Chevron Left
Retour à Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.4
étoiles
1,006 évaluations
308 avis

À propos du cours

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

Meilleurs avis

RW

27 déc. 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

MW

23 oct. 2020

It was a wonderful class! While I was expecting something different than learning about research and how to read research papers, that is my fault for putting my expectations on the class.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 304 Avis pour Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

par Marc G

11 févr. 2018

It's a good course, but it's heavily focused on the "research methods" part of the title, with a less intent focus on grit and, particularly, character. It's basically a simple introduction to research methodology and design, with an overview of quantitative and qualitative research and how to measure their quality (validity and reliability). The parts that relate to grit are mostly snippets from Duckworth's lectures. I wish there would have been more of that! I particularly enjoyed having access to practitioners' points of view.

par Lauran H

4 mai 2020

I think there is a glitch in your grading and peer review assignments pages. Grades won't come up when submissions are reviewed and neither are the submissions for us learners to review. This has been really frustrating for us throughout the weeks. Please have the Coursera team fix this. Thank you.

Overall good course.

You can also maybe have a clearer example on how to conduct the research design on your Assignment Instructions so that students can gauge how they are setting up their information.

Just a suggestion.

Thanks.

par Wilma M - P

22 sept. 2018

I find this course equally important with the rest of the specialization courses. Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft did a very practical, simple yet comprehensive way of teaching research, and I now clearly understand and appreciate the essence of research. The character and grit part of the course also enhanced my level of perseverance as Dr. Angela Duckworth did her very spontaneous and casual way of imparting her knowledge and her research findings in these subjects. Thank you to both of you!

par Elena K

10 janv. 2021

I really don't think that this is good idea to dedicade a whole course to analysis of statistic methods. All the information was interesting, but there were too much specific points. The home tasks were not very good explained, so I often didn't understand the task properly and during all course I was stressed, because I wasn't sure if I do everything correctly. And I also had difficulties with assessment of other participants - I wasn't really sure that they also did all right.

par Bob R

2 juil. 2017

This is the best course so far, thanks to interplay between Angela Duckworth (with her "applied" Grit stuff) and the other woman lecturer, whose content and presentation were crisp and clear.

Thank you for not forcing us to endure further Seligman Worship during this course. Dr Seligman praises himself enough to last a lifetime, and I have been getting discouraged by these UPenn courses which suck up to him even further.

par Eric L B

18 mars 2019

A good introduction to research methods. I would like to see even more of Dr. Duckworth's lectures --- she seems fantastic. I found the structure very good. The other students have a broad range of motivations for being here and self-grading is difficult for something so specific to research methods. I would like to here from an professional (event grad student) and not just a peer on these assignments especially.

par Ursula W

23 sept. 2020

I really liked the course on research and the quizzes in this course were much better then in previous course (which sometime give you really silly answers to choose from). We had to come up with an own hypothesis and continously work through out the course on it. I would have rather practices to read research properly - closed tasks. The feedback from participants is not always pushing you forward.

par Dana O

14 avr. 2021

The presentations are well done but a research course seems like it shouldn’t be in a foundations sequence. As someone taking the sequence for fun or personal growth, I would have preferred a course just on the concept of grit and character strength. Clearly some participants want to build research proposals but think they should have their own sequence for that purpose.

par Deleted A

18 févr. 2019

I really enjoyed Angela's in class videos, they made me feel a part of Penn State. I would also like to compliment Claire's way of explaining the course, she did so in a clear and enthusiastic manner. However, I did not give five stars because I felt there was a lot of massive texts to read. Personally, I found it hard to concentrate while reading a lot of information.

par Maria C H

7 juin 2020

I think the course is a very good one and the teachers are great.

However, I DID NOT WANT or NEEDED to take it. I only took it because its a must to complete the Positive Psychology Specialization.

I really think that students should have a choice to complete or not this course.

It was a real challenge for me to complete it. I must say that it was a GRIT CHALLENGE!

par Jianhua H

30 sept. 2017

This is a good course. However, it is a bit mixed by several different contents which sometime makes the major contents not very obvious and not sufficient for me. Also I managed to complete it eventually by reading, watching the video many times.

Probably it can be divided into two courses.

par Renee B

2 août 2017

Very, very informative. It was a tough module for me to get through as this is not my area of particular interest that had me sign up for the course. However, I appreciate the effort that was made to keep it engaging and informative. I learned a lot of valuable insights from this module.

par Natalia T

1 juil. 2020

I LOVED Angela Duckworth classes, she is a really good professor. Overall, I felt this course wasn't very useful to me because I already studied psychology and I now about research methods, but I can understand how other people might benefit from this.

par Linda E

21 déc. 2017

Really hard and kind of boring material presented in a really thorough way, as simple and relevant as possible for the lay researcher/research consumer. I learned alot even though I was not looking forward to this class in the 5-course specialization!

par Ankita O

2 févr. 2018

Since research is not my major area of interest, I was sort of not inclined for it. But, the content and understanding of this course is very basic and easy to understand. If you are interested in such a field, this is a good course for you.

par Karolina K

21 août 2019

This course focuses much more on research methods and is in fact a series of cuts from longer videos created for outside purposes. Having said this, it's still very good if you want to learn how to do your own research. Still recommended!

par Karen B

24 juil. 2017

This is one of the hardest courses I've taken through this program, but have to say I walked away with a solid understanding of research methods. I also enjoyed learning more about the concept of Grit and the research that informed it.

par Kathy P

7 déc. 2019

This was a much more academic course than the others in this series. It was challenging and enjoyable. The others have felt more like "self-help," but in this course, I had to stretch myself and learned a lot.

par Katherina C

9 sept. 2017

El curso es bueno, tiene buen material, pero a veces se hace un poco pesado porque incluye muchos textos que no son relevantes podrían ponerlos para posterior revision, se hace dificil seguir con el curso.

par Morgan M

3 mai 2019

This was a challenging course- there was not a lot of attendance when I went through so I had to wait and reestablish my deadlines twice to get the opportunity to review my peers and be graded by peers.

par Raja P

8 mai 2022

i felt empowered when i understood inferential statistics and could read the table filled with numbers. I believe i require one more revision to get more clarity on validity and a methods pros and cons

par Sue B

4 août 2017

I took this course to understand how to apply Positive Psychology. This course focuses heavily on creating research, which was not my goal. I did appreciate the module on how to UNDERSTAND research.

par Laya A

18 juin 2020

Went in expecting for the course to be heavier on the character/grit material so I was surprised how much more focused it was on research methods, but I am satisfied nonetheless!

par Печенкина А А

22 mai 2020

Overview of research methods was ease, but clear. Grit research was interesting. But it was a bit messed up because themes of psychology and research methods were mixed.

par Marlene S

5 févr. 2018

There were quite a few mistakes (even in titles) in the written content, such as spelling, grammar, etc. which makes learning less enjoyable.