Chevron Left
Retour à Object Oriented Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Object Oriented Programming in Java par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
étoiles
4,877 évaluations
1,226 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Meilleurs avis

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filtrer par :

1176 - 1200 sur 1,202 Avis pour Object Oriented Programming in Java

par Harshitha N S

Jun 27, 2020

.

par Kerstin K

May 23, 2017

Came from the predecessor specialization by Duke, which was really great. So I had high expectations for this course.

But this course introduces not much new (only some library using), no new programming concepts. I also didn't like the programming assignments (one "big" project). They were not challenging at all (much too easy), and also not really interesting (repetition and expansion of an assignment at Dukes). You are also not writing that much code, because you get too much from them, where you just have to add a little here and there.

Liked, that they divided the videos into different stages (core, concept challenge, when I struggled), so you only have to watch the videos, that you find necessary.

I hope the next course will be more interesting and challenging.

par Heaven H

Oct 12, 2015

The lectures were too wordy and the lecturers tripped over their words too often (which wouldn't have made it so difficult to listen if the lectures hadn't been so wordy!). There was too much focus on high-level details of the course project and too little attention paid to technical details. This rendered the lectures simplistic, boring, and sometimes a waste of time. This felt like an introductory level course, made more difficult through poor teaching.

Also, the slick web interface was slightly difficult to navigate in comparison to other Coursera courses.

par taha r

Feb 16, 2017

One suggestion i give to you that, please level of difficulty increase in a way that the learner not face to much thing in a single assignment. So, create assignment like that learner learn less thing but accurately. For example in this assignment you only build a relations between classes and marker on a map for only CityMarkerMap.java class and in the next module you implement LandMarker.java and so on. So, please this is my request in the future make assignments in a way that the Learner less thing but efficiently and accurately.

par Jason C

Oct 25, 2015

While the material is relevant, the exercises required too much specific knowledge that was not discussed in lecture. For an experienced programmer, most of the exercises were easy, but I admit I had to look ahead on two of the projects because the instructions were too lacking. The final project was too open ended and made me not want to finish this course.

Overall, I would not recommend this course.

par Alex S

Dec 13, 2018

Difficult to follow. Not as good as the Duke University courses where the professors explain in great depth, and detail. The good about the course is that they do give you the recourses to learn Object Oriented Programming in Java

par Christopher M P

Oct 07, 2020

Would have been great seven years ago...but the course requires you to use Java Applets, which are discontinued with good reason. This means running Java 8, which can create numerous further errors for most editors.

par Bruno M

Oct 12, 2015

If you think this is an introduction to Java programming language you are wrong.What do you want? Do you want teach us to use Processing or teach us to program in Java?

par Farhan H P

Aug 16, 2020

This course is very hard to follow, you are not building the program from scratch. But instead they force you to learn Processing module independently by yourself

par PATLOLLA S R

Apr 20, 2020

They taught the outdated module (i.e)PApplet which is included till java8 version ,from later version that module was not included in java software(like java12).

par AW

Aug 02, 2016

too fancy and the structure is not very clear. Not very much learned.

par Raman T

May 29, 2020

I don't know about course content but this is for coursera platform

par Jay O

Jun 09, 2020

Too much complicated and high level at an intermediate level

par Morteza T

Jul 22, 2019

This course is too basic and appropriate for the beginners.

par Swati J

Mar 01, 2016

The peer review assignment part is really

useless.

par Pratham M

Mar 24, 2020

Course not updated to latest standards.

par Mohamed M

Mar 19, 2016

in the beginning of the course i thought i'll get a good experience as usual on coursera, but i was wrong ...

a lot of things >> to be introduced in next course

confusing data types & working with things i don't know about it.

you've said that, anyone with basics of programming could pass this course and after 6 months i couldn't.

please be sure about the prerequisites next time.

par Martin K

Feb 13, 2017

I signed up for this course hoping for a good introduction to OO programming and Java only to not be able to verify if I have even learned anything. Of course I can access the course material, but the fact that cannot even manually check if my answers are correct with certainty makes all of this less efficient than simply learning it by myself.

par Lee M

Oct 25, 2015

Cannot follow a single thing that they are talking about. I have prior coding experience in other languages and I still have no idea what the instructors are getting at. They all explain everything horribly and jump into huge complex things with no explanation. Worst course I have ever taken in my life.

par TANISHTHA

Jun 07, 2020

The course does not properly explain few things and makes it really confusing for us.

par Jacob

Oct 21, 2020

Outdated, unable to use sample/target code with latest JDK, or even previous JDK.

par Mohamed Z

Oct 18, 2015

starting from week2 the way of explaining the materials isnt good

par Đoàn N T H

Jul 28, 2017

I think this site is one of sharing site, but it's not.

par Paulo S S Q

Sep 25, 2015

just an google maps applet, do not explain java itself.

par Abdul H

Sep 28, 2020

The course is outdated and boring