Chevron Left
Retour à Object Oriented Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Object Oriented Programming in Java par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
étoiles
4,769 évaluations
1,194 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Meilleurs avis

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filtrer par :

901 - 925 sur 1,171 Avis pour Object Oriented Programming in Java

par maripalli s

Jun 13, 2020

good

par nidhi

Jun 07, 2020

good

par Mr. M R

Jun 02, 2020

nice

par Mohammed A z

May 31, 2020

Good

par MEENUGA B K

May 30, 2020

Good

par KANHAI K

Apr 29, 2020

good

par 17BIT0352 Y

Mar 25, 2020

good

par KUNWAR A S

Nov 25, 2019

Good

par Sumanto P

Mar 23, 2019

best

par VISHWAJEET K

Jun 16, 2018

good

par Suraj M

Sep 08, 2017

five

par nvps

Aug 25, 2017

good

par Ibrahim

Aug 11, 2017

jiop

par Zhongyuan S

Nov 11, 2015

Good

par charan p

Jun 04, 2020

sf

par Yasmeen G

Jun 11, 2016

♥♥

par Олег Т

Jun 11, 2016

+

par Deepti g

Apr 11, 2016

A

par Sudip

Jan 31, 2016

l

par Johnny R

Jan 11, 2016

i

par DARWIN G V

Sep 27, 2015

G

par Robert C

May 18, 2016

When I signed up for this course I had already taken a year's worth of Java classes and was quite well prepared. My overall opinion of the course is that it was really good and the instructors did a good job by presenting clear videos of some beginning - intermediate level concepts. I especially liked Christine's and Mia's presentations. The videos on memory models were really great and helped me a lot. The assignments were really interesting too as they collected and mapped real time data of earthquakes onto a map, but some of the external libraries being used in UnfoldingMaps could have been explained a little better as to what their implementations were. In the beginning it was a little confusing trying to figure out the superclasses even though the Javadocs for them were available. I also felt that the Interaction Design Lab in Germany - the folks who implemented the UnfoldingMaps could have made the Javadocs of their classes a little more detailed. Further explanation of how to use the classes built into the course would have been very helpful. Hence the 4/5 stars given. But overall I really enjoyed the class and am really looking forward to the second class in the sequence. Well done!

par Jesús Á A G

Feb 07, 2016

Good course, ideal for the first half of a second course in computer science. A little java experience is recommended buy you'll probably be ok if you have program in a statically type programming language before because you can pick up java very quickly. The lectures are very good, I think that the teachers are excellent expositors but I feel that they could be more detailed. The project is about representing earthquakes in a map and you are always increasing the complexity. Finally you need to add your own extension which I found an excellent opportunity to test your imagination and your capacity to create new things.

The only cons of the course for me is the way assignments are evaluated. I think it has to do with the fact that they are interactive. You have to answers questions in a Quiz related to the week content and the project. But the are not very demanding, therefore they do not reflect how much you really know.

In general I recommend taking this course if you are in self study journey in computer science, even more the specialization start to get more interesting and demanding in the follow up courses, more complete and detailed.

par Ahmed M A

Aug 20, 2020

I really wanted to give this a 5, it is a wonderful and will laid and organized course with awesome teachers. However, It just is in a dire need for an update. I basically gave up on the whole project thing early and just stuck to the knowledge provided. The theory provided here is very very very important and well delivered. Even for a guy like me who had nothing to do with Computer science before, I was able to understand it all and in the process understood many concepts and reasons of things in JAVA that were an enigma to me before this course. And that was without caring about the project.

In short, the course is very good and informative, I would say even essential for those who are new to CS and/or making a career shift from another field, specially for those who are pursuing a career in JAVA. However, forget about the whole GUI part. Just act as if it wasn't there and you will be fine. A shame really.

par Robert K

Jan 09, 2018

It was a good course. If you are looking a general introdution to Computer Science with Java elements, then go for it. My intent was to simply go over syntax and some intricacies of Java. It is slowly paced in this manner. Nevertheless, I've completed a 6-week course in about a week (not working everyday) and managed to get a certificate.

The structure let's you skip things you already know (like searching algorithms) and implement stuff on your own. One thing that they could have addes is ... code checking. A self-validation is not good when it comes to veryfing real programming skills. However, I guess Java grader would be more complicated than already existing coursera's python grader.

All in all 4/5, could be better, I don't think Java itself was the main focus of this course. Good very intro to the topic.