Chevron Left
Retour à Practical Time Series Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Practical Time Series Analysis par Université d'État de New York

4.6
étoiles
1,463 évaluations
416 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

Meilleurs avis

SS

6 avr. 2021

It is a very good course which builds on the basics of time series and also covers more advanced topics like SARIMA. The course contains ample examples which helped me better understand the material.

SA

23 janv. 2020

Excelente, uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Lo más importante es que se practica muy seguido y hay examenes durante los vídeos. Si hay un nivel más avanzado de este tema, seguro que lo tomo.

Filtrer par :

401 - 424 sur 424 Avis pour Practical Time Series Analysis

par Christopher K

13 nov. 2020

It was definitely a gentle and accessible introduction to time series analysis. I was hoping for something a little more comprehensive and challenging, however, and sound quality was sometimes poor. This would serve as good preparation for an introductory course on time series.

par Pablo C

14 oct. 2018

Overall, this is a good course for beginners in time series analysis.

However, I wish they had go beyond the basics. I missed more advanced content, discussions between different forecasting techniques, multivariate forecasting...It is pretty basic.

par Herman d V

6 nov. 2019

Very interesting course. For a 'practical' course, I did find it rather theoretical. Also, some links to downloadable data are missing and there are some small errors in the R scripts that are offered. Nonetheless a good course, I learned a lot!

par Loganathan S

20 nov. 2020

The coding for the steps confusing and can follow how the tutor explained. I would like to suggest for the course coordinator to create a document on steps with coding for each model or test we want to run. Thank you.

par Andrew G

17 janv. 2021

Good/thorough introduction to moving average, auto-regressive, intetgrade, and seasonal models as well as basic forecasting. Some of the labs don't work, as well as links, and the organization is messy in places.

par Jignesh K

29 mars 2021

If you have non-technical or not much aware of stats, you will probably face problems understanding the equation algebra. I think the tutor has to explain how to calculate with a manual example.

par Pranav K

9 avr. 2021

I was interested in learning more about situations where one time series affects another, on which there was no content. Somewhat disappointed by that. Very rigorous, apart from that.

par Emanuel N

9 mars 2020

While professor Thistetlon gave the classes in a way that kept my attention,Prof Sadigov wasn't so good at it. Clearly he know a lot but not as a teacher.

par Mark H

27 juin 2018

Would have loved more work with the ready made packages, I feel like I still can't master using them in R, although I did understand the material.

par Ivan D

17 janv. 2021

good, but not great. needs more explanation about the intuition. needs a lot more exercises. needs to cover more topics.

par Saket M

18 avr. 2020

Instructors are good but as per the title this is not more than 30% practical Time Series Analysis

par Roger L

20 avr. 2022

A lot of the lab content links and library in the codes in quizes are not working

par Maria B

19 oct. 2018

The content was great, but I'd have liked to see more practical exercises.

par Cesar T

12 mai 2022

O curso peca na questão de ser realmente prático.

par stephane d

21 mars 2020

I find the course a little too theoretical

par António M F B d C C

18 juil. 2020

I finished this course with grade over 90% and yet I feel disappointed with it.

Divided between intense theoretical (I could say "impractical") formulations and forcing implementations in R, it feels like the course could never really achieve the objectives of teaching what it was meant to.

And so, I feel like I will hardly be able to implement any of the given topics by myself with my current knowledge...

Apart from my critique of the course, the course really needs a revision because many contents are not up-to-date (like filenames) or even working (several pieces of code throughout the course, specially crucial in quizzes)...

par Sam M

23 janv. 2022

The material was good, although sometimes it was hard to see the "practical" side (now that I've modelled the time series what do I do with that?). The course also needs to be updated as some of the links no longer work. It would also be helpful if the two professors coordinated their efforts better - flipping back and forth between two instructional approaches was frustrating.

par Jens F

6 mai 2022

I​'ve stopped with week 3. Are you kidding, rushing through the notions of series, convergence, and ultimately invertibility? The sound is getting progressively worse, I had to increase the volume for every video.

par Antonina K

21 oct. 2021

A lot of math, a lot of mistakes, outdated models, nothing about practical application. Mostly a theoretical course (90% of materials).

par JOSE M

7 avr. 2021

Name is measleading, most content is not practical.

Many labs have broken links with 404 error.

par John S

23 oct. 2020

Not as practical as I expected

par Aiman H N

17 juil. 2021

Too complicated

par María G M

4 avr. 2021

Nadie responde las consultas de los/ foros, es simplemente un intercambio entre los estudiantes. Reporté una calificación incorrecta (obtuve 9/10 y me calificó con 70%) y tampoco obtuve respuesta, y por lo que estuve viendo no fui la única con ese inconveniente. Luego, cuando quise resolver nuevamente la tarea, no pude acceder.

Los docentes parecen competentes y los temas del curso son interesantes, pero es imposible tomarlo si no se puede progresar porque no se pueden completar tareas.

par Andrew G

3 août 2020

The title and prereq's to don't reflect reality.