Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
20,399 évaluations
3,123 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality course material

(143 avis)

Top rated instructor

(176 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM

12 mars 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

16 juin 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filtrer par :

2501 - 2525 sur 3,043 Avis pour Using Databases with Python

par Ben T

26 juil. 2017

The assignments are too easy in my opinion and don't require some thinking, but just some pure copy/pasting or repeating of already seen examples. I think that's something that could be improved because the content of the class and the lectures are actually great.

par Erikka I

12 sept. 2016

I like this series a lot. I didn't like that the last assignment is peer graded though, because now I have to wait for somebody to see my assignment and grade it... :( but otherwise, this was fun and a good introduction to working with databases! I learned a lot.

par Karl F

16 nov. 2016

Teacher was good, but the hand in assignments were much too simple. They didn't challenge me, and I didn't really get to practice the new things we've learned. All assignments were just about copy/paste 3-4 lines in existing code, and make a minor change to it.

par jsanfont

26 oct. 2016

Although the theory was getting denser, we passed through it too quickly, and the assessments were too light. Even though the aim is to have students investigate and go deeper by themselves, I think we should have been prompted to do some further development.

par Yogesh B

5 oct. 2020

+It improved my database design skill up to some extent.

+good integration with python and json etc

-Normalization was not there, at least upto 3NF it should be covered.

-last project was just a copy paste. it would be great if it can be somewhat challenging.

par Thomas B

17 janv. 2018

Wish we did more of the coding for the final week. Give us an expected schema for the program's output (which the javascript and html will visualize from), and have us write most of the python for the first parts that output data which fits that schema.

par Síofra O

24 avr. 2019

Good as an intro to databases but perhaps a bit too easy as a lot of the code is provided. I would have like to have had to create more Python code instead of reusing what was provided in the course resources. That said, well laid out and delivered.

par Olha L

22 août 2019

This course is more about DataBases rather than Python. Good for very beginners, too easy for anyone with programming background.

Also I would suggest providing mbox.txt file for download, as copy/pasting such a big amount overload laptop CPU.

par Richard W

13 mai 2018

This course is a perfect introduction to using databases with Python. It gives intuition and provides understanding of the most important database management features, how to code them in SQL, and how to manage them through a Python interface.

par Justinas S

16 janv. 2018

I would say this is a good course to learn and understand what is DB and how to interact with them with Python. The purpose of this course is not to make us professionals, its just to make us aware of it and prepare us for further development.

par Yogesh K

2 mai 2020

It was a great deal working on with this course, especially with the peer-graded assignment of the last week. I was worried about the assignment because in 2 days it was not getting graded, but it finally did and I was relieved so much.

par Zihao M

27 févr. 2016

The course is great, but I hope I can get to the final project. I have a little bit experience in python, so I skipped the first two courses of the specialisation project. But I still want to try the 5th one, which is locked to me now~

par Susmith D K

3 avr. 2020

This course is full of database designing which was a great experience.It was a bit tough to keep up in beginning but then i got familiar.You should not need any prior knowledge on database to learn this course but need some python.

par Jason P

6 nov. 2019

Easy and informative but could be more challenging and have us modify the code a bit more. Similar complaint about my Coursera class with IBM about databases so maybe it's a limiting factor of how things are structured and graded.

par Deleted A

25 déc. 2018

I think Dr. Charles' lectures are really cool, but the practical excercises were not so good: they consisted, mostly, only in executing already done code and printing stuff. I think that the peer-grading were unnescessary too.

par Oliverio J S J

4 janv. 2018

This course is a nice introduction to relational databases. However, most lessons address database design and SQL topics, and thus some people may consider that it is not fair to include this course in a Python specialization.

par Andrew P

29 déc. 2017

Would be perfect but the issue with the Gooogle API Key in the week 5 assignment was frustrating to figure out without clear guidance. The walkthrough in the Discussion Forum could have used pictures to help debug the issue.

par Sohaib A

8 janv. 2016

The only reason I can't give this course a 5 star rating is the final assignment is not substantial enough. Otherwise this is the best course series for any beginner or someone trying to refresh their programming knowledge.

par Archana K R

22 déc. 2019

Loved the teaching but assignments had very little rigor involved. Towards the end, only a small piece of the code needed to be modified to obtain the result taking away much of the practical understanding of the course

par Byomokesh P P

7 mai 2019

The assessment session is very helpful, as relate to real time tasks. The classes are awesome and easy to understand. I would suggest to learn the basics of the python before entering to the Python using database course.

par Bruce C P

1 janv. 2017

Good course at an appropriate level. I'd like to see more advanced topics in a related course, like optimization, multi-threading, database management. Some discussion of non-relational databases would also make sense.

par Dominic J

4 juil. 2016

A good introduction to the basics of SQL and an excellent, intuitive description of the workings of databases with motivations for them. Gets a little 'hand-wavy' at parts but is fine for a less experienced programmer.

par Pedro J G R

29 juil. 2021

One of the best! This course taught me about databases (the general idea) and then how to create and visualize data with Python. Forme, one of the most useful courses from this spezialised program from Univ. Michigan.

par Iman v A

12 nov. 2018

I thought it was very informative, but felt the assignments lacked challenge. I never spent more than 15 minutes on them because 80+ % of the code was already provided and you basically only had to fill in the blanks.

par Jaison A

18 déc. 2016

Solid foundational database concepts in Python if you're looking to learn the basics or brush up on fundamentals. However, if you're looking for more advanced topics, you might want to look at more advanced classes.