Chevron Left
Retour à Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
2,842 évaluations
909 avis

À propos du cours

In today’s world, mental illness and distress are common and these account for a significant burden of disability within our community. At the same time, there is a growing interest in understanding and enhancing positive mental health and wellbeing; particularly from developments in the fields of positive psychology and mental health promotion. Positive Psychiatry is a new term (Jeste et al 2016) that describes a dual approach to mental health, where we build strengths, supports and healthy lifestyles as well as treating illness and distress. In this course, we will explore different aspects of good mental health as well as provide an overview of the major kinds of mental disorders, their causes, treatments and how to seek help and support. The course will feature a large number of Australian experts in psychiatry, psychology and mental health research, and we will also hear from “lived experience experts”, people who have lived with mental illness, and share their personal stories of recovery. We take an evidence-based approach to a range of strategies that anyone can use to enhance their own mental health and that of others, from exercise and relaxation techniques through to the role of love, relationships and 'good' types of work. We cover topics from creativity and yoga through to psychiatric medications and psychotherapies....

Meilleurs avis

SE

16 mai 2022

This course has given me great insight on mental health and how everything is related to it but it most importantly taught me how to be in control of my mental healh and maintain a positive psychiatry

CB

5 févr. 2019

I learned what expected to learn from this course. I love the presenters and the manner of delivery. Resources abound too. I'm purchasing this course. I hope to meet you, guys in persons. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

801 - 825 sur 920 Avis pour Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

par Eleni P

1 déc. 2019

The course of Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health provided by the University of Sydney is a helpful course for individuals who work in the medical profession and other allied medical professions but for scientific lay people as well. This course gives an insight on how an individual's well-being and mental health can be enhanced through various easy strategies that could be employed in our daily life. In addition, this course is enlightening regarding the various mental illnesses and how individuals who are clinically diagnosed with a mental disorder can become assisted by themselves or others towards their journey to recovery.

par Amparo C V

12 janv. 2021

El curso tiene muy buenos temas y recursos pero si me llamo la atención que en algunos temas solo abarcaban las teorías o documentos de hombres, ya sean, psicólogos o psiquiatras que ayudaron en el descubrimiento de, por ejemplo la teoría del apego, y no nombraron a mujeres psicólogas o psiquiatras que tomaron esa base y nos brindaron con otras herramientas como por ejemplo, Mary Ainsworth, la cual nunca fue nombrada pero si su trabajo. Me parece importante darle créditos y luz a su trabajo y sobre todo en cursos como estos. A pesar de eso me parece un curso interesante y enriquecedor tanto personal como profesionalmente.

par Alexander B

3 mars 2021

Good course all in all, though rather basic. Basically you could learn all the info presented in the course via Wikipedia but obviously course is more engaging and learned info has higher chance to stick. Also you get a value-based approach, which promotes rights of people with experience of mental distress.

There is a problem with design of peer-grade assignments. It works for the review process making much easier to grade others but confuses a lot of people in regards to entering info.

Some links to the course readings are outdated. I hope authors will update both design of peer-grade assignments and links.

par Lynn D

13 oct. 2020

Great course. Moved right along. The course supported material I have studied over the past year and gave an "Australian" perspective. I'm from Canada so it was refreshing to see what another Commonwealth country was doing vis a vis mental health. I was very impressed with the set of Australian resources featured and the ease of accessibility. It was great to have such a wide variety of academics and professionals participating. Go Tina! So impressed with Recovery Philosophy and how Tina presented it through her position of Peer Educator as well as through her personal story. Thank you, TIna.

par Cosmin F

13 févr. 2020

Good MOOC. The only reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that i would have liked tests on the knowledge for each week, instead of writing essayes and hopping to pass, based on other students. Although I passed all assignments (with 70%) and got 86.5% at the test (wish it was longer :D), again, I wanted more tests, it is the best way to asses your knowledge and learn from your mistakes. For example, one of the questions that I got right was thanks to a mistake I did when taking the in-video test. So, yes, tests are better than an essay.

Thanks again!

par William N

15 déc. 2021

The lecture content was great and I learned a lot. However, the course suffered from: repetitive points made by different instructors, reading lists that were not well thought-out (some outdated links and basic websites), and assessments that were poorly laid out (i.e. in the response fields there would be multiple places to put your answer and the instructions were confusing). If the course had better formatting for assessments and cut out some of the repetition I would give it 5 stars.

par KIM S

20 nov. 2019

I learned a lot about what the constructs are within positive psychology. I really enjoyed the guest speakers and the lectures about strengths and happiness. Admittedly the "my story" part of the course was my least favorite and I would have liked it if the assignments could be submitted as an essay and not in little blocks. I would have enjoyed it to have a more academic/research structure in the assignment section as opposed to personal review/take away.

par Gavin S

10 févr. 2021

I enjoyed this course, although the submission structure of the assessments was not well designed. I think that needs to be revisited. For instance, only one text field had rich text enabled. All the rest were plain text. The assessments themselves were very interesting and useful. I think reflective assessment are the most useful kind with MOOCs and I benefited from these greatly.

par Abhilash M S

11 juin 2018

As I am suffering from a little bit of depression from nearly one year, I ended up taking this course. Though its not the best Scientific Psychiatry based course but it provides large number of tools, techniques & basic understanding of whats happening around. Its a simple yet highly useful course for people who are hunting for some metal peace & everyday based human flourishing.

par Cecilia M

15 août 2020

I found this course very helpful. The reason why I am giving it five stars is because the transcriptions of the videos are full of mistakes. Also, the links to the self-assessments did not work (at least not during the weeks I was taking the MOOC, and I verified this with a couple of colleagues) and I found no way to contact anyone to bring up this issue).

par Eleana B

3 mai 2020

An overall useful course, well organized and presented. Broadens our knowledge and gives food for thought plus some key issues for further learning. My only disagreement is the grading system. It is nice to get involved into peer reviews BUT a professional/teacher should be the one to decide upon the correct review and the grading.

par Travis M

4 oct. 2020

Well-designed with lots of good information and references. My only criticism of the course is with regards to the almost total lack of interaction one has with other students. Even the peer-grading scheme is highly impersonal with little to no opportunities for connection or shared learning experiences.

par Diana M

4 juil. 2020

The course was challenging as I have very little knowledge of the subject and chose it to learn more. As a result, I learned a great deal through the online resources and video lectures. I would recommend the course to anyone interested in the subject of positive psychiatry and mental health.

par Cindy B

27 mai 2021

I enjoyed lots about this course, i found the assessing others work was not fair as i was not coming from an understanding of the categories. Woudl have been helpful to have been given and explanation of the expectations on how to assess the grades as sections seemed to over lap.

cindy

par Catline

3 avr. 2021

It'is a very nice course but the system of notation by the peer are not very good, and often they give random notation without reading and taking care of the comprehension which is sometimes difficult from a langage to another.

And we have no possibilities to contact someone for a help

par Andrea C

9 sept. 2020

I really didn't like the fact other students were marking my work as I feel I was not properly marked on my last assignment. I spoke about two different topics and was marked as I only had one topic. one marker said I didn't have two topics and I did, so it's a bit frustrating.

par Alex R

29 août 2020

Excellent quality video lectures and readings. Loved the content and found it very practical. I didn't like how some of the questionnaires during the video lectures marked incorrect responses as correct. The format of the page where you submit assignments is not very intuitive.

par Sarah A

20 oct. 2019

I found this course extremely beneficial and totally worth it. The way it was designed to cover all the essential parts in positive psychiatry was perfectly put.

I think it should be a compulsory to any manager or leader to take it and add it to their degrees and courses.

par Sheema S

1 mai 2018

Great foundational course for an overview of discourses in the field of Mental Health and the growing field of positive psychiatry. Course material and supplementary reading lists were very informative and easy to follow. Learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed it!

par Rachel B

3 août 2017

I thought this course was very helpful and contained some great info. The only issue I had was that I completed a few of the exercises like the questionnaires and they wouldn't come up as completed. However as I was still able to com

par Andres J

30 mai 2020

The course was amazing, it helps to someone who is having troubles in life. However, sometimes the course goes so deep in some topics, that for someone who is not professional in the subjects could be a bit difficult to understand.

par Kamlavathi M

23 sept. 2020

This course has been a great help to me in providing deep insight into Mental health and taught me about the ways to deal with mental health issues. The content is really informative and the resources provided are excellent!

par IOANNIS M

13 oct. 2019

this course taught me a lot about myself and how mental health is important for everyone. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to educate themselves around mental health, wellbeing and the art of Happiness

par Robert C

25 nov. 2020

An excellent course. Very well structured and expertly presented. Great essential and further reading lists. I would have given five stars, but felt the 'peer marking' element was not taken very seriously by some learners.

par Ryanna V

17 mars 2022

I really learned and enjoyed doing this course. Its imperative to deal with mental health. The course was 5 weeks of informative videos and assignments along with reading modules and quizzes. I recommend this course.