Chevron Left
Retour à Photovoltaic solar energy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Photovoltaic solar energy par École polytechnique

4.3
étoiles
318 évaluations
86 avis

À propos du cours

The course is an introduction to the photovoltaic (PV) applications in the general mix energetic context dominated by climate warming mitigation. The various uses of solar energy are firstly presented before a short description of the principle of the direct solar photon conversion into electricity (PV). The various PV technologies are reviewed in the current context dominated by crystalline silicon cells. The perspectives of the various technologies are then analysed in terms of R&D investments. From a more scientific point of view the basis of the solar cell operation is presented from the solar spectrum characteristics. The fundamentals of PV conversion are summarized. In particular the various sources of the conversion efficiency limitations are reviewed. The solar PV systems, from cells to grids, are also addressed, with a particular emphasis on the challenges of grid-integration of PV and the development of storage technologies. The environmental and social impacts of PV are compared to the competing energy sources. Generally PV is at advantage as referred to other fossil or renewable sources. Finally the fast evolution of economics and financing of PV is presented together with the current key players, mostly Asian companies....

Meilleurs avis

YZ

Apr 18, 2020

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge .\n\nalso a lot of details on how the technology works.\n\nI am glad that i completed the course

RS

Sep 16, 2019

I am glad that i completed the course even i am busy and i summed up some knowledge on Photovoltaic and its development and importance in future.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 85 Avis pour Photovoltaic solar energy

par Débora J G

Mar 04, 2019

The quizzes does not correspond to what is enphasized in the videos, so one can not know what to pay attention for and may be forced to retake a test. In addition, the tests have errors when not telling how many decimal cases we should use, something that could be easily corrected.

The teacher seems like reading notes all the time, since sometimes he looks like not knowing when it's the end of the sentence, what made me lost several times. The legends to the videos does not correspond to what he's saying. The transitions between slides that have important information are also too sudden. We have to make a great effort to understand and pay attention to what's important, with stopping the videos or coming back several times.

par Mohammad R

Mar 10, 2018

Hard to understand the pronunciation. I suggest this course for English speaker.

par Greg E

Mar 01, 2019

good info. bad quizzes

par Rabdeau B

Jun 19, 2019

A MOOC that is really technical and scientifical and that gives a lot of notions about solar energy and renewables energies in general. Every topic is covered as far as I am concerned. The courses are brief and interesting. The graphs are clear and detailed. The worked problems are really important in order to better understand the formulas and solve problems. The quiz are also interesting but they are quite frustrating because of the lack of flexibility in the answers possible and the lack of detailed instructions (units, errors, significative numbers, etc.). A huge thanks to the comments in the forum that allowed me to overcome these problems.

I learned a lot during this MOOC and I hope you will do as well.

par Nehal B

Mar 14, 2020

I am feeling very happy while reviewing this course as its give me the deep understanding of photovoltaic technologies and solution with detail.The impressing is he technical quizzes that you can solve and grasp the maximum knowledge. both the processors are very good they have very good command in delivering precise lectures. Thank you very much for the very interesting and informative course.

par JACQUET ­ G

Apr 04, 2018

Hi

I am a founder of a solar boat club in the French Riviera.

www.seazen.fr

I was looking for information regarding the environment impact of the PV installation and production. I found it. Thank you for the quality of your documentation.

par Inna O Y

Mar 03, 2019

I find this course as inroducting, for one to receive genera lknoveledge about PV splar panels. For me the 3rd week of the course as most informative. Also some information is already old and refreshing.

par Jaykumar T

Sep 09, 2019

Learned a lot of things in this course. Thank You

par Aniket R

Jun 01, 2020

It was a Nice Course . Earn lot of knowledge

par Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent theoretical information!

par Shrihari J

Apr 04, 2019

good course

par Vibushan A

Apr 07, 2020

First and Foremost, I genuinely feel more attention should have been given to the translation part and editing especially since this course is going to be taken worldwide by various students. This a platform for students to learn and acquire knowledge and not to research every question in the quiz and videos. On the contrary, the course was very informative although it has some mishaps. Overall, a Good course. Thanks!

par Ghazi K

Jan 17, 2020

though to follow and to ansewer the quiz of week 1,

par Rhys C D

May 10, 2020

This is a brilliant primer for anyone interested in the field of PV or renewable energy. It's 20 years since I graduated and I have been considering various options to do a masters in PV. I wanted to take this course as a stepping stone to see if I really had the appetite (and ability) to commit to learning again. It turns out I do. I'll probably move on to do the more detailed PV course available from the same team on Coursera.

Congrats to Prof Drevillon and Erik Johnson on the structure of the course. I have to admit too that it's rewarding to feel you're learning from such distinguished individuals at such a prestigious institution. tldr: this course is highly recommended.

par Krisztian T

Aug 21, 2019

A very comprehensive academic course covering the essential theory of the currently available Solar Photovoltaic Technology. It is more of an applied physics, rather than a practical hands-on course; although I very much enjoyed it.

par Rakesh R

Jan 19, 2020

Its a really good course. Some of the subtitles are misplaced and so in those places, it was difficult to follow the professor, because he spoke English with a French accent, I suppose. But overall, it was a really good course.

par Younsi Z

Apr 18, 2020

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge .

also a lot of details on how the technology works.

I am glad that i completed the course

par Xavier D

Oct 08, 2019

Great class ! Gave a high level about the photovoltaic but also a lot of details and calculation on how the technology works ! Highly recommend !

par Ramesh S

Sep 16, 2019

I am glad that i completed the course even i am busy and i summed up some knowledge on Photovoltaic and its development and importance in future.

par Nayeem A S

May 18, 2020

I have found it as one of the best course. Especially the module quizzes are well enough for designing PV System. Thanks to the course teachers.

par MUHAMMAD F K

Dec 10, 2019

its a great course, although pronunciation of lecture is not really good but subtitles can cater this problem.

par Muhammad A Z

Dec 10, 2019

The course was very good overall..One set back was hard to understand accent of the Professor Bernard

par Sebastián M G

Jun 25, 2020

Very interesting how the dress all topics related to renewable photovoltaic energy

par suresh k

Jun 02, 2020

This course is very useful for review of pv conversion technologies.

par C D

May 15, 2020

This course is useful for my education as well as career