Chevron Left
Retour à Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
11,738 évaluations
1,526 avis

À propos du cours

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
Informative course
(132 avis)
Relevant project
(132 avis)

Meilleurs avis

BC
28 avr. 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

AG
9 juil. 2021

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

Filtrer par :

1201 - 1225 sur 1,500 Avis pour Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

par 林韋銘

16 oct. 2019

gj

par Peddireddy P

29 juil. 2020

.

par PONNAMPALLE B G L L

14 avr. 2020

m

par Shuning

18 févr. 2018

!

par Ben L

4 août 2017

I liked the idea of doing a capstone project to bring together all of the skills of the previous courses. This course is pretty good and Dr. Chuck's teaching style is a plus as always. But there were a few reasons why I was a little less enthusiastic than the previous courses of this specialization. For this capstone, the videos aren't all that helpful when the assignments require few changes to the scripts that are readily available. The most I learned was when I was working on a project or question that I was interested in. If I got stuck, then I would then go back and watch the videos in closer detail where I got stuck and/or code in the examples. That would solidify the lessons a little bit more in my head. The quiz format in the earlier courses was great but it wasn't included here, partly because of the format. What could be done in the capstone is to have snippets of code that are missing then ask us to fill it in. Alternatively, you can have different snippets of code and ask us which is correct to properly execute a section. In addition, I thought we would get to present our coding work on the project of interest, even if it was just optional. Sharing our work would have allowed for a shared sense of accomplishment with others who finished the specialization. Group gratification can be a good motivator. In the end, though, I really enjoyed this specialization and enjoyed completing the courses.

par Николай В П

4 mai 2020

I wanted to mention that this last course in the specialization, despite being as great as the other four, has a huge number of typos. I took screenshots of some of them which I can share at nicolas.posunko@gmail.com. I'll try to list those I noticed since I can't paste the screenshots here:

— Week 7 > Visualizing new Data Sources - Introduction: This week you will discuss the analysis of your data *to the class*.

— Final test: Which of the following lines will never print out regardless *fo* the value of "x"?

— Final test: To *insure* that all Python reserved words are properly spelled.

— Week 4 > Loading and Modeling Mail Data: *This assignment you will start* the spidering of …

— Week 4 > Mailing List Data - Part I: … and it *make* take a few days to get graded.

— Week 5 > README: Analyzing an EMAIL Archive from gmane and *vizualizing* the data …

— Week 6 > Visualizing Email Data: … we must *be* remember that not all …

— Week 6 > Visualizing Email Data: This is also a good time *to remember to remind* those with slow …

par AMIT G

16 juin 2017

The capstone project should be more involving in terms of coding in python. Mostly I do is to run the same files in the same order to parse the same information which Dr. Chuck has already extracted in the videos and doing all the steps same. It is lagging the novelty from the student part. There should a section where we got to write some part of the code to perform certain steps, may be code correction, may be changing some steps to bring out a different output. Although the teaching style of Dr. Chuck is commendable and so is the course material.

par yarusx

8 mai 2020

Sorry to say, but this should be the best part of the specialization, but a lot of things are really covered very fast. I didn't like the scheme where you could earn your certificate from the first week just by answering the questions from the previous parts. A lot of people have this certificate as a motivation to make something extra and move forward. Of course, there is a lot of useful materials on this course, but as I said earlier the level of their coverage is not a level of Dr. Chuck.

par Marinus C H

9 sept. 2017

If you have done the exercise from the book in Chapter 16 you pretty much have done the capstone, apart from the additional optional ones. It would have been better if this would have been new exercises as this really would create some focus on all the previous materials. Still I feel it is worth doing as this is the final piece in the Python for Everybody course. Overall it has been a fun and great experience, so thank you Dr Chuck!

par Sungyun K

24 oct. 2019

Course materials were ok for me, just giving a working program and executing. But grading needs to be improved. I think all automatic grading or all peer grading are better. It looked like that there are too many students compared to the grader and the grader could not grade on time. Maybe the grader should grade only seriously flawed ones reported by peers. I had to pay another 49$ due to the late grading.

par Martynas Š

8 janv. 2018

While the information provided in the course is great, I think it lacks exercises from the student side. It is hard to truly understand the material (and understand what you do not understand) until you actually have to solve the problem yourself (in this case, write the code).

Also, Charles Severance is a great teacher. I hope that he will introduce more advanced courses about programming into the coursera.

par Molly S

26 mars 2018

I LOVED the content of this class, this is absolutely what I enjoy about Python and what I want to use it for. I wish, however, that there was more actual coding to do, instead of just running pre-written programs. The assignments were fairly fast and easy to gloss over - I think a bit more hands on and required assignments would help give a better working knowledge of the content.

par Luis W D M

29 oct. 2019

This course is for everyone put into practice what it has been learned during the four previous courses in the Specialization. It is really necessary to have a background on python in order to acomplish it, even though the tasks are not really complicated. However, previous knowledge is necessary for understanding what is taught.

Thanks to all the staff for the support.

par Tam H

23 févr. 2017

I still think that there is a lot to learn. the fact that I have limited time to complete the tasks made me hurry and not dig deeper into things I would like to.

If I could use the forum and ask questions after the course ended it would be better.

generally the course is very good for beginners. The instructor is very good and encouraged me to continue learning.

par Stephanie M

24 août 2017

Good for beginners to get a feel of how data retrieval, processing, and visualization can be accomplished with Python. Difficult for beginners to really do data analysis on their own. Advanced courses with more coding assignments (where you have to write the code, not just execute it) would be more helpful in actually turning understanding into usable skills.

par Ramacandra W

15 juil. 2018

Not up to the excellent level of the previous four modules of this Specialization. While the hands-on practice of this course are very interesting, the speed and depth at which the code is explained are not satisfactory. Too much is just to be taken 'as is'. Good as an appetizer for other Specializations, definitely not adding much knowledge in itself.

par kun

26 juil. 2019

I somehow feel a little bit disappointed on this course. I gave 4 star only because the instructor is awesome and I like Dr. Chuck and his previous courses. The course is more like a code review, and the assignment is not well designed - you just push the button and run the code. It is not that helpful to develop your coding skills.

par Aarya P

10 sept. 2020

Well this course doesn't teaches you a new skill instead it helps in applying your previous knowledge to different projects. Also it helps in thinking about how to think about data sources and so. Its more of performing the given code then to make one. Not the best out there but a good one to complete your specialization anyways.

par Matt B

6 déc. 2017

I would have given 5 stars, but I finished the course a few hours before my 7-day free trial for the specialization ran out and I wound up having to pay $49 for the next month for a specialization that I am now done with, simply because I was sitting around waiting on peer review for my two gmane assignments.

par Joshua A

8 juil. 2020

I would have given 5 stars to the first 3 courses. In the last two, when the focus moved to interacting with databases, I found the lectures under-explained too many things while the assignments (particularly the last ones) were not conducive to learning but rather involved just following instructions.

par Josep R

22 mars 2018

It was interesting, but away from my expertise and interest. It provides valuable insights on the capabilites of python on retrieving data from the internet, organizing it in a database and visualizing in java. It provides clears insights on the potential of python and all the available libraries.

par Bjorn C

31 juil. 2017

My only recommendation would be for there to be a little send-off message. Even just a two-minute video of Dr. Chuck sending us off into our pursuits on the 'net would be a nice final touch to the specialization. Similar to the "graduation" video that ended Class 3 (I think it was class 3?)

par Rahul U

9 déc. 2016

This is an excellent introductory course to computer programming. It gives you all the opportunities to learn at your own pace.

It is not too difficult to clear the capstone itself, but the course gives you the opportunity to chose your own project which makes it all the more interesting.

par Yiannis A

5 avr. 2018

A very intuitive brief capstone, for understanding how to set up a data mining structure. It helps the student to determine how to implement on a practical level all the previous courses. In overall, it consists the ideal way to wrap up all the previews knowledge from the specialization.

par Jason G

29 août 2017

Good course and great for its intended purpose but I wish the required assignments were more in-depth than running the instructor's code and taking screenshots. I'm moving on the the Python Data Analysis course where I hope to get into more advanced data visualization.