Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
1,320 évaluations
399 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

AA
18 avr. 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD
16 janv. 2021

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 394 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

par Abdulaziz S B

13 déc. 2019

Excellent

par Charlotta S R

10 juin 2016

Loved it!

par Achilleas F

3 juin 2020

Amazing

par Muna A

23 avr. 2019

Thanks

par Ramiro V

24 août 2018

Great!

par Lydia S

24 févr. 2017

Great.

par Yuval S

22 oct. 2016

Great.

par Samir M

3 août 2016

Great!

par ehab a o

3 janv. 2019

great

par 许俊炜

29 juil. 2016

好课!爽!

par Sergio A C

19 nov. 2016

good

par 魏震

7 juin 2016

Neat

par 張子文

18 févr. 2016

D.T.

par Carol-Lynn L

12 avr. 2021

I think the course is terrific, I've learned a lot...but to do this with any hope of remembering the content or moving on with a sense of ease there should be more time involved. This should be 6-8 weeks not 4 weeks. There should be a lot of Qs&As attached to the readings once one has enjoyed the lectures.

The Prof is great and her lectures are both engrossing and informative, Just need more time and work on the various pieces.

Much appreciated

You know, my one difficulty was that I didn't find the actual assignment, what they call the "prompt'' until after I had written and submitted the paper...I wrote it based on the instructions in the "guide" piece and I know I could have done a lot better, because I wrote on only one of the topics requested. And I never did see that until I was grading other students...I think the assignments should always be clear from the start of the course, but surely should not be so hidden that you can't find them. But I think that's coursas problem, not hers.

Anyway, bright prof, brings the subject down to a level undergrads should be able to get and made it really enjoyable!

par Benjamin J

7 sept. 2020

Loved the lectures and the content. Personally I found some of the readings to be too long in one sitting without some guidance. I found myself struggling through long sections, not really understanding until I heard the lecture. Rather than two long readings then 4 or 5 videos in a row, I think it would be more effective to have a shorter reading, then the relevant lecture, then another reading etc. One other issue was the instructions for the assignment initially were quite vague. I read the prompt and then began. It only said to write a letter talking about 2 aspects of the Republic. Only when I finished and went to submit did I go to page two which specified that the two points had to be Plato's view of Justice in a person and why it is always better to be just. As a result, I had to go back and redo the assignment. Other than those two things, loved the course.

par Harry M

24 juil. 2020

Well organized and I really enjoyed this course; I took both this course and the follow up course on Aristotle. Both were excellent. However, for some unexplained reason, I thought the professor's course on Aristotle was more interesting (hence I cage it five stars) while I thought that this course was slightly confusing in terms of the quizzes and prompts. Having said that, this course is definitely worth your time and effort. My approach was to read the lecture first while taking notes and then listen to the lecture and fill in the blanks. The readings make much more sense AFTER reading/listening to the lecture than before. Just my take on how I 'studied' for the quizzes, etc. Enjoy, it's worth the effort.

par Joe G

7 juin 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learned so much from it. However the professor's monotone voice is reminiscent of too many professors I have had over the years that put me to sleep. I found it difficult to pay attention at times because of this even though I was very interested in the subject matter. She seems very knowledgeable about the subject, so perhaps taking a public speaking course would prove beneficial. Other than that I loved the course and am excited to take part two starting in a few days!

par Wajahat R B

15 nov. 2019

The biggest strength of this course is that it makes one read the ancient texts, thus giving a direct exposure to the ideas of some great thinkers. Alongside, it also gives some idea of Greek history and culture. I think the difficulty level should have been a bit higher. The quizzes are way too simple to assess the interest of the student. Dr. Meyer teaches in a simple and easy-to-understand manner. I'll certainly take the second course in this series. An amazing experience overall!

par Ralph L

15 août 2020

I touch this course because it is outside my comfort zone and throughout I felt challenged. So I feel really good that I was able to complete the course successfully. It opened my eyes to how close these ancient philosophers were compared today's latest theories in physics regarding the reality of the universe.

Well worth it.

par Tamer D

5 mai 2019

I like the course. I thank the professor for simplifying abstract concepts to students with no special knowledge in philosophy like myself. It would have been great if there were slides associated with the course. I hope there would be more courses discussing more recent philosophers like Nietzsche and Kant.

par Thomas H

26 nov. 2016

The course was good and informative. I did find it somewhat simple and not very challenging (until the final project), but with going to work and with a busy schedule it was perfect and left little excuse for not completing it. Thank you for providing a free opportunity to learn.

par Kurt S

13 févr. 2017

Liked it a lot: pretty straight forward, nice introduction, although I missed a bit of a timeline (or figure of a timeline - I actually had this image from wikipedia always available:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pre-Socratic_philosophy#/media/File:Presocratic_graph.svg)

par Jay L

17 mars 2016

I enjoyed every aspect of this course except Timaeus. Not being mathematically inclined I felt all of the discussion of triangles and what this was supposed to have shown was a waste of time. Better to tell us what he is trying to say, show a few examples, and move on.

par antonio S

20 juil. 2016

very knowledgeable professor. only recommendation for the course is to make single quizzes not two per week. either way you can do them at your own pace. It is an introduction course, but very well presented and it goes through many important texts