Chevron Left
Retour à Writing a Personal Essay

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing a Personal Essay par Université Wesleyenne

4.5
étoiles
60 évaluations
25 avis

À propos du cours

This class is the chance to create your personal essay or extend into a full memoir -- from planning and structure to bold narrative brushstrokes to the layering of significant detail. You will develop the opportunity to find your voice and see it come alive, amplified and improved, on the page. This is the chance to tell your story in a way that invites readers in; your story, written to be read. The memoir and personal essay are two of the best-selling and most universally acclaimed genres in the world of modern creative writing. Welcome to your story....

Meilleurs avis

AA
5 nov. 2019

Amy Bloom has a wealth of information to share and she leads the learner through complex ideas with ease.

LD
18 nov. 2020

Wow! This is truly helpful and insightful! I wanna write my own personal essay pretty soon.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 25 Avis pour Writing a Personal Essay

par Liliane M

6 juil. 2019

I am giving five stars to Amy Bloom, whom I also know from the 'Creative Writing Specialisation'. Amy Bloom is a wonderful instructor. Her passion is catching. Amy Blooms personality and forthcoming ways, makes you as a student, believe that you can do this. That is so wonderful.

To Coursera I cannot award anymore than one star and that is just for being here. Since the introduction of the 'Finish at your own pace' concept, it has destroyed any sense of being part of a community. The grading and peer review systems are not working as they should. The new concept, I am sure, works perfectly well in factbased courses, where two plus two, can only be four. But not in liberal arts.

In liberal arts, I see the writing of assignments and the giving and receiving of peer reviews, as a very important and integral part of the course, however, with the 'Finish at your own pace', it has been decapitated.

I have been informed by an employee not to expect this to change. Well in that case and once I have finished this course, I will change to another platform.

par Mark G W

18 févr. 2019

Amy is great. I learnt a lot from her. I loved the course. The reason for the four stars is that I had to wait a long time for others to catch-up so I could finish the course. I find this extremely irritating.

par Travis W C

21 sept. 2019

This course is a great way to continue building writing skills.

par Rabia A

31 août 2020

The two stars are for the quality of the instruction. For each of the four parts of this course. The rest of it is truly reprehensible. The focus seems to be on getting people to sign up and pay up. Obviously, for the price one can't expect any feedback from the instructors but peer feedback is a disaster. Most of the people I've had to review or who have reviewed my submissions have enormous difficulty with the English language. Some of them can't write a straight sentence in English. On the site we are asked to make allowances for the fact that English may not be the first language of the students. But this is a writing course—writing in English. People who cannot write in English should not be enrolled in this course. But Coursera seems to care only about taking in the fees. I'm surprised that the instructors—all of them successful, critically acclaimed writers and poets—should sign on to a project where bringing in the money (enrolling people in the thousands) seems to be the priority.

par Dave S

1 mai 2020

The teacher is tedious, and just loves the sound of her own voice. Unlike other coursera courses (even within this specialization) we're not given prompts. Also, the teacher doesn't use the white screen every single teacher uses for the read parts of the lessons. Lastly, the assignments 2 and 4 have nothing to do with that week's lesson and feels random. By far, the worst of the courses in this specialization.

par Jennifer L

15 févr. 2021

This was excellent. Amy Bloom is an inspiring teacher, reaching right into my living room with her clear delivery and that lovely conspiratorial smile that makes me feel a special student. I am a writer by trade but have never tackled memoir. This came to me by chance (fate?) at just the right time in the year my 98-year-old father died and I was catapulted into family ties and family memories by being an executor for his estate. This course enabled me to step to one side a bit as different memories slid in in response to assignment questions and I was able to look at them 'professionally' as I prepared and wrote and revised. I have also been privileged to read and comment on others' wonderful assignments and receive helpful comments on mine from fellow students. Thank you Amy and Wesleyan.

par John E P

13 nov. 2019

Thank you Amy for all this great advice. I enjoyed all the videos but there was one that really helped me to get out of a rut and that was "Begin in the Middle". I started revising my book right away. A Little Distance was also notable. Five Nouns and Open the Window. I will be reading your words of wisdom over and over again. Unfortunately I had to rush through the Specialization because we're leaving to go on vacation. I managed to score what I could and submitted my assignments even though I knew they could be improved. I am so glad I managed to listen to all the videos in all four courses and I have downloaded the so that I can refer to them whenever I need more inspiration. Thanks again Amy.

par Diane Z

29 avr. 2020

Amy Bloom is a wonderful teacher. I love her style, her intelligence, her weaving in examples from various writers of the lessons she wants to teach, and her concrete and useful suggestions of what to be thinking about when sitting down to write a personal essay. Also appreciated and learned from the interviews she had with a number of writers. Very happy with the course.

par Margaret L B

31 janv. 2021

Amy Bloom offers her insights with a calm, compassionate grace. She is easy to listen to, and she does a remarkable of job of interviewing her guests. This course taught me to be a less afraid to share about myself, and allowed me to explore that what I have to say may indeed be relatable to others.

par Julie H

3 nov. 2020

This course was excellent. I loved the videos from each tutor. These videos helped to make the writing process easier for me, as it was apparent that each of them had been there and knew what was involved in shaping and honing a piece of text. The lady tutors were especially engaging. Thank you!

par B E

22 févr. 2021

I have taken several of Amy Bloom's courses. I find her an enthralling instructor who helps put you on point easily. This class was excellent and full of great information. The assignments were straight forward and comprehensible. Highly recommend this class.

par Alicia W

5 août 2020

Amy Bloom is an awesome lecturer. She knows her craft well and cites the most awesome examples from published and known works. And I love how she invites other writers to the lectures! I learnt so much and so many writing techniques in this one course alone.

par Sophie F

8 juil. 2020

I loved all of the prompts that we were given in this class, and I loved the length limitations or the things we were told to add to our work, including sounds and actions, two things my work often lacks. The instructions made me a stronger writer.

par ANSARI S A

6 nov. 2019

Amy Bloom has a wealth of information to share and she leads the learner through complex ideas with ease.

par Lorelyn D

19 nov. 2020

Wow! This is truly helpful and insightful! I wanna write my own personal essay pretty soon.

par Ann R

27 août 2020

The course lecturer was incredible. I was so interested and engaged in the assignments.

par Susan B

19 sept. 2020

Fantastic course, really loved it! Such intelligent, interesting teachers.

par Mare

5 juin 2020

Instructor has a lot of knowledge. Enjoyed course

par Shruti P

10 mai 2020

Very engaging course. I learnt a lot.

par Sarah A

10 juil. 2020

Fun and educational class!

par G. A W

20 nov. 2020

Really good course!

par Erica S

13 mai 2020

I loved this course

par mariusgreb

2 févr. 2021

It was fun!

par Rosslyn D

23 juin 2020

The quality of the transcripts is abysmal; every transcript is scattered with errors, including many which alter the fundamental meaning of the sentence. (Don't they proofread??!!) Despite the poor quality, I was motivated to write and I learned something so all is not lost. However, for a paid course, I expect better. It should also be made clear that the only reviews a learner will receive are peer reviews - there is absolutely no tutor/learner interaction. There is also a major issue with having to complete 3 peer reviews when the learner is told repeatedly that there are no reviews available! Very frustrating. Finally, although I enjoyed this course and learned something, Coursera needs to be aware that there are many other excellent sources of online learning and if they want to maintain their reputation (or improve it!) they need to up their game and improve the content quality and accuracy. I did complain about the transcript errors and was told someone would reply to me in 24 hours. That was a month ago so I'm not optimistic that anyone even read the complaint let alone dealt with it.

par Debra A

7 oct. 2020

The taped lectures are fairly good, but otherwise not having any contact with the instructor or even any TAs is not what I wanted out of this class. All I receive from written assignments is a couple of peer reviews. I would like to withdraw from this class and take another class where I can have interaction with, and be graded by, an instructor.