Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
15,808 évaluations
2,390 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality course material
(143 avis)
Top rated instructor
(176 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 14, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filtrer par :

1901 - 1925 sur 2,316 Avis pour Using Databases with Python

par Justinas S

Jan 16, 2018

I would say this is a good course to learn and understand what is DB and how to interact with them with Python. The purpose of this course is not to make us professionals, its just to make us aware of it and prepare us for further development.

par Yogesh D K

May 02, 2020

It was a great deal working on with this course, especially with the peer-graded assignment of the last week. I was worried about the assignment because in 2 days it was not getting graded, but it finally did and I was relieved so much.

par Zihao M

Feb 28, 2016

The course is great, but I hope I can get to the final project. I have a little bit experience in python, so I skipped the first two courses of the specialisation project. But I still want to try the 5th one, which is locked to me now~

par Susmith D K

Apr 04, 2020

This course is full of database designing which was a great experience.It was a bit tough to keep up in beginning but then i got familiar.You should not need any prior knowledge on database to learn this course but need some python.

par Jason P

Nov 06, 2019

Easy and informative but could be more challenging and have us modify the code a bit more. Similar complaint about my Coursera class with IBM about databases so maybe it's a limiting factor of how things are structured and graded.

par Deleted A

Dec 25, 2018

I think Dr. Charles' lectures are really cool, but the practical excercises were not so good: they consisted, mostly, only in executing already done code and printing stuff. I think that the peer-grading were unnescessary too.

par Oliverio J S J

Jan 04, 2018

This course is a nice introduction to relational databases. However, most lessons address database design and SQL topics, and thus some people may consider that it is not fair to include this course in a Python specialization.

par Andrew P

Dec 29, 2017

Would be perfect but the issue with the Gooogle API Key in the week 5 assignment was frustrating to figure out without clear guidance. The walkthrough in the Discussion Forum could have used pictures to help debug the issue.

par Muhammad S A

Jan 08, 2016

The only reason I can't give this course a 5 star rating is the final assignment is not substantial enough. Otherwise this is the best course series for any beginner or someone trying to refresh their programming knowledge.

par Archana K R

Dec 23, 2019

Loved the teaching but assignments had very little rigor involved. Towards the end, only a small piece of the code needed to be modified to obtain the result taking away much of the practical understanding of the course

par Byomokesh P P

May 07, 2019

The assessment session is very helpful, as relate to real time tasks. The classes are awesome and easy to understand. I would suggest to learn the basics of the python before entering to the Python using database course.

par Bruce C P

Jan 02, 2017

Good course at an appropriate level. I'd like to see more advanced topics in a related course, like optimization, multi-threading, database management. Some discussion of non-relational databases would also make sense.

par Dominic J

Jul 04, 2016

A good introduction to the basics of SQL and an excellent, intuitive description of the workings of databases with motivations for them. Gets a little 'hand-wavy' at parts but is fine for a less experienced programmer.

par Iman v A

Nov 13, 2018

I thought it was very informative, but felt the assignments lacked challenge. I never spent more than 15 minutes on them because 80+ % of the code was already provided and you basically only had to fill in the blanks.

par Jaison A

Dec 18, 2016

Solid foundational database concepts in Python if you're looking to learn the basics or brush up on fundamentals. However, if you're looking for more advanced topics, you might want to look at more advanced classes.

par Zenil S

Mar 09, 2018

Get to learn basics of SQL in this course.A good chunk of code to be used in assignments is explained before in lectures, so you solve a similar if not same problem in the assignment which is shown in the lecture.

par Subha M G

Mar 03, 2018

Having done other courses in the specialization, I found that the lectures of Week 4 and Week 5 involved very less modification to the existing code, thereby reducing the ability to try out coding on one's own.

par Todd S

Dec 15, 2015

Another great class that covers a lot of information that builds nicely on the preceding classes. I would like to see an additional Exercises per topic that more complex. Maybe add an extra credit or bonus one.

par Hung-Chia Y

Mar 16, 2018

Towards the end of the course, the code starts getting a lot complex. Even though Dr. Severance said not to worry about a lot of them, I don't feel I understand the material as fully as the previous courses.

par Rony A

Aug 07, 2017

The course was interesting and broad in teaching SQL and its use in handling simple and complex databases. What I missed though, was more emphasis and hands-on exercises on the use of SQL in Python scripts.

par Фесенко Г Е

Oct 11, 2017

This course is extremely simple and it is not very good. To become a better programmer you have to write a lot of code. Theory is helpful too, but practice is much more needed. More practice, please...

par Richard E A M

Mar 05, 2017

I know that Dr. Chuck mentioned that he can't cover everything about databases and SQL. But I felt that the content could have been a bit more informative.

Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck and the teaching staff.

par Brent T

Feb 01, 2020

Course is worthwhile taking and Dr. Severance is engaging in the videos. People new to Python should read book chapters prior to viewing videos so as to familiarize themselves with the subject matter.

par Sean Q Z

Sep 11, 2016

I hope this can be a little bit more challenge. All the assignments are easy to be finished, some of them can be done within minutes. Comparing with JHU's R programming, that can be too hard, though.

par Rethek K

May 06, 2020

A little more hands on practice on python and writing our own logic and code would've been better. Other than that this course is perfect, has great content and instructor, totally enjoyed it.