Chevron Left
Retour à Parallel Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Parallel Programming in Java par Université de Rice

4.6
636 notes
129 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 128 Examens pour Parallel Programming in Java

par vini g

Apr 06, 2019

Would like more assignments and examples.

par Alban D

Apr 15, 2019

Very interesting content: it is definitely useful to get into that topic. Mini projects are sometimes a bit light: what has to be done is so simple that it can be frustrating... or misleading (I would expect to have more than a single line to change sometimes).

par Donghe X

Mar 17, 2019

Thanks for the course materials! I'm getting a lot of new knowledges from the course for cs fundamentals. I'd like to suggest to have more concrete examples to explain many concepts like SPAN, signal and put, etc.

par Rhijul M

Dec 23, 2018

Although this was a very excellent course to understand various API's and methods that are exposed by Java SDK's (RecursiveTasks, Fork/Join Framework etc) and touched on very important multi-core parallelism aspects, I was left wanting for more fundamental explanations regarding how parallelism works under the hood (How the thread works, how the signalling between barrier synchronisation happens etc). Thanks, none the less. Looking forward to next course.

par Wei H

Jul 14, 2018

the lecturer should wear black shirt to make the video more readable.

par Sebastiaan V

Sep 24, 2018

The information found in this course is great. The first and second mini projects were of average difficulty, but the third and fourth mini projects were too trivial.

par Diogene N

Oct 24, 2018

This course is a very nice introduction to parallel programming in Java. It highlights the key libraries to explores for production use. On thing I didn't like is that the programming assignments are a copy paste of the demonstration videos in the course. All in all I enjoyed taking this course!

par Valdas Z

Nov 07, 2017

Very useful course about parallel programming theory and practice.

Could be less examples with custom libraries instead of standard java features looking to practical usage at work.

par Mike D

Nov 06, 2017

This course has a good combination of clear lectures, helpful textual summaries, reasonable/helpful quizes, and decent weekly projects. If anything, I wish that the projects were a little more challenging. The first three were fairly easy and I wish that we had been required to implement them from scratch rather than having the starting version which required only minor modifications. The last project assignment was a little tricky because the lectures didn't cover all the details of phasers in sufficient detail, so studying additional documentation was required. Overall, I learned a lot and it was time well spent.

par Alexander S

Nov 12, 2017

Good course but very easy assignments

par Johannes D

Sep 29, 2017

Good course that gave you a good overview. The code assignments code have been a little more advanced.

par Arun N

Sep 17, 2017

Simple delivery, very manageable work load, and still something tangible to take away from the course.

par Shady I

Sep 03, 2017

The courses covers broadly the new synchronization primitives in Java8. It is very clear and demonstrative. It is very shallow though.

par Syed A u R

Nov 05, 2017

Having come from Python world, i have learned valuable concepts in parallel programming and related Java APIs, surely the APIs are much more elegant and powerful in Java. i was disappointed by Week's 3 and 4's assignment task, they were too easy, nevertheless learned a great lot of information. Excellent course for someone who is looking to get into parallel programming!

par Antonio J M G

May 04, 2018

Great content, thank you very much for putting this together. I have enjoyed reviewing the fundamentals and learn more about the Phaser's API. My only suggestion will be to add more exercises, even if they are optional, so people can practice more the concepts introduced.

par Anton O

Dec 17, 2017

Good course. I've expected less theory and more practice, but all in all I'm happy with the course. Block about parallel streams was the most useful for me. On the other hand part about array multiplication was quiet useless from practical point of view.

par Fu S W

Aug 14, 2017

it'll be perfect if mini projects can deeper test what we've learned in the class.

par Marcin K

Nov 23, 2017

More details on concurrency would be a huge benefit to course and students (even as optional material)

par Krishna A

Apr 04, 2018

Learnt a lot about parallel programming and the facilities offered in Java for the same. The best part is the videos are short and nice. However, I'm echoing some of the common sentiment, that the assignments (barring assignment 2) are too trivial, and sometimes are not clear what to do. They can be surely improved, so that students can deepen their understanding.

par Cong X

Oct 16, 2017

Overall informative but way too easy on the projects...

par Mehmet A B

Jan 28, 2018

Instructor is awesome. However instead of sharing ready libraries for parallelism (like forall loop) in section 3, native codes should be used for forall loops etc.

par Mitrofanov P

Nov 12, 2017

Tasks are too simple. All the information isn't covered in depth, so consider this course as a sort of introduction to the theory of parallel programming as well as many important Java language features. It gives you a basic idea and points you to the right direction in case you're interested in this complex topic.

par Thatiana F d O

Sep 05, 2017

A great course, but I think it would be even better if only the structures from Java 8 were used, and not the functons build by the Rice University.

par Prasanth R

Feb 10, 2018

The homework was too simple, could use better examples.

par Krishna K

Jun 19, 2018

Excellent Course.I always wanted a good course on java concurrency and parallel programming.And finish->async, isolated, forAsync constructs are awesome.I have learnt much from this course.