Chevron Left
Retour à Object Oriented Programming in Java

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Object Oriented Programming in Java par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
étoiles
4,868 évaluations
1,222 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Meilleurs avis

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 1,202 Avis pour Object Oriented Programming in Java

par Frank T

Oct 03, 2019

Support for the course has ended and the exercises are no longer compatible with new versions of Java. After solving an OpenGL issue and installing JRE 1.8, the starter program still wasn't working as it should.

par Eva G D T

Jan 29, 2020

I think the content of the course as far as objectives is covered in the lectures both video and readings. However, the practice in this course through programming needs to be updated as it still uses Applets which are a deprecated technology as of 2015-2017. I think that if there is going to be programming assignments for students they should be provided in a form that at least uses current technologies, especially when advertised as "real world". The course has also not, at a minimum, been updated with "how to's" for how to run the programming assignments using the old technologies, as it should explain that Java 8 or prior is needed (not the current Java 13 or newer).

par Wesley N

Feb 10, 2020

Pretty terrible course. Two observations so far:

1.) The libraries that this course requires you to use are incredibly outdated and broken. Getting basic examples to run is sometimes impossible. I'm literally talking about the most basic examples copied and pasted straight from this class.

2.) The moderators do not interact or help when it comes to finding work-arounds for the broken code libraries provided. Many people have posted with regards to these problems, yet no one ever gets a response.

3.) This is the third course in a 4 course specialization on OOP. I am on week 11 in this specialization, and so far very little has been mentioned about OOP concepts. We are using OOP concepts, but without explanation. Every once in a while, a key word is thrown in, but never explained. The whole course is literally a professor telling you what code to copy and paste into your own program. When complete, you run the program and it works like they told you it would (well duh, they tell you exactly what to write).

The course is garbage. I'm going to finish it because I've payed a couple hundred dollars at this point and I want the certificate. However, I will be posting any and everywhere to let people know not to waste their money.

par Nicholas B

Oct 08, 2018

Would have preferred if the map was built incrementally, with me continuing each exercise with my own map rather than a new, supplied map each time. That would make me feel more ownership towards it.

par Krishna K

Jul 01, 2019

Compared to the Duke University classes, I think this is a low quality course. I managed to get most of the assignments done in a short time. I don't like the fact that the classes are heavily dependent on starting with eclipse. I would have preferred very much if the class would have showed you how to set everything up independent of any IDE's. I would have preferred to write programs and debug them in my editor of choice.

Also, the course is unnecessarily spread out for the actual amount it teaches. I think the entire course can be summarized in two weeks of materials. I would say that only week4-5-6 are important to understanding OOP.

While the videos are good, some sections are pointless. I don't really care for the videos that talk about why someone had difficulty with a particular topic. I DO like the videos that walks through some examples/scenarios. They aided in my understanding.

I don't think the assignments are well designed. While you can follow through them, I don't think they were as good as the Duke courses. (which are course 1 and 2 of the OOP Java specialization. This course is course 3).

I was not impressed with this course. But I did learn some OOP concepts. I don't think this course does a good job on teaching you OOprogramming or how to think about designing projects using Objects.

par Konstantin P

Feb 21, 2016

Enroll this course if you intend to become a programmer and need fundamental knowledge in Object Oriented Programming. Here you can study the subject and apply new things in a real curious project.

par Roussel K

Dec 05, 2015

This is course is really awesome and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested to Software Engineering using JAVA programming Language.

A little history about my background will help understand my excitement about this course. I am a newly graduated in the field of Electrical Engineering. So far, I wrote code mainly in C++ and I have not really participated to very challenging programming assignments. Looking for job (Unluckily so far ) I quickly realize that Java programming is really big on the job market. For these reasons, I got this book in Java programming called "Starting Out with JAVA", but may be due to lack of discipline I was not really able to move deeply in book.

However since I have enrolled in this course, I am being influenced tremendously by the design of the class.I got so much positive vibe from the professor who make this class really exciting. The level of details use in lecture videos make this class really easy to follow. In addition, the class assignment are just plainly cool, practical, and challenging. I really feel like I am learning from expert in the field. This fact has raised my confidence that my gaining the skills combined in this specialization I magnify my qualification on the job market.

Thank you.

par Jonathan Z

Oct 19, 2018

You are given outdated and messy code to work with, I came back to this project after several more years of java experience and it was actually made tricky by the horrible starting points. I rewrote almost every project from scratch in 1/8th of lines.

par Pradyumn A S

May 04, 2020

This course should be removed from coursera as the library it uses for the project is outdated

par AKASH K S

May 31, 2017

One of the best course I have done on coursera. Everything is awesome about the course final project helped to extensively test my skill. This course is for learner with basic knowledge in java.

par Austin R

Feb 06, 2016

It needs project based exams, not quizzes. These project exams should be a combination of automated programming tasks, like the kind you find on HackerRank or Codeforces and peer assessment based projects that asks students to evaluate the readability of each others code. As it currently stands, this course is a joke.

par Jade F

Apr 15, 2019

This was my favorite course out of the whole specialization - the way the instructors set up the curriculum makes you feel like you're taking a real college course, and the assignments are fun, not too challenging, and interesting. The use of 'unfolding maps' and processing is a really good choice, and though I won't be using 'unfolding maps' in the future (it's kind of outdated and isn't used in the field), I gained a lot of insight into how geodata is used and was easily able to apply what I'd learned using other map platforms.

As for object oriented programming, you couldn't ask for a better way to convey the material. I highly recommend this course to people wanting to explore java programming, or OOP in general.

par Pat C

Mar 05, 2016

This course delivers a great learning experience. I have not only learned the theory of object oriented design through java. I have also gained hands on experience of these challenging concepts through the java programming assignments. An outstanding feature of this course is the ability of the three professors to relate rigorous theory to hands on experience by means of the java assignments. Hats off to three outstanding Computer Science professors for the great teaching, enthusiasm and ability to motivate me the learner. This course delivers 100% on its promise to provide a solid foundation in object oriented design and programming through java.

par Ali A

Mar 01, 2016

This course was a really comprehensive package explaining all the basic concepts of Object Oriented Programming . The instructors clearly explains the concepts of inheritance , polymorphism , searching , sorting etc. relating it as much as possible to real world examples. The concept challenge questions clearly helps you to understand the subtle nuances that the instructor wants to explain . The quiz are easy .The only thing that i found hard was to complete was the final assignment as i had minimal programming experience with data structures but if you stick to it , you will definitely make it , just like me :)

par ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

Best Java course I have seen for years. And Best team of instructors in any of Coursera courses. Hope to have later specializations from the same Instructors. I am just delaying certificate until finishing the due java specialization, as I felt it may need introductory course as advised by the great instructor Christine

Great Instructor/Course from great University as great as the rest of San Diego university courses. Well respected Universities in addition to Duke, Michigan and Virginia Compared to the very short courses from other reputable Universities

par Aryadip S

Dec 21, 2015

It was a wonderful course! Kudos to all the professor! I wish i was lucky enough to be under the tutelage of such great Professor! Loved how lucidly, they made us understand Java.

Special mention to Christine. You were absolutely fantastic!

And to the Coursera Community. You guys rock! Bless you guys. You have no idea how much you are helping students like me.

Looking forward towards more such tutorials.

PS: Can i expect J2EE tutorials from these professors? And also, some course on Algorithms from these Professors? It will be very helpful.

Thanks,

Arya

par Mohamed M M A K

Mar 05, 2016

An excellent course for taking a step forwards in Java programming. The instructors are great and I love the concept challenge videos as they help clarify new concepts.

The programming assignments are good although sometimes felt like they were not challenging enough.

The course material isn't that long and the course could easily be completed in 2-3 weeks or even less.

Despite that it is not an introductory course to Java, I was able to follow along smoothly without prior Java experience. However previous programming experience is required.

par Radu S

Nov 18, 2015

I liked the way that the professors insisted on understanding the mechanics behind the concepts learned, using the memory models and asking for that pen and paper for drawing them.

I didn't find any pdfs with course notes containing the concepts discussed in a written form but I think I'll relisten some of the videos and write that notes for myself.

I managed to understand quite a few object oriented concepts that were blurry for me before, thank you for that. Now, it's practice time, to avoid forgetting all that !

par Uriel O M V

Aug 24, 2019

This is an excelent course. It contains illustratives examples about inheritance and a little bit of polymorphism. This concepts are important for well written and easy to maintain code. A student can work with real data sets (earthquake data and airport data) and use the popular IDE Eclipse. The core videos are well explained. Additionally I learned variable scope. This is not a beginer course. Before enrolling in this specialization I completed the beginner specialization from Duck university.

par Dzejlan

Dec 23, 2015

This is one of the best series of courses I came along in online MOOC platform, such a brilliant course, this whole specialization is brilliant, such a interesting projects, I'm disappointed that I live in country that isn't that much wealthy to help this Specialization and to be able to do Capstone Project , but I wish all the best hope to finish all in time, this is in my top 3 online MOOC Courses and I saw a lot of them.

I wish all the best to this team and people that made this possible.

par Sye

Oct 08, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, did to keep in touch with Java over the summer so as not to forget; it turned out to be a bit more challengiing than the one at university and I relearnt the concepts easier. I guess my 2nd year course also has a slight legacy issue; however this was a really nice course to do. I would do the whole specialization, but I have to go to a normal university to get a more recognised qualification.

par Heng W W

Mar 21, 2016

It is good!!! I learnt a bit of Java beforehand but not the object oriented concept. Would definitely attend the courses by UC San Diego again as well as pay for the course when I can afford it!

par Thao R

Apr 05, 2019

The peer reviews for final grade was challenging in a way that it relies solely on the honesty of your peers. I ended up with dishonest grades from peers. Specifically the person gave me grade 0 and a " . " in each comment section and called it the day. Nothing stopping more people from doing that actually. Other than that, the materials are great and assignments were challenging. Students who wanted to complete the course honestly actually had to work hard at researching to success.

par Youcef L

Jan 14, 2020

A deprecated Java API is used in those, probably better to choose a different course.

par Aaron G

Jan 11, 2020

Probably my least favorite in the series so far. Mostly because much of the code was already prewritten, which makes it difficult to learn anything. Moreover, the explanations of some complex topics like the sorting and searching algorithms, and especially the use of Java's Comparable class is severely lacking. I had no idea what I was supposed to do week 5 and week 6 suffered as a consequence. Also, mouseClicked and event handling needs better explanations.