Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
14,652 évaluations
2,197 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality course material
(143 avis)
Top rated instructor
(176 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

Jun 17, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filtrer par :

1701 - 1725 sur 2,119 Avis pour Using Databases with Python

par Chao Z

Feb 19, 2016

This course gives very basic information about using python to retrieve web data in json and html format. It's helpful and makes the learners feel good. This course is that it prepares almost ready codes for every test and homework. This could be a good reference for people who want know how to do sth, but have no much time digging into the complex way. However, it may also reduce the strength of learning.

par Djamshid B

Dec 03, 2019

As usual Professor Charles Severance was too meticulous to make a course taker understand the fundamentals of database design and querying. However, as a certified database administrator I lacked the information on normal forms - the framework for any relational database architecture. However, maybe I am just requiring too much from the short course for beginners.

par Fredrik M

Oct 30, 2016

This works really well for an introduction on databases and how to use them with Python. The exercises are maybe a bit too easy. On the one hand, this makes it easy to actually complete the course (and you still learn the basics), but on the other hand, you don't get that familiar with the material.

The lecturer is intelligent and funny and structured.

par Leon W

Jul 03, 2018

I think this course is a bit of shorter. The final assignment could be arranged in a way more challenging than now it is. Besides, there are a lot of features in SQL can dig in, say LEFT/RIGHT/OUTER JOIN, GROUP BY, HAVING, Nested SQL structure, some basic SQL formula/functions like Max/Min/Sum/Average which is not tricky and fundamental in SQL.

par Pradeep A

Nov 29, 2019

Another great course by Dr. Chuck. He is eloquent, patient and clear about what his explaining. However, I feel that he should have gone into greater detail about certain topics such as APIs, geodata and database management. Nevertheless, this is an excellent course and everyone interested in database management (using Python) should try it.

par Akshat A

May 20, 2018

I understand that delving into databases was not the motive and based on that the brevity of this course is rather appreciated. Although superficial examples raised the bar too high. Geo-coding example kind of turned down the spirits since i was unable to understand whether or not to understand the given JS and HTML codes.

par Carl B

Apr 21, 2018

Really enjoyed the course however I found some language not explained properly in enough detail. Also found some of the worked examples too complete. Had to go over and rewrite from scratch so I understood fully - would be nice if some had a couple of assignments, one simpler and one complex so its not so much of a leap

par Julian F C Q

Nov 01, 2019

It is a great course, but it would have been great that it included how to perform data visualization in Python instead of just showing Javascript code. And I would also like to recommend to write at leat most of the SQL statements instead of just pasting them. Having said that, thank you Chuck for your efforts!

par Benjamin N

Sep 02, 2018

I think the assignments could be harder.

The allotted tasks sound really difficult, but you're given base code which requires minimal changes, if any. I think that more challenging tasks would aid my retention better. As it is, I think I will want to look up additional exercises in the textbook, or something.

par ali s

Aug 04, 2018

The course was great. I feel though that the code walk thrus are not thorough enough; and thats important for someone with no background in coding. Often a new concept/line of code comes in and is not dealt with in sufficient detail that leads you confused and ruining the whole program understanding.

par Joseph V

Jun 20, 2017

This was a good generic course. The only thing I'd like to see is accessing other types of database - I work in an environment which utilizes MS SQL Server, and will need to do a bunch of researching and trial and error to figure out what Libraries need to be included and how to connect the databases.

par djamileh

Aug 09, 2018

As usual, intuitive, clear, well structured and amazingly informative.

The missing star : A bit less coding than the other classes on Python - that is, using a lot of code already written and just modifying it. Thus, it might feel like you know the code but you have just "seen" it.

par Eugene T B

Jan 23, 2019

This course could've been a little more challenging. Too many assignments were just "run the files provided." I don't feel like I ended up getting to know the material quite as much as the previous courses. I ended up re-writing a lot of code myself just to get to know it better.

par Daniel H

May 09, 2017

Good instruction on SQL. Final project was too simple given the tools that instructor had armed us without throughout the course. Could've had more programming involved in the last assignment of the course to really test knowledge on integrating python with SQL and databases.

par Vignesh S

Sep 15, 2016

I felt that more time could have been spent going over the python code in the last section. The code was made available, and it is up to the students to review the code at their own pace. This is good. It may further help to go over the code in the video lectures themselves.

par Christopher S A

May 31, 2019

Good course, the exercises in later weeks could have been a bit more challenging hence the ding on this. The reading material also isn't lined up well with the online course - it would be great if the reading material shared what chapter is to be read for each course/week.

par Malcolm H

Feb 05, 2017

Great course! Dr. Severance really put a lot of thought and effort into his videos and assignments.

This course took a big leap, in terms of program complexity, from the prior courses in the series. This course could have been twice as long, and dug deeper into the details.

par Ryan M

Mar 28, 2016

This course only touches on python + relational databases. Specifically, investigates SQLITE and the sqlite3 python library. The work is very minuscule (assignments were to simply modify pre-written python scripts). Nevertheless, good introduction to DB coding in python.

par Sarah M

Feb 06, 2016

+ I appreciated the visual nature of the course

+ I appreciated the background info on databases

+ I liked learning SQL and using the SQLite browser.

- update to python3, I'm running python3 and found it difficult to correct the issues with urllibs in the ifnal assignmet.

par Seraphim A

Jan 05, 2016

Overall, an excellent course, as all courses from Dr Chuck.

The last assignment could have been more demanding to stretch our learning before the Capstone.

It is a real pity that one has to pay for all previous courses in order to take the final Capstone :-(

Well done!

par Ben T

Jul 27, 2017

The assignments are too easy in my opinion and don't require some thinking, but just some pure copy/pasting or repeating of already seen examples. I think that's something that could be improved because the content of the class and the lectures are actually great.

par Erikka I

Sep 12, 2016

I like this series a lot. I didn't like that the last assignment is peer graded though, because now I have to wait for somebody to see my assignment and grade it... :( but otherwise, this was fun and a good introduction to working with databases! I learned a lot.

par Karl F

Nov 16, 2016

Teacher was good, but the hand in assignments were much too simple. They didn't challenge me, and I didn't really get to practice the new things we've learned. All assignments were just about copy/paste 3-4 lines in existing code, and make a minor change to it.

par jsanfont

Oct 26, 2016

Although the theory was getting denser, we passed through it too quickly, and the assessments were too light. Even though the aim is to have students investigate and go deeper by themselves, I think we should have been prompted to do some further development.

par Thomas B

Jan 17, 2018

Wish we did more of the coding for the final week. Give us an expected schema for the program's output (which the javascript and html will visualize from), and have us write most of the python for the first parts that output data which fits that schema.