Chevron Left
Retour à Programming Languages, Part B

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Programming Languages, Part B par Université de Washington

4.9
étoiles
564 évaluations
125 avis

À propos du cours

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Meilleurs avis

AZ

Mar 24, 2018

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

VA

Mar 19, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!\n\nWarning - you might end up loving FP :)

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 124 Avis pour Programming Languages, Part B

par John S

Sep 14, 2016

An absolutely high quality class. The instruction is superb, the assignment is on par with top programs at Stanford, MIT, and CMU. Dr. Grossman's lecture is just so clear and energetic that makes learning this hard topic fun.

par Lorenzo B

Jul 02, 2020

I didn't terribly care about racket because of some previous common lisp/scheme experience; I wish the static/dynamic typing comparison had more space, but that's just because to ME that was the most interesting part.

par Keith R

Mar 23, 2018

I'm a pretty experienced C/C++ programmer and this course has been a brilliant introduction into functional programming and the underlying philosophies underpinning programming languages in general.

par Vaidas A

Mar 19, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!

Warning - you might end up loving FP :)

par Jan H

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

par Yuji S

Sep 25, 2016

Great course! Learned more about PL, what is interpreter/ compiler language, what is statically typed/ dynamically typed. The homework is very rewarding! Looking forward to Part C.

par Sam S

Apr 01, 2020

A strong follow-up to Part A. The second week's homework assignment is quite difficult, but very rewarding. This course has greatly helped shape my views on programming.

par Jose J

Aug 16, 2020

Excelent course.! Wished contained more material. Also I think changing the editor from Emacs to Dr Racket was not really necessary... all in all excellent course!

par Jacob K

Jul 05, 2018

Just as good as the first segment of the course. Learned a lot of good material about dynamically vs statically typed languages and how languages are interpreted.

par Pedro d S Q

Aug 12, 2020

Very enjoyable course, follow-up to Part A. Building an interpreter really solidifies what we saw, a really nice exercise. I'll definitely move on to part C!

par Gabriel A S

Jul 17, 2020

I'll learn many things in this course with the enthusiasm and hard work of a very knowledgeable professor on the field. Great course 10/10 would do it again.

par Kevin X

Dec 18, 2016

This series is really the course you need to take if you feel not comfortable and want to know why(or describe the feelings) when you code in school or work.

par Yuchong P

Jun 01, 2017

The course is really fantastic! It leads me to the world of Racket programming and guides me to many concepts in programming language theory (PLT).

par Peter B

Mar 12, 2017

Suitable even for experienced programmers.

Excellent presentation of fundamental programming concepts.

Exercises are challenging but rewarding.

par Xiang-Yu G

Jul 27, 2017

The programming assignments are carefully designed such that without so much coding you can capture the essence of the idea. Highly recommend.

par Anran

Mar 07, 2020

It's challenging as much as it is rewarding, and the peer review is a very nice arrangement for people to see how others are doing things!

par Iris H

Nov 22, 2019

Great follow-up to Part A, really builds on the concepts introduced there and tackles some quite complex topics (writing an interpreter)!

par Kyle K

Jul 13, 2020

Awesome course, a lot of fun with really interesting exercises. The interpreter homework was both difficult and super rewarding.

par syoya

May 20, 2020

A good introduction to dynamically typed language. I really the discussion about the static checking and dynamic checking.

par Sunil B

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course for programmer's interested in learning programming idioms or otherwise interested in language design

par Stanislav K

Jul 07, 2017

It's hard not to see how much time and energy is spent on this course by the instructor and the team!

par Dario G

Nov 16, 2016

Lovely course! The treatment on closures was great, and I really enjoyed the programming exercise.

par Cheng H

Dec 16, 2018

the best online course I've ever taken! expecting more courses from Dan and Washington University

par Yun L

Mar 24, 2020

Great course to learn dynamic typed language, and implemented a interpreter on a small language.

par Suchith J N

Feb 02, 2017

The assignment is challenging. This course gives a very good idea of how an interpreter works.