Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
13,790 notes
2,085 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
Top rated instructor
(176 avis)
High quality course material
(143 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 14, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filtrer par :

1901 - 1925 sur 2,009 Examens pour Using Databases with Python

par Mark H

Nov 26, 2018

Not as in-depth as the other modules.

par Nika J

Mar 06, 2019

Assignments were not challenging enough, especially the final one. However the lectures were interesting and engagingly delivered as always.

par Johan V

Mar 11, 2019

Well taught but the exercises are too simple in this course. In previous courses the exercises were more challenging and started more from scratch. Editing a piece of code can't be compared to writing one yourself.

par Christa H

Dec 28, 2018

It's a good course overall, but the instructions in the last assignment are incomplete (the full requirements are only found in the forums), and myself and other students are given lower grades for following the instructions exactly, which is very frustrating.

par Deleted A

Dec 27, 2018

it has been a good experience but in the last assignment the instructor said it copied from other student ,and i explained what just happened..

i know you have honor code (trust) but not always you right sometime things just happen whether unintentionally.

One request, Review my last assignment and reset it.

par Sanil

Aug 20, 2018

Database code is just a walkthrough. It should have been more details... Its hard to understand the code :(

par Amit P

Feb 11, 2017

was expecting more on this.

par Junwei Y

Aug 31, 2017

very quick path, have to do reading in addition to watching lecture videos. Hope there will some be step by step lecture so students can directly deeply learn sophisticated coding instead of just inputting data and using a given completed or 90% completed program.

par Jigish P

Jun 01, 2018

There is too little amount of exercises/assignments required as part of the course....

par Daniel M

Jun 25, 2017

It was ok. The homeworks and quizzes were very easy and I feel it could have been more challenging. To do the programming assignments you basically had to change 2 or 3 LOC and be done with it.

par Jack T

Mar 02, 2017

Would've liked for assignments to be more independent.

par Tudor S

Jun 04, 2017

While Dr. Chuck is still a great instructor, I think that this course lost some of its pedagogical value compared to Courses 1, 2 and 3 from this specialization. By this I mean that it doesn't teach students how to design algorithms, but instead, it offers an already-made algorithm which serves as a debugging exercise more than anything else. I wish to see a more challenging course in the future.

par Steve R

Jan 18, 2017

I feel that this portion of this course did move a little too quickly in terms of introducing new SQL concepts. The first couple Python program demos has my head completely spinning, and I think this could be largely avoided by having a couple more slides piecing together the logic of the programs. Other than that, another great course!

par Josiah N

Oct 11, 2016

The lecturer is honestly a bit slow in his coverage of content and his scribbling is untidy. He also seems to want to intentionally make SQL look like its very simple and avoids giving interesting facts which he thinks may complicate the content but would be good to know anyway.

par Arthur F

Mar 14, 2017

I felt that weeks 1-4 went at a reasonable pace, but the week 5 material was rushed. Those programs were written by the instructor and presented quickly as examples, but some of the content in the programs was not already known or presently explained, like the "buffer" built-in function (found in Chapter 3 of Dr. Chuck's book but not covered in the course) and the "pass" keyword, which I had to find in the Python reference manual for an explanation. The week 5 programs were quite advanced and I would have liked more time spent on explaining them and perhaps a related programming assignment or two to help us learn the material.

par Jakub S

Jan 17, 2018

Covering more SQL and databases than Python. A lot of code is prepared, you just have to make really simple changes to it. Not that good in terms of learning how to code.

par Sophie C

Jan 01, 2016

The course material was very good but the assignments were boring and unchallenging

par Douglas O

Mar 20, 2017

I work seemed a little too light.

par Mario D

Dec 21, 2017

The course is taught very well and clearly, however programming assignments are too easy, I feel it has been done too much simplification.

par Brian Q

Apr 25, 2016

Assignments are very easy, and there aren't easy to follow notes that one can use instead of always having to watch the videos.

par Jose M

Apr 19, 2016

It's OK. the lectures are good. The book needs updating, and more exercises would be helpful to practice what we learned in class.

par Magno M S d S

Mar 14, 2016

The exercises need more work done if the students are expected to actually learn this stuff.

par Qian H

Jun 20, 2017

Simple and what we need to do is just use the sample code.

par Casey H

Oct 26, 2016

A surface level look into creating a SQL database with Python. Skims over topics quickly and does not go into depth on how to write code effectively or build a database from scratch.

par cheting c

Jan 18, 2018

Assignment could be a lot more challenging.