Chevron Left
Retour à Philosophy of Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Philosophy of Science par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.7
étoiles
164 évaluations
64 avis

À propos du cours

For the last four centuries, scientists have aimed to provide us with an understanding of the world around us. By all appearances, science has made substantial progress during this time. But is this progress real or illusory? And if it is real, how has this progress been made? This four-week course will consider these important questions. Specific topics will include how scientists generate knowledge through observations, experiments, and simulations; scientific objectivity and failures of scientific objectivity; the self-correcting nature of the scientific community; the positive and negative influences that values can have on science; the relationship between science and religion; and the role of the public in guiding the scientific enterprise....

Meilleurs avis

SB

19 févr. 2020

Interesting information, well presented. The course gave me new ways of looking at scientific studies and research that will, I believe, make me a more sophisticated consumer of science reporting.

JS

26 févr. 2020

This course opened me up to all sorts of perspectives and ideas that I never thought about. I was unaware of the field of the philosophy of science. I really appreciated the exposure!

Filtrer par :

51 - 65 sur 65 Avis pour Philosophy of Science

par Edgar H C L

12 sept. 2020

Excellent

par Harris C

29 févr. 2020

Well structured course, Prof. Weisberg's videos were clear, articulate, Vanessa of the teaching staff was very supportive, encouraging, and engaged in participants' comments. I wish there could have been some opportunity to contrast other lines of inquiry about the world in which we live, broadly speaking "the arts," which I think could help us better understand the inquiry about the "the sciences." To carry this a bit further, the legal system has elements of the scientific inquiry (e.g., "peer review" via jury, rules of evidence, cross examination) yet it isn't, and perhaps shouldn't be "scientific. And what are the structure and rules of inquiry in a subject such as history that allow "truth" to be discovered? I present these points also to indicate that this course got me thinking.

par Lauri E

20 juil. 2020

The course was very well done: the lectures were coherent, concise, and well articulated, the readings were interesting but easy to grasp. Perhaps the quizzes were a bit too easy, and in a weird way detailed, asking about very small specifics at times. Naturally, a course like this can only scratch the surface of the topic, but at least I feel I myself got some new tools to dig deeper into the world of philosophy of science.

par Nicholas J

14 juin 2021

Four and one-half stars. The course work was simple and well presented, as were the lectures. One of the exams included duplicate answers and another had a grammatical error, but it was easy enough to figure out the answers. I really appreciated the assignment, finding it both challenging and accessible. Thanks to The University of Pennsylvania for putting out this program!

par Paul T

1 mars 2020

I found the material of the course very interesting as I have a background in physics and astronomy. The discussion on bias and methods for reducing it was well done.

I did have difficulty navigating the course material at times. It did not feel very intuitive to me, but I caught on after a while.

Thanks you for an over-all good experience.

par Arun V

26 févr. 2021

This was a very brief overview of a few key concepts in the philosophy of science. However, the course doesn't go into any significant detail at all. It has nonetheless whetted my appetite for further reading on the topic, to which there is no substitute in philosophy.

par Sophie A

16 mai 2020

Great for scientist who are new to philosophy. The lecturer is fantastic, he's very inspiring and successfully inspires you to read and learn more about philosophy. Be prepared to begin questioning everything you hold as true.

par Broney J

11 juil. 2020

Gives clear insight into "What science is... and how it is done by scientists", if you have a tendency to criticize the scientific methods, I would recommend this course.

par Masoud H A

17 nov. 2020

Enjoyed doing the course and certainly have learned a few principles related to the Philosophy of Science.

par James W M

21 févr. 2020

Very intellectually stimulating considering the relatively few hours involved.

Tough quizes!

par Victoria F

20 oct. 2020

a good course for undergrad students, well put together and entertaining.

par Rohit P J

22 juin 2021

c​ourse was great. but the certificate has a cropped signature. so only 3 stars.

par Saeed E

12 mai 2021

The course did not go deep enough

par Anderson M W

16 juil. 2021

I​t would be nice if the instructor hadn't used so many sublty politically motivated examples. Perhaps he is so biased that he doesn't even see the problem. I'm alienated. It's a pity because this should be a course that teaches one to be objective, something that the instructor clearly isn't. How he clinged to the chair of a department of an Ivy League university is an example of how our universities have long ago abandoned the pursuit of truth.

par saritha p

24 sept. 2021

n​o video