Chevron Left
Retour à In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting par Le Museum of Modern Art

4.9
étoiles
1,196 évaluations
538 avis

À propos du cours

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Meilleurs avis

DB
25 juil. 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

DC
6 juin 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Filtrer par :

301 - 325 sur 531 Avis pour In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

par Kari G

28 juil. 2020

An excellent interesting course about 8 artists of the abstract Expressionist period. Highly recommended!

par Frode T

16 mars 2021

An excellent course with a fine mix of art history, colour and materials theory and practical exercises!

par Anna M O

17 juin 2017

Fantastic experience..emotions, technique, history of art.. a dream that came true. Thank you from Italy

par Aaron W

20 mai 2017

Really wonderfully run, and such interesting subject matter - really ignited an interest in me to paint!

par Ury L E M

14 avr. 2020

Friendly, easy-understanding with a lot of useful information about Abstract artists. I do recommend it

par Andrejs V

12 nov. 2020

Very exciting and interesting course, painters presented and their paintings and techniques described.

par Pantelis A

31 janv. 2018

Very satisfied with the course. The highlight of the course is Corey D'Augustine's video instructions.

par Cecelia M

21 juin 2020

Changed my life! I feel so inspired and adept at talking about abstract expressionism now. Thank you!

par Donna F

11 mai 2020

I enjoyed this course greatly, especially the studio work. I would enjoy more courses like this one.

par Jillian L L

2 nov. 2018

I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to other MoMA courses in Art History in the future.

par Javier C

3 janv. 2018

Interesting subject, carried out in a well and clearly structured way, which makes it easy to follow

par Ibikunle D

25 févr. 2019

Most needed for the prospective, aspiring and experienced artists; skills and knowledge impacting.

par Anna W

8 janv. 2019

I love this course! So informative and interesting. It feels like I'm learning loads. Thank you!!!

par Bryan B

6 juil. 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso, aprendí bastantes técnicas sobre artistas del expresionismo abstracto

par Sophie f

6 sept. 2017

Excellent course. Corey D'Augustine was a superb lecturer and coach. Cannot recommend it enough.

par Monica B

29 juil. 2020

He aprendido mucho de historia, de arte y de muchos artistas. ha sido muy interesante el curso.

par Denis D

8 juin 2020

I learnt so much more than I anticipated. It was an insightful and thoroughly enjoyable course.

par Lily V G

20 mars 2020

Me encantó el curso ,los pintores escogidos ,y sobre todo las clases de como hacías sus cuadros

par mariam s

17 mars 2020

Exceptional course, I learned so much about modern art, I painted and Corey is amazing teacher.

par cian

19 avr. 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

par Andrea W

26 sept. 2020

The instructor was excellent, but I don't like peer reviews. They add nothing to the course.

par Rachel C

20 mars 2021

Super, theory and practical. A+ The professor is great! I loved the variety of the material.

par Andrea J

8 août 2020

It was a great course with a lot of practical painting idea and technique. Thank you for it!

par Noelia S

24 mai 2020

Thank you for this opportunity, I am thrilled with the class. Professor D'Agustine is great.