Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
18,681 évaluations
2,831 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality course material
(143 avis)
Top rated instructor
(176 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM
12 mars 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
22 juin 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 2,746 Avis pour Using Databases with Python

par Trevor H

31 déc. 2015

This course is not challenging at all.

par Katrin K

31 mars 2016

Very basic, rather simple

par Laurent M

7 avr. 2019

excercices were not challenging, just few lines to add or adapt, should be a bit more difficult

par Boris B

5 mars 2019

The home tasks do not teach you anything

par ASHISH B

28 sept. 2020

Dr. Chuck, a long time ago, probably 2 years ago or so, I enrolled in your first Python course after trying several times to learn programming with no success. Before my enrollment, I was deeply impressed by the fact that you're so courteous and generous to allow everybody to use your precious teaching materials (books, slides, videos, etc.) for no charge. I thought to myself, "Not so many people do this these days, who is this guy??". After watching the first video, I could not stop ever since. Your presentations are outstanding and quite engaging. Your sense of humor is amazing. The effort that you put into your slides never went unnoticed. The writing style of your Python book is very nice. Everything you say or write shows how passionate you are about your work. But, what is even more impressing is the amount of time and effort that you give for no charge to help others. Obviously, you could have made thousands of dollars if you used your time and efforts otherwise, but, fortunately, you chose another route, which, in fact, pays off in the long run. Probably, you did not get as much money as you deserve, but you helped many thousands of people who needed help and made them so much grateful to you. Now, thousands of people in all corners of the world know about the unique, quality work that you deliver.

par David W

26 déc. 2015

Dr. Chuck is an excellent teacher. This is true particularly because he is so passionate about the subject and skilled in both the craft as well as helping others to learn it.

For me, learning databases has been a very fun and liberating study. I needed it. I have been planning my own version of a personal finance application with all of the features and customization that I want in it for some time now. Learning databases was and is an important step in reaching the knowledge level that I think I need to attempt my project with some probability of success and happiness with the end product. I have done some event-driven programming in Python, and have messed around in someone else's GUI in that class, but designing and implementing my own GUI won't be easy. Thanks to Dr. Chuck's class series, however, I feel much more confident that I can go out there and review the different third party GUI libraries and see if any will get the job done for now.

Alternatively, the University where Dr. Chuck teaches also has a web design certificate that seems like it might be useful. If GUI programming is too hard I might go with a web version since I have heard that Javascript, particularly jquery and D3 would make my task of graphing and presenting financial data quite doable.

par Esmerelda M B D M

22 juil. 2020

I am in the midst of completing the 5th course in the Python for Everybody Specialization, I have no programming background prior to taking the 1st course and have learnt a lot from these courses. I put in effort and the hours studying the materials provided. Although, this course is unlike the first 2 courses in the specialization where we learned to write codes, I gained knowledge by doing due diligence in researching and experimenting codes to help in excelling all assignments. Make use of lecture videos, textbook and code examples all available for us students, dedicate your focus and time to achieve your academic goals, get rid of spoon-fed mentality, you will thank yourself! Forums are there, segregated by week to post questions where your peers and Dr.Chuck’s team of teaching assistants will help you out; having said that, please do read pinned messages by teaching staff in week forum before attempting assignments for detailed grading process. I really enjoyed taking these courses including this 4th one and look forward in completing the capstone project in the following final course. Thank you Dr. Chuck and team at UM and Coursera for making these courses available remotely!

par yeshwanth

17 janv. 2016

Great course, So far one of the best I have seen in this planet.

There is always room to improve the best to take it a notch up..... This is what I would do to make it better.

1.Supply ton of more information for each course so students who are interested might explore but the new and additional information. This dont have to interfere with the course. Just for additional informations so the students can get some more info if they wanted.

2.I like the fact that there is some industry talk someone who are in the Industry or who was in the industry who come and give a small tech talk ....please provide more motivational materials like this. Not all the time I want to see Mr. Chuck alone.

3.Please come to Toronto.

4.The reason I am able to finish this course because the assignments was easy .....IF it was hard forget it i would have quit long before...... this happens in lots of other coursers I take...Sorry its just me.

par Jason J

8 déc. 2017

Once again, Dr. Chuck Severance delivers!

Two weeks ago, I knew nothing about JSON, databases and APIs. Now I'm working on an independent project and using the knowledge in this class to connect to databases with APIs, decode the information using a JSON library within python, and process the data to solve real world problems.

The free online book is a great start to each week of learning. If you first study the book and practice with the sample code in each chapter with your Atom program, you will do well. The lecture videos are solid and helpful, reinforcing the book material. The assignments are fair and sometimes a little too easy but for this 5 course beginner sequence, overall I believe they're right on the money. A huge thanks to Dr. Chuck and everyone involved in putting this course (and all 5 in this sequence) together! I'm looking forward to the capstone (5th course) in a few days.

par SBAST

14 août 2017

Thanks for this very helpful course, the lectures are clear and to the point, and fun. Sometimes I needed to read the manual and some online documentation on the topic (python.org) more in depth , but everything was easy to access, and to understand with a little practice, trial and error. It is a comprehensive, hands-on introduction to the many possibilities of gathering and analyzing the data out there (on the web). The progress is gradual, with clever exercises to overcome common roadblocks. After this fourth course in the Python for Everybody specialization, I feel more confident for exploring the Python and SQL languages, and also other languages if need be. I also loved the bonuses, because they bring this whole creative world of programming to life. The Internet History, Technology and Security course is a good complement to these 4 courses. I look forward to the Capstone.

par Maloy M

13 sept. 2016

Loved this course! Dr. Chuck makes it fun by adding the bonus material - office hours videos as well as the fantastic interviews with all the computing greats whose work we've used so far but haven't had any chance to interact. The course itself is great at explaining tricky topics including web architectures involving crawlers, search engines, data wrangling code etc. without turning off new learners.

The sql/ rdbms part eases learners into using DRI with without the actual declarations rather inserts and updates, but this is so vital a concept for databases that there could possibly be some bonus video explaining this with a little bit more rigor (as sqlite does support foreign key references). Nevertherless a great course keeping in mind that it primarily deals with programming in python rather than db code.

par Kry

24 sept. 2016

People use Python for many purposes: to make games, build web services, to solve business problems, to work with sensors, drivers and robots. Python is also used heavily in scientific fields for academic research and applied work.

Python is an incredibly efficient language: your programs will do more in fewer lines of code than many other languages would require.

Py4inf and Python explained by C. Servance, is a great developing of the foundations in programming (first two courses) that will serve you well for the rest of your life, as well as a course that will give you a sort of try to understanding of what great things python can do for you.

I strongly recommend this course for anybody, who wants to start with informatics.

par Mike T

16 janv. 2016

Professor Chuck is my new hero. Ok, some would say that the course is very easy. In truth, it was for me, but I'm a professional programmer who fell in love with Python a few years ago and I'm always looking for excuses to just have fun with it. And although for someone with my experience it is was not a difficult course, I still learned some things from it, and the instructor is a great, down to earth lecturer who is clearly very passionate about teaching and Python, and well, traveling the world. ;) So even if you are an experienced programmer, then unless you are sure that you absolutely can't learn anything more about using Python to access SQL databases and you don't want to have a lot of fun, then take this course!

par Christopher T

5 janv. 2018

I have been enjoying my journey through these courses by Dr. Chuck immensely. My only criticism is that sometimes the instructions for an assignment are a bit odd in wording, counter intuitive, even unclear. This issue may be more true of the previous course than this one. But the remedy if confused is the active and helpful forums. The mentors and teaching assistants are amazing, and often make pinned posts to guide students over hurdles, such as with the final assignment of this course and a problem with Google's API key. Still, the set-up, the skills learned, and most of all Dr. Chuck's engaging, easy to understand, and humorous lectures are well worth the time and price of admission.

par Charlie R

13 mars 2018

Lots of moving parts in this course! It ran the gamut of all the Python for Everybody courses so far, from file handling , line parsing, APIs, SQL, JSON, and html. -- My AHA! moment was looking at a restaurant review in nytimes.com. The article had a google map: I looked at the html code and sure enough, could spot the html script containing the JSON file listing the title, address, latitude, longitude, etc. That was very exciting to see our class work reflected in real world application. -- I look forward to the next course, the Capstone Project. I am very confident and excited for this next step in my education.

par Belikov D

26 oct. 2020

Howdy all. I'm not engineer, not programmer. I'm a beginner of programming, so i have small experience of passing courses. But i think, this course needs more assignments in programming to consolidate every theory in our minds, assignments with different levels of difficulty, including assignments with less amount of prompts.

But i think course is useful, don't miss it.

P.S. maybe for some beginners this course very hard, but i think that it isn't easy mostly for many people, when you learning something new in your life. Learning how to find needed information in internet is great useful experience too ;)

par liu x l

2 janv. 2016

Same as the 3 previous courses in this specialization, this one is also very informative. And the explanations are very clear.

Only one thing I realize after these 4 courses -- exercises are all very simple, or rather, the difficult part of the exercises are already made, and we only need to add very simple part of the code. This way we don't get much practice. As a result, when i wanted to program something myself, i needed to search for references constantly. But probably the final project of the specialization is exactly there to cover the practicing part. Looking forward to it.

par Daniel M C

15 janv. 2016

It's still a good series of courses, and now they are breaking down the lectures into shorter chunks. That makes it easier to download and easier to manage my study time.

The slides and screenviews are still hard to see. Tiny purple text on a black background just *does*not*work*.

Up to week 2 I'm finding the explanations are not deep and detailed enough, and the assignments are too easy and superficial.

But I guess that's OK, it's a short course and it gives you a quick overview of a bunch of different technologies. It is very good at that.

par Nickson O

5 sept. 2020

This course lays a concrete foundation to structured query language (SQL) and SQLite3 database browser (this is just but one among many including MySQL, SQLServer, Oracle, PostgreSQL, etc.) and relational databases in general. No mention of nonrelational databases like MongoDB although it's a perfect start. I plan to learn more databases. I also learned some unique tips from Dr. Chuck's brief introduction to object oriented programming (OOP), which I could relate to SQL. I recommend this course to anyone who has some background in Python.

par Ashutosh D

15 mai 2017

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Informatics”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 2.

par Abbas J

18 oct. 2020

Maybe the best course in the specialization, it also a quit reasonable intro to SQL and Sqlite database. It treated what was possibly the most complex subject in this specialization with a lot of care, neither simplifying too much nor making SQL and RDBMS concepts too difficult to understand for novices.

I have been saying this repetitively, but with this particular course, it is worth repeating even more: more exercises, maybe some thing like

https://codingbat.com/python would be very useful. So would more quizzes.

par Anand B S

17 oct. 2016

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

par Kieran M

2 févr. 2017

Dr. Chuck is very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about ensuring that everybody know how to program. Further to this, the information that was provided in this course, along with the specialization's accompanying courses, gave me enough knowledge to begin my own venture into scraping, cleaning and storing web content. Add this to the University of Michigan's specialization in Data Science and you'll definitely have solid foundational knowledge of how to collect, manipulate and analyze digital data.

par Christina O

31 déc. 2015

Dr Chuck makes the daunting look less daunting. Subjects covered include exploration of API, grounding in data scraping etiquette, basic data modeling economical database normalization, continuation of Google API geocoding, use of Python for scraping and cleaning data. The course assumption is that if you made it this far, you can handle a speedier pace of content delivery. The discussion forums are more valuable too, as one learns what libraries and functions differ between Python 2.7.x and Python 3.x.

par JIANGHONG Y

21 juin 2019

I'm going to recommend THIS course to everyone, to me it's like the core course of the whole bunch of stuff. It's very easy to find syntax about Python on the web, cause you have Python in your mind, after all that what you're pursuing. But modern programming is more than that: you need storage to store all information/data you gathered. That's why you need to learn this course. All basic concepts are covered, SQL, primary key, etc. Even if you don't use Python, databases are still of most importance.