Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.7
étoiles
874 évaluations
227 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 219 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

par John D

Mar 11, 2016

The best Coursera course I've taken thus far. Dr. Meyer is an excellent lecturer and the reading selections are excellent.

par Robert C C

Apr 01, 2019

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

par David O

Mar 16, 2016

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

par Sylvia H K

Jun 20, 2016

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

par Astra A K

Jun 20, 2016

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

par Lisa ( C

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

par Patrick K

Jun 09, 2017

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

par Diane N

Mar 06, 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

par Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

par Benson H

Aug 03, 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

par Andrea V

Dec 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

par Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

par Jose A G R

Sep 16, 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

par Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

par Oscar I D C

Jan 18, 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

par Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

par George C M

Mar 24, 2016

Well structured course that gives an excellent background to the basis of ancient philosophy.

par Charles E M

May 08, 2018

The Professor is quite interesting and this is the second course I have taken under her lead

par Cees O

Dec 06, 2019

I was impressed by the quality of the teachings and especially the instructor: excellent!!

par Dimitris P

Sep 01, 2016

An excellent introductory course to Plato. Gave me great insights to his works. Thank you!

par Juan L P B

Feb 24, 2019

Aprendí mucho con éste curso recomendable para quien se interese por la filosofía.

par Sergey A

May 13, 2018

Short but well thought and coincide class for Plato and presocratics philosophy.

par Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent. Clear and accessible explanation of the Plato's forms and shadows.

par Rense L

Mar 30, 2016

Excellent professor, good presentation. Some quizzes are too short, really ...

par mansurni a

Mar 16, 2016

awesome course

from this course i understand deeper about philosophy of greece