sep 30, 2015

Great Python Course for beginners. I wish we had Coursera when I was first learning programming. I am not new to programming but I still found the course very useful to get a head-start with Python language. All credits to Charles to keep the course interesting, informative and at the same time very simple to understand. I would highly recommend this course to anyone new to programming (any language) and Python beginners.

Kudos to Prof. Charles and Coursera community for an amazing experience!

Best,

Suruchi

par ELS

Nov 13, 2019

This is a great course. I've tried many and this is probably my favorite. I read another review about how people didn't like the first lesson of his course but I disagree full-heartedly. You cannot start coding without noting the context or at least, not be good at it. Its like the math component of coding; if you don't know certain calculus and discrete foundations, you will struggle with any type of advanced computer science foundations (AI, data science, etc). Great course, good teacher, all inclusive.

par Scott S

May 12, 2018

This is definitely a course for someone who is a total beginner to Python and to coding. It was a bit too simple for me (since I have been programming in other languages for many years). But I wanted a course that would take things slowly rather than teach all the syntax of Python in a week or 2, so I am doing the 5 course specialization. Loved the instructor--he is very good at explaining coding in basic terms. This course is perfect for someone who has never coded before and wants to learn from scratch.

par javad j

Dec 07, 2015

It was the best "getting started with python" that I've ever seen! I always like to learn anything slowly but deeply, and this course was a nice start to learn python.

Thank you Dr Severence.

...

And about coursera, I'm from Iran and I hope coursera will add my country to its countries name for whom that want a certificate...I do not understand its word: "learning for everybody" how can be possible when it neglects some people!

I liked everything about this course, but I do not like this about whole coursera.

par Liz T

Oct 09, 2017

This is the course I've been missing for the past few years as I tried to learn Python through other "Fundamentals" courses. Here Dr. Chuck really takes it slow and explains all the concepts. In other courses they might have 2 or 3 really basic lessons and then speed picked up to where I was lost. Not here. A couple of the assignments got a little challenging, but mentors gave hints to get me on the right path. Highly recommend for anyone new to programming or (like me) who never felt confident about it.

par John M B

Feb 27, 2017

This was an excellent course. The title implies anyone (to include those with no prior programming knowledge) can do it. Thankfully, that proved to be true. I do consider myself tech savvy but I have never spent anytime learning a programming language until now. The book was nice to have, heck, even free for Kindle or downloadable PDF at the time I took the course. Dr. Chuck breaks down the book and makes it so simple and laid back... I look forward to the next part of his Python specialization!

par Chichi Z

Sep 10, 2019

I love this course and it deserves reviewing because the teaching content provided by Dr Charles is easy and quick to understand so that I could figure out how to apply those reserved words for assignments after one or two times studying. I think this course is worth the best praise and sets a good example for e-education courses. Thank you, Dr Charles, you managed to make lessons lively, active and methodical like a suspense film that always makes me desperately desire to know what is the next step.

par Ryan U

Apr 02, 2018

The course was excellent, I had done a small amount of programming on my own before this but never went over the computer science aspect so I'm glad we had a few intro videos lightly touching on that. (I also picked up a few additional things like try/except and the break/continue function) In the future i would like to see the answers given to the quizzes after each quiz is completed. Other then that the course was excellent and i will continue to take them. Prof. Severances videos were very helpful.

par Bryan V

Mar 22, 2018

This was the best programming course I've taken. I have taken a few programming courses before and never finish them. This one I actually finished and actually learned a lot from it. Dr. Severance is the best professor I have ever taken a class from. He really is very thorough in what he is teaching. He explains things multiple times in multiple different ways for you to understand exactly what he is talking about. You never feel lost while taking this class, everything is so engrained into your head.

par Abhijeet G

Nov 10, 2019

It has been an amazing journey so far with learning Python programming. I am enjoying this learning process a lot. Also, I would like to mentioned that Charles Severance has been teaching the subject in really an interactive way where he asks to pause the video to brainstorm on certain problem and then come back to the video where he explains the solution in a step by step way. Thanks Coursera and University of Michigan for giving me this opportunity to do this course and giving me the financial aid.

par Hariharan S

Sep 15, 2019

It was a fantastic learning experience. This is apparently my first online course on Coursera and what a way to start with Dr. Chuck's class. He was fantastic, always interesting and never boring/distracting even for a bit. The way he handled the lectures was definitely a testament to how experienced he is, in handling first-time programmers/learners of a new language/script. I am sure I would take a lot of courses in the future. Already looking forward to my next one, as I write this review. Cheers!

par Robert C

Jul 24, 2019

This course is terrific for beginners. I have never programmed anything in my life, but the instruction was great and definitely suited for someone who has never had exposure to Python (or programming, more generally speaking). Thumbs up to Dr. Chuck for creating a terrific learning experience (great videos, web content, even a downloadable textbook). I wanted to learn Python, and deciding which Python course to take on Coursera was difficult, but I have no regrets about enrolling in this course.

par Azmat J

Dec 01, 2018

Great work done by the instructor Doctor Charles Severance, Thank You!

It is the best course of the beginners who want to start learning python, it covers basic condition, function, loops and iteration , material are very easy, teacher explained each and every topic in an easy way, easy to understand, exercise and quiz are easy to attempt all are according to the course contents. I will recommend to add more practice exercises. Overall it is the best course for the first step towards learning python.