Chevron Left
Retour à Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
10,932 évaluations
1,419 avis

À propos du cours

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
Informative course
(132 avis)
Relevant project
(132 avis)

Meilleurs avis

BC
28 avr. 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

NS
9 avr. 2016

Python for everyone is One of the Best Course on MOOC platform .\n\nDr. Chuck made it interesting and Knowledgeable. Way back 3 Months ,I can't even thing of the stuff that I leaned and implemented .

Filtrer par :

1326 - 1350 sur 1,384 Avis pour Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

par Muratcan A

5 janv. 2018

I think this capstone course was very rushed and did not actually teach much. It gave me a lot of material (the pre-written codes) to analyze and study, though. And I'm glad for that. However the assignments were little more than "print this, press enter, take screenshot". i.e. no coding involved - which was a disappointment. I have mixed feelings about this course. I had higher expectations. The codes will be very useful, I will be studying them to really nit-pick and understand them and learn all about the functions etc. which are new to me. Other than that I'm actually not very happy about this final course of the specialization. The specialization overall was great, but it was like a great movie with a cheap ending - no climax. Sorry :)

par Jakub S

17 janv. 2018

The last course was a disappointment. Instead of letting you use all your gained knowledge and actually wanting from you to use it, you are presented with a complete code and all lectures are just about describing the code and you just running completed scripts and putting printscreens into peer graded assignments. I get the fact that you have to know how to read scripts and the point of looking on projects that are not about just one one script, but I got the impression that this course was about nothing actually.

What a shame, because the first three courses are really enjoyable and the satisfaction from cracking the problem and writing a working script is great. This course can be completed with 0 knowledge.

par Michael D

26 mars 2019

This capstone could be better. The assignments are simply to run code you do not write and the grading of those assignments needs tighter, and more clear, requirements to ensure the graders see what they need to see in order to validate the assignment. The optional assignment, in my opinion, should really be the capstone and students should be required to upload their code and then present a short recording of their data project. That was how a similar capstone from a Duke University Specialization was and I felt like that was a good, real world, use case of the skills learned.

par Kunal B

7 mai 2016

As a captstonse course I expected this to be more challenging than other courses in the specialisation, especially the assignments which should have required to put in some real effort rather than simply executing pre-written scripts and uploading screenshots. Rest of the courses in the specialisation were superb, combined with the awesome teaching skills of Dr. Chuck but capstone was quite disappointing unfortunately.

par Anton S

9 avr. 2017

Sorry to say that, but this course has nothing related to programming. I like Dr.Chuck courses, especially 2-4 in this specialization, but this course has no programming challenge and check only your ability to make screenshots. If you have any programming experience you don't need this course it doesn't pay off your time you spend for this. Sorry again, but it's my opinion.

par Alie E A A O

18 août 2019

This course i don't like it at all . because i don't feel the aim of it . i don't know what is the important of visualizing the data in email or website. The instructor needs to teach the aim , Also i don't like the way of teaching programming by downloading the code and running it only. you should do it from scratch to understand it well.

par Carlos A R R

5 juil. 2017

Assignments don't require any programming, which is disappointing for a capstone course about programming in Python.

Update: Removed one star after taking the course "Introduction to Data Science in Python" which has much better and challenging assignments. This course should require a similar project that tests all the skills learned.

par Francis C

5 août 2018

Far too shallow compared to courses 1-4 of this specialization. I was just going through the motions towards the end. Really needs to be re-thought, in my opinion. Far too much "you don't need to know about these 50 lines of code" for my taste,so I didn't feel any sense of ownership of the material.

par Greg L

12 août 2017

This was a shocker - spoon-fed course with zero intellectual challenge. I paid for it but value it at zero. Previously I had thought it OK for learning Python, but the capstone had zero value, and no need to write a single line of code. Pretty annoyed is my summary, a waste of time.

par Tamaz L

4 juin 2016

The only thing I had to do in this course regarding the required assignments was to change python 2.7 code to 3.4 as that's what I'm using.

Presentations didn't add much towards the learning either. Definite downgrade from previous courses, especially from the first three.

par Jasper R

10 janv. 2020

Personally, I think I learned relatively little compared to the other courses. It was nice to see a bigger project which combines everything we have learned. But i preferred the other way of learning. Furthermore the whole specialization was very learnful!

par Gavrilo L

24 juil. 2020

I think this is the worst course in the series, the code explanations are not as good as previous courses and also I wish there was a bit more guidance with what you want to do and structure for people that do NOT want to do a random project.

par Bhushan G

14 août 2019

I would suggest coursera to somewhat lower the difficulty of the captone cause right away dealing with page rank and gmane was very difficult for me atleast. There should have been more smaller comparitively less difficult more projects.

par Nicholas W

27 sept. 2017

This course is more useful if you already have some ideas in mind about how and what data you'll want to visualize. If you don't have that in mind you'll just be handed the whole course on a silver platter and not really learn much.

par Matt W

5 déc. 2016

There was not the same application of programming skills as in the previous courses. Also, this course started too late after the other courses and I lost a lot of momentum in completing coursework.

par Anne

31 mars 2018

In general, good support from teaching staff. All you need to pass is just executing the sample python program and submitting screenshots of it which is too basic and doesn't teach you anything.

par Thomas Y

9 juin 2017

Not exactly a challenge or me applying anything I've learnt. I literally only ran the code that I was given and I recieved this certificate. There's really no need to even watch the videos.

par ricky C

10 sept. 2019

Access to the required course work won't be open for me, for 6 weeks from now. The system just want you to pay at least another month's subscription;

also, not much new information was taught.

par Kuznetsov S A

21 déc. 2017

There is no real assignment (with code writing) that will be graded. There is only already given code and recommendations what you can do by yourself. Too easy course I think.

par Paul D

3 nov. 2020

The materials are great and the professor seems pleasant. Unfortunately the evaluation of the lecturers is not always fair. Otherwise there is nothing to complain about

par Ioannis S

12 avr. 2016

The course offers just a simple running of (interesting and useful) code, but doesn't put the student in the situation of thinking and creating ideas and code.

par Sanil

9 oct. 2018

This is less of a capstone and more of a code walkthrough.. All other courses in this specialization were great but this one course is not designed properly.

par Gilad W

4 avr. 2018

The videos are not clear. There is no introduction of what we are doing, the code review skips too fast on the code makes it unclear

par Mihir A

14 févr. 2020

BIg eh. I never really did anything in this course except for a final exam and everything else was optional. Pretty bland really

par Mehregan K

22 oct. 2019

U will be learning almost nothing. If you wanna buy new subscription for this course, just dont. Only worth it if free.