Chevron Left
Retour à Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Python Programming: A Concise Introduction par Université Wesleyenne

4.6
étoiles
3,861 évaluations
1,244 avis

À propos du cours

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Meilleurs avis

LR
3 janv. 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
24 nov. 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 1,220 Avis pour Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

par Peter K

10 déc. 2017

I opened and started this course because I was searching for a Python courses. I somehow misunderstood the fact that this course is for "beginner programmers" and not "beginners in Python" (could be just simply me, I am new to Coursera). I am already a skilled programmer with more than 10 years of commercial practice. And I have some reasons to review this course poorly. If I'd be a beginner programmer, this course is not bringing some real life problems and not explaining their solutions and how to solve it in computer program. Such an example is crucial for beginner programmers. Padding output in a string with spaces is just a waste of time. Implementing a console program with menu in infinite loop and reading from and writing to a CSV file, which is called a "database", was fancy maybe 20 years ago. I don't think this course is teaching much about Python nor is bringing a beginner programmer any further. It's 21st century, IT world is full of millions of technologies, and pure Python is not going to help in real life on it's own. Explaining more about data structures, some basic but important programming principles, involving a real database for data persistence, some real life problems and their solutions, even if one or two more weeks would be needed to finish the course, and it could get on a completely different level.

par Sergio A

31 déc. 2017

It is well done but it is very basic. The method is good since we get the basic programs to work with them and follow the lectures. The instructor explains things in a detailed and clear manner.

par Mehmet M A

19 juin 2019

This course is useful for three groups of people. In the first group, there are people who don't know any programming: the course provides the programming essentials in Python. Python is one of the best, if not the best, languages to learn programming. In the second group are people who learned programming long ago but haven't used until know. For the second group, of which I was a member until recently, the course serves as a refresher that comes with a modern and widely used language. In the third group, there are active programmers who want to switch to Python. The course can help these grasp and use Python quickly.

par Brandon G

12 déc. 2016

This course was pretty okay, I'd say. I did learn several new things and consider myself "introduced" to the world of python. Unfortunately, as a BRAND NEW programmer, it was, at times hard to keep up. There were a number of elements that weren't sufficiently explained during the lessons/assignments (presumably because we 'should' have a basic understanding of coding already...I guess?). If this is the case, some outside study/background research may be necessary, at times. The instructor was actually relatively helpful, though the forum format makes for lag in help time, meaning you could be stuck on a problem or with a question for a while (again...outside study/research required). Overall, as I said, I learned things- yay! This course is for the very patient, however, and may likely by too simplistic for those with programming experience, too difficult for those who have never coded or maybe just right for some lucky few.

par Lucas R

4 janv. 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

par Ana L

9 juin 2018

Very basic Python intro. Will teach you most of the basics, but I personally expected a bit more in-depth learning. The course will be definitely useful for people who have never programmed before but to those familiar with some other programming languages it will likely be too easy.Another problem was auto-grader, because of formatting issues in some cases it was very difficult to get the result to look like the auto-grader expected it to. It would help if auto-grader returned more helpful messages, for example showing what lines of the submission output have mismatched the expected.Overall, the course is a good intro to Python, recommended for those with no prior experience in programming.

par Pragna P H

2 févr. 2020

Excellent structure of the course. Bill sir is extremely knowledgeable and patient with all doubts & inquiries regarding the course or python in general. The course is highly recommended for anyone wanting to learn the language and start their data analytical journey. The tests at the end of each week is perfectly designed for a beginner and well-balanced with a good amount of learning all the right things to get started with python programming. Happy leaning! And of course, don't hesitate to make mistakes, always try out the lesson exercises on your own before watching the videos so you know how to tackle and get to know your strengths & weaknesses better :)

par Jim M

24 mai 2019

I could have asked Quora if a retired engineer can learn Python for data analysis. But enter this course concise and practice to answer the question by myself. And I was able to understand, practice and learn with the method of this course, which I indicated as suitable to start at any age. I got 92.5 % !

par Kumar A

16 juin 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

par Abhinay T

3 juin 2019

The course is good to learn python for students starting programming but for a student who has experience in other languages may find it slow......

par Radanielson T

7 juil. 2019

it is horrible

par Jake R M

7 sept. 2019

This was an excellently written and excellently delivered course for the programming beginner or even someone who wants to brush up their skills with the basics! I always thought I was hopeless with programming but this course has convinced me that when it is taught well and I understand the fundamentals I can push myself to do bigger and even more exciting things with my understanding! I loved how this course made me see the problem solving aspect of computer science and has given me a legitimate interest in adding Data Science as a career choice.

Thanks so much to Bill for his hard work and excellence in responding to questions on the discussion forum! The dedication was amazing to see.

par Cesar D L J

29 juil. 2020

Un curso muy completo y bien explicado

Muy buenas las clases y además las tareas son divertidas, te ponen a pensar pero aprendes mucho.

El instructor es muy atento y resuelve tus inquietudes.

Recomiendo este curso además de que este conocimiento es muy importante.

////

A very complete and well-explained course

The classes are very good and the tasks are also fun, they make you think but you learn a lot.

The instructor is very attentive and solves your concerns.

I recommend this course in addition to that this knowledge is very important.

par Ryan C

17 mai 2020

Great overview course in python. I was super excited it uses Spyder. The auto-grader is finicky sometimes, but fair and quick. Highly suggest this for anyone looking to cut their teeth on python.

par Mick C

11 nov. 2018

A well paced intro, lots of examples to show you the way

par Shawn M

15 oct. 2019

Good basic course, but a bit clunky. Some of the weekly courses would place critical details at later points of the course and I would have to go back and repeat lessons.

There were also parts that I would get hung up on and need person to person discussion to get past. It would be helpful to have a chat function or other forum to discuss sections (maybe a class discussion forum, or an 'ask an instructor).

par Heide S

17 oct. 2016

a good course, especially as an introduction to Python 3

biggest drawback: assignment autograding - if something fails, you do not know what fails, only that it fails (no info about test cases and results; negligible feedback from TAs)

par John C W

4 déc. 2016

A quick introduction, just what I was looking for.

par Connie B

2 août 2020

It's likely to be me because I'm old, but this was a terrible first experience. The first video (hard to see) modeled the first steps that were wrong because the program has been changed. But the document at the beginning of the course about changes makes little sense until you are in the exercises and have to deal with that issue. Put those changes in the documentation where the issue is found! Better yet, update the videos when the lesson they display has substantively changed.

The forums were hard for me to figure out too. An introduction on how to navigate the course (overview, lessons, messages, forums, timelines) might have helped.

If anyone is overseeing this, maybe you could monitor the forums to see how many people are having the same problems, hint: fix the problems!

par Benedict B

28 mai 2020

The course is much harder than advertised for beginners with little computer experience. While the lecture videos are easy to follow, they do not directly correspond to the updated python software, or to users on a mac. Downloading assignments is also extremely difficult as they never popped up in the manner they were to said to, which led to increased difficulty and frustration in the getting started process. After spending hours on the introduction exercises and having no luck in replicating the lecture videos, I will be looking for other courses that will better teach me python, rather than pulling my hair out during the set up process.

par Vincent C

23 juin 2020

Very good course! I went from not even knowing what Python was to being able to write my own functions and learn about the programs. The video tutorials are pretty straightforward and instructions were provided so that even if you have newer versions of spyder and python, you can still do the coursework. The graded assessments truly tested your skills in Python. Though some problems seemed very simple and similar to those that appeared in the lessons, many were quite difficult and involved critical thinking and problem solving. You have access to all the code used in the lesson exercises which make the graded assessments easier to complete and follow along with. Although this course is listed as four weeks, it can definitely be completed by a determined learner in much shorter time so don't shy away from it due to the listed four week commitment if you think that is too long. Once again, great course and I recommend it for teens (not just teens but all ages can gain something from this) looking into computer science and programming.

par Monson M

29 nov. 2017

A Truly For-Beginner Python Programming Course.

I've tried and given up several Python courses meant for beginners. What I found was they were anything but. Exercises required knowledge of syntax not covered in lecture. I had to google here and there just to find the right one to do the exercises. It was frustrating. In one course, the second week exercise was to create a tic-tac-toe table(!!). It was unimaginable just how to begin, let alone to code.

This one is different. Each lecture begins with a run of the function to be discussed to see how the output looks like. This gives us an idea what we're going into. Then we cover the programming part. As the lecture moves along, we can simultaneously play with the Spyder, step-by-step to experience what the lecture is about. The weekly exercises are just the adaptation of that week's content. This keeps a beginner like me to stay on course, not being intimidated by the out-of-the-world questions. Well done Bill. You are the best.

par Matt O

16 juil. 2020

I have attempted to learn programming numerous times. I've tried to learn Java Script, C, Python, Java, and HTML all within the past few years. Each time I've lost interest. This time, under the tutelage of Professor Bill Boyd, I have finally finished a course and I can say that I am captivated with Python.

Dr. Boyd, thank you so much for reinvigorating what I thought I had lost. You have given me the basic understanding of surface level programming in Python. I can confidently say that I will continue this journey.

For those of you reading this and wondering why this program worked for me... here is my answer: I finally sat down and took notes. The course is structured on videos and exercises. I took notes on syntax, coding tricks, and functions that I knew I would forget. Now I have over 40 pages of notes that I can reference with future challenges. My journey has just begun. I encourage the reader, you, to begin yours now.

par John S

23 mars 2017

Pros: I liked the programming examples and problems approach. I learned a lot, and feel confident to use python in future for more complicated scientific computing.

cons: The videos were too long, and I found I had all the info in the examples. I would have liked more guidance on how to build up simple structured programmes - the final assignment you have a giant programme already built, whereas you could have set some exercises for "split this code into two subroutines that handle different jobs".

The autograder was really frustrating (sorry, I know it must be difficult to make something fair and automatic), but the great thing about a compiler or running a program is that you get to see the errors. The autograder just says "3 errors", and the problem turns out to be nothing to do with my program, which already produces the desired output.

par Federico V

8 sept. 2018

I am studying Systems Engineering at a university in Argentina, quite one of the most pretigious and important around here. I can tell the difference between "good" and "bad" teaching, and I have some experience in the subject. Took a course in C, and keep on learning.

This course is just GREAT. Simplicity in the explanations, which are straight forward, complemented with accuracy and clear examples is, by far, an indeed marvellous recipe to teach Python. I have some background, and I understand that if I hadn't, I would have learned the same way.

I am deepfully grateful for this course, to Coursera and specially to the teacher. Keep on doing this, developers around the world will be better after taking this one; and the ones that just start will become quite proficient really quick.

Excellent! Thanks!