Chevron Left
Retour à Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Python to Interact with the Operating System par Google

4.7
étoiles
83 évaluations
24 avis

À propos du cours

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Meilleurs avis

CY

Feb 10, 2020

It takes a lengthy amount of time to get used to the subjects, but super satisfied when the projects (Very close to real-life scenarios) are solved.

TG

Jan 24, 2020

Many new concepts to grasp, but very interesting.\n\nIt's great to be able to practise directly on the linux instance.\n\nThe last quicklab was fun!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 25 Avis pour Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

par Ouy T J

Feb 12, 2020

Had a lot of things to learn in the module. wish labs and tests used out brains a bit more. it was mostly reading and cut and paste. Only learnt that you could cut and paste in Putty at the end when I got frustrated typing in things manually. (googled putty copy and paste).

there also alot of short cut code and tricks used that we havent learnt before. these werent explained very well and I still dont understand some of it, others took a me a bit of research.

par nathan i

Jan 30, 2020

The course is pretty good overall. The week 6 lab has a misleading "expected output" jpg for oldFiles.txt in it. This causes the first half "checkpoint" to fail. The issue is that the jpg shows that oldFiles.txt should only have filenames in it when in fact the "grader" expects each file to also have a fully qualified path with it. The lab write-up also doesn't say oldFiles.txt should have the filenames with the fully qualified path in it. I would give this course five stars if the errant week6 lab documentation gets fixed and if the students are explicitly told that each step in the labs needs to be explicitly execute in the VM environment being provided. I made the mistake of reading some of the lab exercises for content and not actually executing them in shell --- and I think the grader checks for that even if you get the correct final outputs for your script.

par Denis R

Jan 19, 2020

There are errors in links and descriptions of the tasks (formatting is wrong, names of files are different though according to the content it is the same file, etc). Inconsistency in tasks - first tasks are completely done for the student, one only need to copy-paste and final one is all of the sudden 'do-it-yourself' task. Though for me it was not a problem, but beginners will struggle a lot with this errors.

par Oguz A

Feb 03, 2020

Getting experience on files, logs, csv module writer and Dictwriter, Regex, Batch Scripts, shell commands, using parameters on python..etc.. It was a tailor-cut course and address almost everything that I need in this spesifik area. I can only say; Thanks!

par Cheuk L Y

Feb 10, 2020

It takes a lengthy amount of time to get used to the subjects, but super satisfied when the projects (Very close to real-life scenarios) are solved.

par Thibault T G

Jan 24, 2020

Many new concepts to grasp, but very interesting.

It's great to be able to practise directly on the linux instance.

The last quicklab was fun!

par Mohammad H b M

Feb 09, 2020

Roger and fellow teacher, thank you so much for putting this course. Appreciate the knowledge on REGEX and Testing

par Michael B

Feb 07, 2020

Course moves fast and introduces a lot of topics and it has an interesting final project. Well worth it.

par Andrae

Jan 31, 2020

This course was great and I learn a lot that I can apply directly to my current job.

par NARASIMHA N

Feb 04, 2020

Thanks for the course and learned lot of New Python Stuff.

par Serhat G

Feb 13, 2020

Excellent content with great examples. Thank you.

par Juan M D l f L

Feb 20, 2020

Thanks so much, 10/10 for the instructor.

par Faris L

Feb 15, 2020

Very Very Hard but definitely worth it

par Jose L H H

Feb 13, 2020

Amazing instructor and amazing course!

par Venkata N R K

Feb 18, 2020

Awesome Content and great learning

par Jesús S Z

Feb 01, 2020

It was an excellent course...!!!

par Ibrahim N A

Feb 06, 2020

I learned a lot.

par Mario S

Feb 02, 2020

Loved it

par Andrew S

Feb 09, 2020

Last lab required a lot of typing to do the initial bash and python commands. You also had to type a 20 member list of names and emails. The Putty terminal won't allow you to cut and paste, so you have to do this work each time, then type and debug a 60 line piece of code. Long, ambiguous, lots of typing.

par Thiago F N

Feb 16, 2020

Some lessons seems a little too long, maybe it's the material or maybe it's the instructor, but they seem too long at times.

par Zach H

Jan 20, 2020

Very practical skills for utilizing your operating system and logs to automate things.

par Shiang-ping H

Jan 18, 2020

Great Intro Python course with automation and focus on daily IT tasks.

par Daniel O

Feb 18, 2020

There was an issue with the Qwiklabs on Week 6. Please change that.

par Sayed M H A

Jan 21, 2020

There are a few bugs in there....

par Alex D

Feb 20, 2020

Loved the host and the content. The first few labs tell you the answers too much and the last few don't tell you what to do enough. The outside research I had to do made me a much better python programmer though!