Chevron Left
Retour à Parallel Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Parallel Programming in Java par Université de Rice

4.6
étoiles
929 évaluations
194 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 193 Avis pour Parallel Programming in Java

par Leonid S

Sep 07, 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

par Lee G

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

par Srikar V

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.

Kudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

par Brij R K

Jul 20, 2020

I have never known these things existed and changed my perspective how to take advantage of multiple processor. I have used numpy in python but now I know how these are fast.

par Samujjal B

Sep 02, 2020

I like the course very much. I am a working software engineer and I believe it will be helpful in my work. Prof Vivek is so clear in explanation and pretty to the point.

par Samarjit P

May 17, 2020

I found this course very useful. I can see the utilisation of parallel computing in many fields of software development industry. So it's really useful for developers.

par Rishabh A

Dec 27, 2017

Very relevant concepts, explained beautifully by a very experienced professor. The assignments were good, but they could involve more programming for more practice!

par Robi F

Oct 14, 2020

great course over here it has been great interacting with a simplified course where every complex thing has been narrowed down to easily understandable concepts

par A M

May 31, 2020

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Parallel Programming in Java course!

par Qian L

Jan 24, 2018

The combination of quiz and programming assignment helps understanding the course in a quite nice way. I will finish up the other two courses for sure.

par tarun n

Dec 21, 2018

The concepts like thinking about work,span,cp.amhdals law very very helpful. Although i believe there should be more examples wit code as in quiz.

par Hang Z

Mar 04, 2020

This course is great. The only problem is that the course is a little bit too easy and the minProject should cover more materials in class.

par John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

par Serikzhan K

Jul 20, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

par frishta

Oct 10, 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

par Narayanan M

Jul 29, 2020

Very nice presentation and step by step instruction touching core fundamentals of parallel programming. classroom quality videos.

par Matthew

Oct 23, 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

par B. M

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent course! Easily digestible and very fascinating topic. Dr. Sarkar knows his stuff and knows how to teach it!

par Yash G

May 25, 2020

Excellent Course, applying principles in real life programming gives a boost to confidence.Changed way of thinking

par Suresh T

Sep 12, 2018

This covers fundamentals of parallel programming and upto date with all jdk8 lambdas and functional programming

par Rafał S

Jan 20, 2019

Great introduction to parallel programming in Java. Clear and well thought content. Quite challenging quizzes.

par Malyik J

May 21, 2018

It was a great journey. The course material was clearly presented and it was easy to follow. I recommend it.

par Arvind K G

Dec 30, 2018

Thank you for making taking the time to prepare this and making it available online on Coursera. Cheers!

par Ankit M

May 01, 2020

Great course. I think last 2 chapters could definitely use more explanation and/or more examples/demos

par Ricardo P

Oct 07, 2017

A good and concise introduction to foundations and practical concepts of parallel programming.