Chevron Left
Retour à Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis par Université des sciences et technologies de Hong Kong

4.4
étoiles
2,648 évaluations
583 avis

À propos du cours

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Meilleurs avis

SL
13 avr. 2021

Un curso con una perceptiva muy refrescante en cuanto a los conceptos técnico-estadísticos y sumamente prácticos. e incluso baratos, de implementar dentro del mundo de la inversión. Muy buen trabajo.

LH
23 mars 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 588 Avis pour Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

par 周伟涛

24 juil. 2021

First of all, I want to thank professor Xuhu Wan, as i have benefited a lot from the course, which not only broadens my knowledge of statistics, but also helps me familiarize with practical application of python. Overall, this is a well-organized, inspiring course worth recommendation, although it would be better if the pace is a bit slower and the explanation of the code is more detailed and thorough. I believe this course helps build my python skills in financial analysis, and hopefully this experience can help me earn my PHD offer.

par Masaki S

22 oct. 2020

This is an awesome course which takes you through the statistics for the financial analysis. The course needs some update to correct some broken links, inconsistencies. It requires some basic knowledge of statistics and python programming beforehand or study of these topics alongside this course, which should be made obvious to some learners who may be puzzled (I see in the forum that several learners were quite upset about some difference in expectation vs the reality which I think could be narrowed down).

par Gonzalo A j

26 nov. 2020

Es interesante, muchos comandos y cuestiones teóricas de los últimos temas se explican rápido y sin profundizar. He aprendido y revisado conceptos que ya sabía. Me queda la duda de como afecta el margen de la oferta y demanda al proceso de evaluar estrategias financieras. El uso de Python simplemente es una herramienta para explicar conceptos, no se aprende realmente a programar, aun así en la mayoría de casos es fácilmente entendible ya que todo sigue un razonamiento lógico.

par camillo s

6 sept. 2020

The course was indeed helpful for my main goal to improve my skills using Python libraries to carry out mathematical / statistical caclulations.

One minor issue:

As I downloaded the notebooks for replaying them in my local Jupyter installation which is based on Python >= 3.6, I had to manually correct some statements due to changes in pandas, e.g.

pd.DataFrame.from_csv -> pd.read:csv or

pandas.tools.plotting -> pandas.plotting

mho it would be good to check for such issues

par Heung K Y

5 mai 2020

This course is more suitable for someone who has basic python knowledge. understand that there is a challenge with teaching programming languages via online platforms. It is quite difficult for the instructor to shorten the whole course into 4weeks material. Appreciate that the instructor and TA do spend time to answer student’s questions in the coursera forum. Candidate needs to spend extra time to view other sources to better understand the course material.

par Saikat C

22 juil. 2021

Thank you for your effort sir, I am grateful. Unfortunately, the refer links used in the quizes did not work for me, I lost a few points because of that. I am an electrical engineering student, I do not know much about statistics or finance, but I am familiar with python. I had to do a little research on the terms directly related to those subjects like quantiles, covariance, p value etc. But, you did introduce me to a lot of new things in that way.

par RICHARD D

22 févr. 2021

Exactly the Course right for me, Very usefull codes and Analysis used in this Course. Only that am the code used was Pyuthon 2 and some of the codes are OLD, It will be good to update the Cousre Cataloge and Modinized some of the Codes Used. This Course should be updated and add additional Courses to makeup a Proffesional Certificate that will prepare students Financial Analysis Position. The Course was very Usefull for me.

par Tristan H

31 mars 2020

A wonderful course to get an introduction into financial statistics and a few python basics. This helped me understand many things about prediction and trading strategies. However to truly understand how to code a financial trading strategy you will need a lot more practice than you get in this course.

I really liked the course and would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about financial trading and python!

par Abderrezak

7 mai 2020

-: some little mystakes, exercice level very low

+: large présentation that provide both python and core financial statistics skill within high level

Might need more time than expected, maybe twice, in order to code the exercice meanwhile watching the video. Cause the final exercice for each week consists just in changing some value. Not enough to know about coding. Except if you already properly know Python

par Marc C

23 déc. 2020

Great course overall. I've found that the learning curve and pace of the topics explained increases too fast on the last chapter. In my opinion, the last chapter (which I thought would be the most interesting and practical) was a bit fast and you get the feeling that was done in a hurry.

Great to gain tools to analyze data and financial/statistical techniques useful for any field.

par Dan S

5 mai 2020

This course is a good starter for you to apply financial analysis by using Statistics models with Python programming. If you have experiments in either programming or statistics, you will find lessons are quite easy to understand. I recommend classmates could take a look at some python plugins such as flask, yfinance. They are wonderful tools for further study.

par Varun S

8 mai 2020

The course was helpful and definitely interesting. The only problem I found was that a lot of pre-existing knowledge was required and I had luckily studied some of it but the course did not cover it, It would also be helpful to add more indicators to show what each variable stands for in the formula since I found myself forgetting and had to rewind.

par Emile v M

8 févr. 2021

Very good introduction in Financial Analysis using Python. In week 1 through 3 all concept are explained very clear, week 4, the most important week, is a lot of information in only a few video's. I wish these week was extended so these concepts could be explained with the same thoroughness as week 1 to 3. Overall I enjoyed the classes very much.

par Yashus G

10 juin 2020

The course provides a very good learning experience. The course explains the various statistics that go into evaluation of stock data and further its execution using Python. The explanations could be bettered as there were many instances where pronunciations could not be comprehended. Overall the course provides a good learning experience!

par PUREUM W

30 juin 2019

전공이 금웅공학이나 금융분야는 아니지만 관심이 많아 찾아보던중 이 강의를 들어보았습니다. 결과적으로 말씀드리면 이 강의는 대학교의 명성만큼 어느정도 수준이 높은 강의이며, 기초지식으로 파이썬과 통계학을 요구합니다. 저같은 경우, 전공이 IT여서 파이썬과 통계학을 배웠음에도 불구하고 금융적인 해석능력이 부족하여 많이 고생하였습니다. 만약 이 강의를 듣기를 고민하고 있다면, 자신이 통계학과 파이썬을 어느정도 할 수 있는지 자체 레벨테스트를 할 필요가 있습니다. 강의의 구성과 교수님의 설명은 전체적으로 만족스럽습니다. 이 교수님이 조금 더 낮은 레벨의 강의를 개설하여 입문자를 더 많이 늘렸으면 좋겠네요.

par Carlo A S

18 janv. 2021

The course provides a good basic knowledge of the matter.

The learning curve is not uniform across the four weeks, becoming substantially steeper in the last week. Many concepts are given without much discussion during this week.

Some incoherencies between the slides and the exercises make the learning process sometime frustrating.

par Daniel H

13 févr. 2020

Great Intro. course to Python application in the Financial domain. It will be beneficial to have some Python and Pandas background. Good examples, very practical.

It's a great course - with many practical examples. But this course needs some basic Statistics and Python knowledge to really follow along with some "deep concepts".

par Mario

25 mars 2020

It is a short and well organized course with a gently introduction to the popular Python's data analysis library, Pandas. In addition, the course shows sufficient statistical and financial tools to build simple and practical strategies that put some light on the obscure (at least for some people) market stock analysis.

par MESSAN A

11 nov. 2020

In general, the course is very interesting, very clear with a lot of explanation. However, I dislike some part of the quiz: when we need to follow the link to answer the question, it is not possible because the link doesn't show the notebook but our course's process. It will be greater if you ameliorate this part.

par Masooma J

16 févr. 2021

It was explained well, my only issue was the fact that when it came to the application, I struggled a lot. The examples never really touched upon the application questions. I wish he had done more application of the actual outcomes. Not the exact question in the quiz but something along that line.

par George S

13 avr. 2020

First course I've completed using Coursera initially found it difficult to get to grips with embedded python, but quickly got to grips with it, really interesting course and a brilliant introduction to python and statistics for financial analysis think the course was really well structured.

par Goh S T

4 avr. 2020

Generally a very informative course on how to use python for financial analysis. Some of the concepts are not clearly explained. Would recommend to have a little basic finance background and to have some ideas about statistics as these concepts are only vaguely explained during the course.

par WekeWaka

31 mars 2021

The jupyter notebook embedded in the course is quite useful and can be replicated in real life experience, but it requires intermediate programming and statistics knowledge to better understand the content. Would be great if the lecturer could dive deeper into the pre-requisite knowledge.

par Pokman Y

19 avr. 2020

Good and quick course for beginner to use python for financial analysis. The Jupyter Notebook is advanced development environment for python and academic/scientific researcher, but difficult for beginner. Would suggest to have a summary card for all the commands used during the course.

par John T

5 août 2020

Good pace, instructor at times is hard to understand, had to look at the transcript to understand some parts. Course only scratches the basic parts of python and statistics -- good beginner course, but may require small knowledge of python and basic statistics before beginning.