Chevron Left
Retour à Parallel Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Parallel Programming in Java par Université de Rice

4.6
678 notes
137 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 136 Examens pour Parallel Programming in Java

par Vinay B S

Sep 30, 2017

An excellent course. Thank you, Dr. Sarkar!

During my internship, when I was taking this course, coincidentally, I got an opportunity to use Async tasks , get() etc. Was very happy when I could practically apply the concepts that I learnt during the course.

par Ryan B

Sep 18, 2017

The course is very well organized and teaches up-to-date techniques for Java parallelization. The material that is covered in this course can be used immediately for Java programmers. The instructor organized the videos so that each video is short and covers one point. His examples show the value of what is being taught and how to apply what is being taught. Every video also comes with a summary of "this is what you should have learned from this video". If you missed any details or didn't understand it, the video summary was very helpful for me. I highly recommend this course for an introduction to parallel programming.

par Serikzhan K

Jul 20, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

par Rahul K R

Jul 21, 2018

We need more exercises and more small size exercises

par Tianxiang X

Jul 23, 2018

Well-made videos, good explanation of concepts, great hands-on projects (not too difficult).

Some issues w/ differences b/t dev and grader environments in terms of performance / tests passing, but that's inevitable.

par Travis W

Jul 23, 2018

A little easy, I don't think I spent more than 5 hours on the whole thing lol

par Leonid S

Sep 07, 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

par Suresh T

Sep 12, 2018

This covers fundamentals of parallel programming and upto date with all jdk8 lambdas and functional programming

par Mark F

Aug 20, 2018

Well organized and high quality videos. Nice job with this class!

par Мухин С А

Sep 25, 2018

Всё хорошо

par Jonathan H

Sep 27, 2018

awesome

par Ignacio G

Oct 22, 2018

It's a great course, you learn the fundamentals to keep going and challenge your task at work to improve the performance.

I don't find that good that sometimes we have to use the API's provided by the University and not Java libraries.

par Grigory N

Oct 24, 2018

The course is good!

par Arun K

Nov 03, 2018

The fundamental core concepts are lucidly setforth by the teacher.

par Light0617

Nov 02, 2018

wonderful!!!

par Leonardo S

Aug 17, 2018

Very enjoyable and educational

par Marcos N F

May 04, 2019

Excelente

par Robinson S

Apr 01, 2019

The course is very good, teaching in simple way several complex questions.

par Tsung T C

Jul 13, 2019

Clear instruction and concepts provided with this 4-weeks-long course.

par John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

par Carlos A R

Oct 23, 2019

Really didactic!

par frishta

Oct 10, 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

par PATEL H K

Oct 17, 2019

Good course to learn parallel programming in java

par Matthew

Oct 23, 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

par marcos h b p

Nov 11, 2019

I liked very much the material support. I found fascinating the framework PCD. Congrats