Chevron Left
Retour à Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.9
étoiles
4,401 évaluations
1,578 avis

À propos du cours

Dr. Martin E.P. Seligman—renowned worldwide as the “father of Positive Psychology”—has led visionary leaps in the scientific research, empirical data and personal understandings of human flourishing. This course explores the past, present and future of positive psychology as a journey through the key scientific leaps led by Dr. Seligman and his colleagues at the University of Pennsylvania's Positive Psychology Center and Master of Applied Positive Psychology program. There are no prerequisites....

Meilleurs avis

MP
27 févr. 2020

Excellent and succint explanation of the history, objectives, trends and branches of Positive Psychology. And to learn with the man himself and other leading researchers is a one-of-a-kind experience.

JK
5 mai 2021

This is not a course for educational purposes only. This course will change the way you look at yourself and your relationship with society forever. Take it, and encourage your friends to do the same.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 1,559 Avis pour Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

par Sara A

6 août 2018

very theoretical

par Bob R

2 juil. 2017

Gag. This entire course was devoted to Seligman worship (led, as usual, by Seligman).

Does the entire UPenn faculty just suck up to him all the time? Isn't it time credible academics move on from the lazy, unscientific twaddle of PERMA and make your own way, even without the big Templeton Foundation dollars that Uncle Marty still pulls in?

par Japke Z

14 juin 2017

Useless course. Just a bunch of repetitions of anecdotes chopped up in tiny clips with way too many pointless popup questions. Let me save everyone some time and summarize this course: "Being positive is good for you." You will have to figure out for yourself how to do that, because this course will not teach you.

par Sigal C

9 févr. 2019

Starts with a very interesting Module that talks about the concept of Positive Psychology and its key elements, but then goes into less interesting and relevant topics such as different experiments over the years and journalism.

par Shuo X

10 juin 2017

The vedios are not available for the course, only scriptions can't get a feel of the teachers/professor's teaching style.

par Dajena Q

7 nov. 2020

Worst lecturer ever! Couldn't go on with the course because of him!

par Jared E

28 mars 2018

Positive psychology is about as scientific as Scientology.

par Jacqueline N

9 oct. 2017

This course was excellent. I wanted to understand how Positive Psychology differed from other approaches in Psychology and I got a really solid basis of understanding that and also an in depth view of the applications, science and research that underlies this revolutionary approach to understanding how to develop more resilient and stronger human beings. The lectures, supporting material and scope of the course facilitated learning and understanding of Positive Psychology. My only disappointment was that I took a survey about well being and after taking it twice, I didn't receive the language cloud promised from my Facebook page. I waited over 45 minutes before abandoning the page with the hour glass. However learning about language clouds and how they are advancing research in Positive Psychology was awesome!

par Victoria

22 nov. 2017

This is a really useful course for self-development and for application in daily life and working life. In fact, you can't do a course like this without improving your approach to life in general. In some sense, it packages the kind of stuff you discover through life lessons. That's great news if you're young or worried you've been a slow learner in that department. The benefit of doing a course like this is that you can hopefully avoid some unnecessary trauma and learn from the smaller dramas of life instead. I've found it useful for re-framing my life experiences and moving the wisdom of maturity along just that little bit further. I still pull myself up, from time to time, for taking unproductive mental routes and actions; but that's what it is to be human: we learn until the end, every step of the way.

par Nicole M

31 août 2017

I really enjoyed this course and felt like it enriched my knowledge and understand of positive psychology. The lectures were interesting and varied, and it was great to have guest appearances from researchers in diverse areas of the discipline, from constructive journalism to the impact of big data. I thought the exercises were well scattered through the course. I think the only area for improvement would be in the nature and extent of the feedback obtained for the first assignment. I provided very detailed feedback for the assignments that I reviewed, and was a little surprised by the very brief feedback I received for my own assignment. Finally, the fact that I could complete this course from my home office in Sydney made me feel grateful just about every time I started another module or section.

par Yvette T

12 mai 2021

Positive Psychology makes the difference between thriving and drooping. I LOVE this coursework and its impact on my personal and professional life. I am an avid learner and devour bodies of work like this to support my Benefit Corporation, Superpower School Inc. If it wasn't for Dr Seligman, I would not have been able to formalize and legitimize my optimism as a superpower. Now, with science backed research, I can say that part of what makes me tick as an unusually optimistic woman is my resiliency, as well as my top five superpowers: 1. Love. 2. Perspective. 3 Appreciating beauty and excellence 4. Humor. 5. Creativity tied with Gratitude. Watch out world! Kindness trumps meanness any day of the week!

par Nadiyah A

17 mai 2021

The course is very enlightening, because learning Positive Psychology is not only about theory, it's always encourage the students to practice it to themselves first, and even we can create bigger impact. I have always been a Positive Psychology enthusiast since I was in university. I took the course and fell in love with it instantly.This opportunity is amazing, I learned from Martin Seligman, the founder of Positive Psychology. How exciting is that!! It is very insightful, knowing how Positive Psychology has been very impactful for people around the world. The potential of its research is huge. I am intrigued, I will find a way to get a degree on this!

par Lloyd B

14 août 2019

This course was a complete eye-opener. I can't believe that it has not been more widely utilized and acclaimed. The results that have been documented coming from Positive Psychology are outstanding. I believe every city government should become aware of it. The crime rates and the incidence of suicide in the US could be seriously reduced.

The materials were extremely well presented. Navigating the website was, at times, a challenge. Perhaps that might be attributed to my age, 76, and the fact, it was my first online study experience.

I'm looking forward to the remaining courses in this Positive Psychology curriculum.

Many thanks!!

par Joanne R

8 sept. 2020

Wow, just wow! Absolutely LOVED this course and what an honor to learn from the Positive Psychology founder himself, Martin Seligman. I had been briefly introduced to Positive Psychology by Wellness Coaching Australia when I was studying for my Professional Certificate, and was fascinated to learn more. My brother had gotten a Diploma in Positive Psychology and I saw the way it changed his life for the better. This course was so incredibly insightful and jam-packed with all the goodness behind the science of well-being. I was continually excited by what I was learning and so grateful to you for presenting such a wonderful course.

par Sridhar V

7 juil. 2017

To hear about Positive Psychology from the horse`s mouth is indeed a privilege. As an introductory course, it is very well designed and delivered. I have been impressed with and influenced by hearing Prof. Martin Seligman, PhD at the World Conference on Appreciative Inquiry at Kathmandu, Nepal which he addressed live over conference call. Doing a course with him and successfully and meritoriously completing the same is indeed a privilege for me. Thanks Prof. Martin. I look forward to further support in specializing in Positive Psychology at a PhD level and taking Positive Psychology forward in vernacular languages in India.

par Michelle T

10 mai 2020

Everyone should take this course. Knowing positive psychology gives you knowledge how to evaluate your emotional state and get to know what exercise you can practice to improve your well-beings and help others around you. After this course, you will also know the application of positive psychology before and now, and work in process which will flourish in the future. These applications has changed and will keep affecting people in the world with or without our recognition. Positive psychology influences individuals, brings changes to communities and hopefully will play a role in policies making and education.

par Esmeralda V

19 avr. 2020

A short introduction to the amazing discovery of Positive Psychology, explained by Doc. Seligman and his colleagues. A perfect, stimulant asset to approach a difficult subject and to get a scientific view of a not so mentioned side of psychology. I really appreciated all the contents proposed and the several opportunity to debate and reflect on the different lessons. It's a very complete course starting from the first historical steps, then going through all the experiments, practices and main theories until now. Highly recommended to anyone interested in how to improve human well-being in an empirical way.

par Jianhua H

13 août 2017

I hope Dr. Seligman and his team could further improve the maturity of Positive Psychology, and make it easier for both professionals and parents to use. I wonder if a manual could be developed to help / guide parenting from pre-K through puberty to kid's adulthood.

Finally, I want to empathize this is a life-saving course for me and my family. I really really appreciate Dr. Seligman's wonderful achievement and teaching this online course by himself.

I want to thank Coursera.org for their great efforts inviting Dr Seligan and his team here.

I will try my best to spread the core concepts to my community.

par Carlos G

4 nov. 2019

Olá...em primeiro lugar muito obrigado pela oportunidade. Obrigado Dr. Seligman e toda a equipe que trabalhou e produziu este curso. Estou imensamente feliz e radiante com o que aprendi. Na verdade o desejo de aprender esta dentro de mim, pois, me sinto satisfeito e feliz. Muito feliz. Eu pude enxergar a vida e o futuro por um outro ângulo e através de vocês vejo dias melhores para mim, como também entendo que posso ser uma influência ainda melhor para aqueles que estão na caminhada desta vida comigo. Foram ensinamentos profundamente justos dentro deste curso e também muito perfeito ! ! ! Muito Obrigado.

par Radha G

31 août 2020

Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvanian for giving me this amazing opportunity to access this awesome course and learn from the best of professors, researchers and all those who have been working tirelessly behind the scenes to put together this well designed curriculum. This course as helped me to align with my priories in my life and to reach out to people and make even a small difference to the society by finding hope in every uncertain and unforeseen situation. Thank you for bringing back the importance of positive thinking on top of my list. Thank you so much ever grateful.

par Lydia O

25 mai 2018

I am a professor of social work and took this out of curiosity without expecting to be as excited and challenged by the material as I was. This course really expanded my knowledge and my way of thinking about positive psychology and psychology in general, even though these were areas I had knowledge in already. I highly recommend this to anyone with the slightest interest-- you will be hooked after the first lecture. The course is incredibly well done, steeped in science, offers personal growth experiments, and is of the highest quality. I am impressed and grateful for the opportunity.

par Lola A

18 nov. 2017

I've completed Science of Happiness on EdX and Positive Psychology with Barbara Fredrickson before but found this course to be different and non repetitive. I learned new things and I found it to be very comprehensive, science based and illuminating. Exercises were difficult and really made me think. And I am taking away a couple of new ideas, fresh perspectives and useful exercises. It's an excellent course and I wish it could be developed into a full degree programme on Coursera, which would be cheaper than doing it at uni. Thank you, everyone, who worked on this course.

par Vivian F

24 sept. 2017

The course on Foundation of Positive Psychology is very inspiring. I am happy and honoured to have the opportunity to take the lesson given by Prof Seligmen. Other speakers are very professional too. I feel extraordinarily concentrated when taking this online course as I do not have to worry about the traveling, the disruption of daily schedules as the time I spent on the course is fully under my control, the possible distraction from classmates and the environment, etc. Also, because English is not my first language, I appreciate the transcripts offered by the course.

par Brandee G

1 mai 2021

Dr. Seligman is the best lecturer I've had the experience of learning from. His speaking style was really effective for my learning style. And the content fascinated me. This course is excellent. I found the pop-up questions and assignments to be really reinforcing for learning the material and keeping my attention focused on the content. I am so grateful for the opportunity to learn directly from Dr. Seligman and his excellent collaborators. I plan to take the other courses in the applied positive psychology series. Thank you for making this available in this format!

par Alexandra M G

10 févr. 2019

Thank you for the opportunity of taking this course.

Contributed to take action, made me understand better the way to build strength and also use our virtues, add more awareness and value to improve life.

I found this course very well structured and useful, videos and written material. I found a way to reinforce to help myself and others close to me.

I wish to carry on studying and learning more in depth the field Positive Psychology, I want to be able to practice as a professional therapist and give actual help.

Congratulations! Great work

Alexandra