Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
1,166 évaluations
343 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

AA

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

Filtrer par :

301 - 325 sur 336 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

par Jackson H

Mar 18, 2018

This course is pretty good. I'm not a fan of peer reviewing, I'd rather have TA's do it, but I realize that is logistically impossible. Other than that the professor is pretty good and makes phil

par Pinkie

Mar 08, 2016

Before this course the topic of philosophy had never appealed to me, while from now on it turns out to be an interesting subject. A wonderful introduction to ancient philosophy of Greece !

par Patrícia R P

May 02, 2020

I am immensely grateful for shared knowledgeability. This course was an incredibly gratifying experience that serves as an introduction to the magnificent world of philosophy!

par Marie P

Mar 12, 2018

Ordered, Structural and a good set of information to cover in 4 weeks! The only thing I missed every now and then was enthusiasm, but furthermore an awesome course!

par Greg G

Aug 11, 2016

Dr. Meyer is a systematic and thorough presenter, and does an excellent job of making the material accessible, without oversimplifying.

par Tim B

May 02, 2016

Intuitive, clear and logical progression through important ideas in early Western thought, surprisingly fresh and relevant today.

par Ping Z

Sep 27, 2016

Very interesting and challenging. I need to spend a lot of time on the reading assignment, but I enjoyed the reading very much.

par Yingyi Z

Apr 22, 2019

Very straightforward course. The professor explains things well, and I found this a very good intro to ancient philosophy.

par Axel L

Aug 10, 2016

...excellent course for beginners but also for advanced - you will get always a new point of view.

par Humfrido

May 26, 2020

I loved it. I give four stars only because I think that presential courses are better.

par David M

Jun 05, 2016

A good introduction to Ancient Greek Philosophy, though not as in depth as it could be

par Sisawad

Dec 13, 2019

I think it was an enriching course. Though not many other students to engage with.

par Alina S

Jun 02, 2016

everything is fine but the music before each lecture is so loud and annoying

par Louise H

Jun 03, 2020

Maybe a little boring at the end but I very enjoyed the final task !

par Chatziiosifidis A

Sep 16, 2017

Very interesting , well designed and presented, introductory course

par Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

par Francisco L

Jun 26, 2019

Very interesting but some parts too solid.

Many Thanks.

par Vimal K

Jul 20, 2020

Loved the way Dr Susan's way of explaining.

par Leonidas T

Mar 11, 2016

Very interesting and well structure course.

par Warren C

Apr 18, 2019

Good background for further exploration.

par Almis P S

Jun 14, 2016

Interesting material well presented.

par Josef P

Mar 10, 2016

Clear and insightful explanation.

par Morgan g

Apr 17, 2020

quick

par Nada N

Aug 08, 2020

Good

par Clare H

Jan 13, 2018

This course covers a lot of very interesting material and is presented in a calm, clear, organized manner. I thought the selected materials were well-chosen and presented in a way that captured the most important ideas of the philosophers discussed. I would not recommend this course to anyone with any formal background in philosophy, as the pace is somewhat slow, and the course spends a lot of time covering some basics of philosophy. (This may be an unfair critique, since I covered this material in college. I was drawn to this course as a refresher, but also hoping to learn something new or gain a new perspective on material I had already read. Rather, this is very much an introductory survey.) As a technical issue, I did not like the "pop quizzes" interspersed into the videos. These were annoying, breaking up the flow of the lecture merely to reiterate basic points. These interruptions added no value. I also disliked the introduction to each video: while it was well-produced, it was repetitive. The into music should be only on the first video, or, at most, on the first video of every section. Not each and every video. It may seem like a little thing, but each video is short, which means you're listening to the same musical into every 5 minutes or so. This is maddening. I skipped over it, but I'd prefer if the videos were edited in a way that acknowledges that people will likely be "binge watching" these, and formatted to flow one into the other seamlessly.