Chevron Left
Retour à Particle Physics: an Introduction

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Particle Physics: an Introduction par Université de Genève

4.4
étoiles
814 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Meilleurs avis

VL

26 mars 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.

Thank you for the great course!

MK

4 août 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 240 Avis pour Particle Physics: an Introduction

par Chris B

25 mars 2020

Really good course.

par Cao S S

23 sept. 2017

Excellent course!

par Dr.S S

21 juin 2021

Excellent Course

par Dr. S K J

11 mai 2020

Excellent course

par hassan a

5 déc. 2017

Very Good Course

par Raphael G C

30 janv. 2022

Awesome course!

par Arko P S

28 juin 2020

Great Course

par Ryan C

5 oct. 2020

Amazing!!!

par Manuel H R

29 juil. 2020

Very good.

par Hrishit M

23 sept. 2021

Excellent

par natchimuthu V

22 sept. 2020

thank you

par Sunday O C

5 juil. 2020

Very Good

par Soumil G S

20 juin 2020

Excellent

par Vikram M

4 mai 2020

Thank You

par SAHIL A M

24 sept. 2021

Great

par SaIkat D

24 sept. 2021

Great

par 2K19/EP/103 V G

5 mai 2022

good

par ROHIT N

13 avr. 2018

Best

par Tanmay G

28 juin 2020

nil

par M. A l g

25 avr. 2022

-

par Jean S

5 mars 2019

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

par Lane W

25 août 2020

NOT AND INTRODUCTION

I feel badly giving this course anything less than four stars because the instructors put a lot of time into making it and I am VERY thankful that they offered the course for free to the world. I think it is a very noble thing.

There was value in the course for me for the first 2 or 3 modules but after that I hardly learned anything except some conceptual points about the Higgs Boson and Dark Matter because it was WAY above an entry level course. To get the most of the course you'd probably need to have either been exposed to it before or have a degree in it.

I am very thankful that they put it together though.

par Tyler C

18 juil. 2017

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

par Jana A

12 août 2020

Very interesting course, but not for beginners. The information provided in the videos presupposed some knowledge in this field, which I unfortunately did not have. To understand the topics, I had to look for other sources. I would also welcome a terminological glossary explaining frequently used terms. A big problem for me was the English pronunciation of one lecturer. Otherwise, I rate this course very well. A number of things that interested me were clarified and I think it could be a good basis for further study.

par Samy S

17 sept. 2017

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing