Chevron Left
Retour à Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? par Université de Londres

4.5
149 notes
40 avis

À propos du cours

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Meilleurs avis

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

FT

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 39 Examens pour Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

par Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

par Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

par Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

par Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

par Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

par ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

par Chia K X

Mar 19, 2019

Lecturer is patient and always tries to explain difficult concepts clearly.

par yue

Dec 05, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.

par fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

par Georgios P

Sep 03, 2018

Very good primer!

par Yves G

Sep 03, 2018

T

h

i

s

i

s

a

v

e

r

y

intersting

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

v

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

t

a

u

g

h

t

a

n

d

g

i

v

i

n

g

y

ou

t

he

w

i

l

l

t

o

study

f

u

t

h

e

r

i

n

that

f

i

e

l

d

.

par Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

par Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

par Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

par Geeti P M

Jul 19, 2019

It was a great experience learning from Sir Abdey!

par Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

par Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

par José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

par Majnoo G

Aug 26, 2019

One of the good starting points to learn the basics of probability and statistics. With less of mathematics and more on theory and interesting examples, this course is just right to start your journey on statistics. It covers some of the detail concepts with ease. Highly recommended

par Madhav C

Sep 07, 2019

wonderful course and the tutor!!

par MALIK I A

Sep 07, 2019

This course was very knowledgeable and given a review of my previous study.

par Manu G

Sep 27, 2019

Great course to revise basic statistics concept or if you are new to the area of statistics

par Omkar A P

Oct 02, 2019

very nice course..

par Jordi a

Nov 26, 2018

Basic introduction to the world of statistics, well structured and supplied with reading materials. Quite elementary, I'd say at most it's a HS/pre-college level overview of different fields and concepts. The lecturer conveys a strong appreciation for the subject. Recommended for those who want a first approximation to the subject.