Chevron Left
Retour à Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Python Programming: A Concise Introduction par Université Wesleyenne

4.6
étoiles
3,873 évaluations
1,246 avis

À propos du cours

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Meilleurs avis

LR
3 janv. 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
24 nov. 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,223 Avis pour Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

par Matthew E

22 nov. 2017

I found this course very useful indeed. I had previously learned programming in Java but in a very formal fashion and without ever really producing anything that made sense. I wanted to learn Python as I consistently come up against references to it in my work. I found Bill's approach to be very engaging and with a sensible series of steps to improve my confidence. Personally, I would have preferred more of a hands on 'project' at the end, rather than watching Bill work through it. Weirdly I found the final assessment to be the easiest, but I still learned a ton and look forward to finding a course that builds on my new skills. If you are looking to get a basic understanding of programming without getting hung up on terminology and structure and just see that you can do it, this is a a great course.

par Abhishek D

3 juin 2019

Had an amazing experience .It was my first time with learning on an online platform everything is very well designed thank you Coursera .The course will help me in my next semester.

The course is very well defined and covers all the necessary topics as a beginner in python I needed to learn . Assignments are relatively easier than I expected them to be .Great Instructor and Mentor . Everything was great all my queries and questions were answered . Discussion Forums also helped me a lot and I hop I also helped someone . Though I feel the course should be updated with using IDEs like IntelliJ ( I used it anyway but it wasn't a problem) .Thank You Wesleyan University for designing this course .Again Thank You very much.

par Tiras n w

14 déc. 2018

The provisions of the course materials was awesome, in a excellent sequential order that enables the students to build the knowledge with coherence. Also the reminders and encouragement along the way was very instrumental, e.g. when commended for keeping a good pace with speed. The fact that you can also pick up the course later incase you wished to take a break and progress from your previous work is superb. Thanks mr. Bill Boyd ! The only challenge on the materials lied on: the videos were not of very good clarity, and also one basic area I found missing was on decision making functions even though they were a part of tools for use during the course.

par Hubert F

7 mai 2017

This is by far not my first programming course, but I wanted to learn python. As such, I found the selection of topics very good - first language basics then some libraries. The videos were a good addition. Coming from classical Unix/NetBSD, I do not use integrated development environments a lot (nor like them, per se), but I found Spyder a positive experience. Thanks esp. for that one! The grading of exercises was sometimes a bit picky, as it was not so clear what the grader was complaining about. More detailled feedback could help there. In general the automated grader is a VERY good thing, though. Thanks a lot for this learning experience!

par Mohammad Z

30 mars 2020

This was my first course in Python and I found it very interesting and important for newcomers. I learnt basically, the coding structure of Python. My skills in C++ help me in understanding the lectures. No doubt, the lectures are designed in a very nice way – easy to follow and understand. This course enables me to write a program in Python using; Libraries (os, sys, csv, random, statistics, etc.), Lists, Tuples, Dictionaries, Text and CSV Files, Functional Values, Sorting, Formatting, Statistics, and a Menu Driven Database Program.

I would like to thank Prof. Bill Boyd, his team and Coursera for providing a great learning environment.

par Christopher B

3 juil. 2020

This was a great introductory course into pyhton prograamming and I highly recommend it for people who knows a little programming but hasn't tried python yet or learning a computer language for the first time. The assignment can be pretty challenging at times but nothing unreasonable. I went into this course after going through college and getting a bachelor's in computer science but my school never taught me Python for some reason(even though I already know Java programming fairly well). All in all I do recommend this course. It was great for someone like me who hasn't programmed in a while and to brush up on my skills.

par Francisco F

2 nov. 2017

This is a great course for those who haven't coded in their lives but also for programmers who want a basic but sistematic introduction to the language. It reminded me of my first courses in programming and yet I found it to be a necessary step to master python (I knew the language before but never did a course on it) . If you already program you can finish this course very quickly.

Be careful when you do your programming assignments since the autograder expects exact responses but the professor explained everything very well step by step.

Thanks!

par Douglas P

11 août 2017

Python Programming: A Concise Introduction is a great starter course for those wanting to learn Python. I had some experience with Python prior to taking this course but I found it to be a great refresher and even learned new some new tools within Python. One of my favorite aspects was that you're shown how to download, install and work within Anaconda and Spyder. It makes you feel as though you're actually taking steps towards developing useful tools with Python - because you are! I highly recommend this course.

par John P

23 déc. 2017

Excellent and fun introduction

I found this a gentle return to programming after a break of nearly 25 years. New concepts were introduced logically without being overtaxing. The combination of videos, exercises and course tests ensured that these concepts sunk in and Bill thoughtfully added in a sprinkling of advice as to OS and version compatibility. On a personal note, Bill's delivery was very easy to follow and he and his team are very responsive to queries. I also found his diction refreshingly delightful.

par Sergei S

7 janv. 2017

A great soft start into Python. Being used to other programming languages (JS, PHP, a little bit of Java) and comfortable reading online documentation and finding answers in StackOverflow, I found this course very easy to complete within just a few days. Small difficulties with the grader interface at first, solved in the forum. Suggestion: include Python "List Comprehension" in the course. Dear Bill, thank you very much for the course and support! Now I'm looking forward to dive into Machine Learning!

par grey s

14 mai 2017

Thank You Bill! Great! Once I got your way of study it was a pleasure to learn. You introduce methods slowly so that it does not intervene with grasping the whole idea of the subject. Submissions needs to be very precise but that is the joy of learning on line. Sometimes you fail as you are missing one space.

In terms of certificate, I do not need one and I it is quite expensive but I would surly support your course by donating. I could not see the option to do it though.

Kind regards

par James S

25 août 2020

Excellent introduction to Python. The course was concise yet highly informative, covering a broad range of topics as well as some detailed nuances common to many programming languages which can often trip up a programmer learning a new language. I liked the programming exercises and the way the material was presented. The course has given me the foundation and confidence to research other aspects of the language on my own in order to write complex software programs in Python.

par Pritam C

24 août 2020

IT'S A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR A NOVICE PERSON LIKE ME WITH THIS COURSE IN PYTHON PROGRAMMING. THIS WAS MY FIRST COURSE AND I WAS A BEGINNER IN THIS FIELD. BUT DUE TO THE VARIETY OF PROBLEMS AND SOLVING APPROACHES, I GOT CONFIDENCE TO GROW MY KNOWLEDGE. IN NEAR FUTURE I LOVE TO JOIN ANY OTHER INTERMEDIATE PYTHON PROGRAMMING COURSE FOR MY DEVELOPMENT. THANKS TO THE INSTRUCTOR SIR FOR HIS SUPPORT. I REALLY LOVED THE ANACONDA-SPYDER PLATFORM, IT'S GREAT. A SOLID OVERALL EXPERIENCE.

par Tim B

21 juil. 2020

A very useful course. This has got me from being an absolute beginner to writing my own functions and programs. Everything is gone through in detail, and the mini-exercises in videos are explained in case you couldn't figure it out. There is a good range of content, and its uses, and it gives you the skills to apply what you have learned to different contexts. I would recommend to anyone trying to learn some basics of Python, whether it be for recreation or work.

par Robert E

26 nov. 2020

All the information is there for you, sometimes you just have to re-read to realize what small thing you are missing. Or in some cases, realize that EVERY SPACE COUNTS!

I highly recommend this course to anyone trying to get into Python, I greatly appreciate the hands-on approach! (Even though I was frustrated at times and thought something was wrong with the grader, it was really just ONE extra space in the output, or a simple typo. Double check for those!)

par Nicholas W

5 juin 2020

Professor Boyd does a great job at laying out the fundamentals and gives a great overview of them. The numerous examples given helped to reinforce these fundamentals and provide some confidence to a person that has never coded before. The course overall was what I needed to get headed in the right direction and requires you apply what you have been learning in a very practical way. Thank you Professor Boyd for your time and efforts, it is much appreciated.

par Ji D

22 juin 2017

This is a great class for a Python beginner like me. The class is structured very well and each knowledge point is paired with good practices. And it makes you easy to come back and review what you learned. This class build my confidence of moving next level study. Also, the professor is very warmhearted to answer you questions. I highly recommended anyone who decide to start learn Python. Here is a good place to start your amazing journey.

par Yang X

19 juin 2019

It's a great course for the beginner in both Python and Spyder. Exercise notes help a lot! And some of the short functions I think can be stored in learner's program base for reference. However, the lecture is so short! It doesn't refer to Numpy and Pandas as well as sci-kit and other popular modules. Quite a pity! Hope to see relevant courses in a series. Anyway, great appreciation should be given to Prof Bill Boyd and Coursera! Thank you!

par Ivan K

24 juil. 2017

Great course to learn about basic programming in Python. Before this course I struggle on how to install Anaconda. Moreover, I even struggle to understand basic functions like print. Now I am confident that I have sound foundation for advanced application of Python. Although I was absolute beginner/novice on using Python I was able to finish all of the assignments with highest points using knowledge and information gained from the videos.

par Felix C R I

6 juin 2018

I can't believe I finally finished the course. I love that this course is long enough to learn the basics of Python programming. It is indeed a concise introduction. Dr. Boyd is a great instructor. He speaks with a very nice cadence that relaxes and is also able to teach very clearly the python programming concepts. I went ahead and got the certificate to verify that I indeed have passed the course. Thanks Dr. Boyd and Coursera :-)

par Tiffany B

17 sept. 2017

Excellent course - this is the first one that I was able to stick with. The deadlines and workload were just enough to provide a beginner with little prior experience like myself with the challenge and simplicity that kept me motivated. I loved the instructor's clear and concise way of presenting the information and really love the Spyder IDE that they used for the course. I'd recommend this course to anyone - and everyone!

par Sarfuddin A T

12 juin 2020

As a starter in programing/coding I have had an excellent experience while attending the course. Professor Bill Boyd's presentation is nice , concise and focused and the weekly performance assessment by the autograder allowed the learners to clarify his/her understanding of the desired level of the topics.

Thanks to courser and Wesleyan University for making this arrangement of online course in such a structured manner.

par Venu G K

25 janv. 2018

I am not a programmer. This course gave me a good hands-on approach to understand whats explained in the class and try it out. Bill gave very simple good examples to follow and built upon the past examples very well. It was easy to follow and good for practice. This is a good introduction to python. I was apprehensive about learning a new topic but this was one of the good practical courses. I am glad I took this course.

par Juan M R

5 sept. 2017

A wonderful course.

Reported by a person with a wonderful voice and much desire to share knowledge.

This course is fantastic for anyone with or without knowledge of programming.

As a student of Computer Science, this course has important implications for completing my understanding of the functioning of computer languages.

Exercises and tasks are wonderful, it was one of my best educational experiences in my life.

par Sally C

3 juil. 2020

I took this course as an absolute beginner and found it to be hard enough to keep me challenged and feeling like I was learning useful skills, while also manageable enough to figure out problems on my own when I got stuck. The discussion threads and lectures were sufficient for me to trouble shoot most problems and I never got so stuck I couldn't continue (which is a problem I've had with other courses).