Chevron Left
Retour à Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
3,586 évaluations
549 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Meilleurs avis

SD

Jun 25, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 548 Avis pour Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

par Deleted A

Jun 14, 2019

Finally, some challenge!

Sorting using anonimous lambda functions is awesome.

Final project is a bit confusing at start, because it supposes some independence (for the first time in a course I had to google some information). I think, it's a good practice, because in the end you become more confident in yourself.

par Umut S

Mar 07, 2019

Incredibly well put together course from UMich. I found the content to be between entry and intermediate levels. All the efforts that went into the preparation of this course are much appreciated. All details that were optimized such as pacing, consistent practices, ideal difficulty, fun factor, subjects, articulate explanations etc. made a huge difference in the MOOC experience. Many thanks again!

par Anastasios P

Jan 10, 2020

Course is very easy for someone with some background in Python (or programming). What I didn't like is the fact the coding exercises are repeating themselves within one course. You can c/p and change a value to pass all exams... Another issue is the instructors answering all multiple questions or practice quizzes during the lecture videos. This does not allow someone to really practice, think and learn.

par Jason J D

Jun 24, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course. Not only did it help me gain an insight on Python files, dictionaries and functions, but it also helped me use these concepts smartly to create a project. A very well paced and well structured course. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Python, and especially to those who have completed the first course of this Python specialization.

par Ivan M

Sep 30, 2019

The course is very sloppy. The negligence is just beyond my understanding. There are typos in the text. There are false statement in what is said (e.g. about some Windows operating system long ago not supporting long file names - Windows 3.1 wasn't an OS, and Windows 95 already supported them). There are obvious lapsus linguae in what is said. There are arrogant mistakes in TESTS! E.g.: it asks "sort-5-1: What will the sorted function sort by?

and says: "first country name (alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)" but in the task script are "Reykjavik, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Berlin and Caloocan "

Since when Reykjavik, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Berlin and Caloocan are countries?!?

And it gets even more interesting in the next question! I.e. "sort-5-2: What how will the following data be sorted?" and among options:

A. first country name (reverse alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)

C. first country name (reverse alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)

The answers A and C are exactly the same. BUT! - The "A" is correct, while "C" is not!

And the microphone used within the specialization is very sensitive - so you hear them swallow every time. And since they are visibly uncomfortable being in front of a camera, they gulp down A LOT.

The course should be proof-read, proof-heard, the videos should be edited and the exams revisited. So far it is a disgrace to Coursera and american education.

par Annamalai I

May 17, 2020

The course content and the instructions was awesome and the step by step approach of guidance in the project helped me a lot in the fact that I have learned how to approach any problems statements.

par Subrata G

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

par Ahadul I

Aug 09, 2020

This course (and the specialization as well) is a bit more challenging than 'Python for Everybody'. I enjoyed a lot. Runestone is an amazing feature that really helped navigate through the course.

par SAPTARSHI D

Jun 25, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.

Appreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

par Michael N

Jan 05, 2019

This is the course to do because it makes use of spaced repetition learning - scientifically proven to be the best for recollection.

par José A C

Jun 12, 2020

El curso es muy completo y consistente me ayudó a comprender cada concepto para desarrollar el proyecto final de manera adecuada.

par Napoleon B

Apr 07, 2019

"If you want to learn the basics of Python3 programming as a newb, this is the perfect course!"

par Timothy P

Apr 15, 2019

Very good course. I would recommend to anyone wishing to learn to program in python.

par Ravi S V

Feb 16, 2019

Nice course. Don't know why it isn't more popular.

par Kamran P A

Apr 23, 2020

More in detail than e.g. Py4everybody but unfortunately everything has to be done in runestone.

Runestone is a nice tool but i would appreciate if students would be more encouraged to install python on their own computer and use an editor or IDE of their choice. You could at least provide the files used in runestone for practicing purposes.

par David P

Aug 25, 2019

The course material and videos are good, but it is impossible to get help from anyone from the University of Michigan if you have questions. You might get lucky and a fellow student may help, but if you want help from U of Michigan don't hold your breath.

par Alexander A A

Apr 30, 2020

This course and the balance of courses 1-4 of the specialization were fantastic - I would highly recommend each. Course 5 (the capstone project) was an abomination. Basically zero instruction / guidance and very frustrating for anybody except decently experienced programmers. If courses 1-4 are your only exposure to Python, you could easily spend a month or more on this project. If getting the Specialization Certificate is very important to you, there are resources online that you can leverage to complete the project but that is done largely at the expense of any real learning, so I really hope UofM comes up with an alternative final project that is more consistent with the level of expertise attained in courses 1-5 (maybe something on implementing classic algorithms?).

par jie

Apr 10, 2020

This is a great course, I've learned a lot from this course. What made this course great is that students could follow the instructors and do basic practises along the instruction. Lots and lots of basic practises solidified our learning. For example, all kinds of loops, string, list, dictionary etc handling take time to be proficient. You can understand these simple concepts by only watching videos, however, it takes lots of basic practices to really master. I took other python courses before, and I quickly forget everything because these courses lack the most critical part: many and many basic practices.

After all these practices and assignments, the final project looks like a piece of cake. Thank you UMich team. You guys are awesome!

par Michael K

Mar 25, 2020

Very good course. Good instructors and great production quality. The supplemental textbook is exceptional and adds far more value to the courses for those who choose to take advantage of it. Covers some of the more advanced areas of the Python language, and also shows some practical uses of these features. The final course project was interesting and that should provide a challenge but without being overly difficult.

My only complaint, similar to the previous course, is that other than the final assignment it's almost too easy. I wish students were challenged more because it's when you are pushed to your limits do you learn the most. But not worthy of knocking a star off the review, it's still excellent.

par James U

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent lessons, check your understanding, e-book, practice, and quiz work. This is not easy. You must know how to implement the instructions and be a bit clever as well. It is not perfect, but close enough.

Only issues are more suggestions. 1. To have a Show Me and then get a new questions, when you are stuck. The user blogs are only of minimal help. 2. To be precise in expectations - QA the requests for comprehension by students. I found expert reviews to be of marginal help as they all have assumptions.

par Habtamu S

Aug 12, 2020

This course, which is a part of the specialization course, is one of the skillfully crafted courses. It equips learners with the very important conepts of python programming in a step wise approach. Also, it allows you to practise it through intesively in such a way that helps learners solidify their knowledge and practise. It is definately one of the best courses I have ever taken and would reccomend it to anyone who is committed to learn the course.

I

par Igor F

Jan 27, 2019

This course helps to understand how to use context manager to prevent you from forget to close files that are opened for write, nicely explains how you can iterate through files directly. It helps to understand why using a local variable inside a function is a good idea. Finally it helps to understand how to treat dictionaries and tuples. Overall, that's creates a great foundation for the subsequent course in the specialization. Very enjoyed.

par Shubham T

Apr 23, 2020

This was a super-fun course! The materials were very easy to follow, and delivered in a very friendly and engaging manner. I highly recommend this course to anyone just getting started in programming.I feel incredible that I knew almost nothing about programming just a month ago. Now I have done two of the courses of the specialization and I can actually understand other basic codes. Great course!

par Debasish P

Aug 30, 2019

This course will enable you to move from basic to a bit into intermediate level and believe me the material and the way of explanation is so simple that even a person with zero knowledge will be able to learn easily.

One small thing wanted to highlight that while doing this course please give all your concentartion into this.

Hope they keep on upgrading the course over the time period.

par Muhammed J Z

Sep 19, 2020

This course really challenges your basics of handling files,lists,strings, dictionaries and functions in Python. The exercises and practice problems were very helpful and I learned a lot about using these python features in a practical context. The final assignment was also a very fun project. Overall, this course will definitely help those trying to hone their basics in Python.