Chevron Left
Retour à Social Norms, Social Change I

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Social Norms, Social Change I par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
1,886 évaluations
487 avis

À propos du cours

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Meilleurs avis

EC

21 févr. 2022

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

PE

5 mars 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 477 Avis pour Social Norms, Social Change I

par Matt D

16 sept. 2021

Very interesting and informative, everything being taught was taught in a clear manner, even for someone who has not previously studied this topic in any regard.

par Damini B

9 avr. 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

par umar f

21 avr. 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

par Diego P L

3 oct. 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

par सोच: T V

20 août 2020

It was an informative course in practical life across the world. All facts and examples were very relevant and very much helpful to understand the society.

par Lilen Q

10 févr. 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

par Gilbert A A

22 avr. 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

par Ajay V

25 avr. 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

par Erme S

16 juin 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

par Varun K S

14 août 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

par Tania

31 oct. 2020

I learned a lot! Do not give up after the first week...keep going and you will see how the concepts can be applied to real situations and problems.

par Kamrul H

6 nov. 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

par Lucie M

20 avr. 2021

i have learned so much in this class. the teacher was amazing. she does her job very well. i like her teaching style. thank you miss Christina B

par Maria J S C

9 juil. 2020

Cristina is amazing. Everything is very clear and ordered. I believe this should be a compulsory course for anyone interested in public policy.

par Diana M

4 sept. 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

par Kristen P

24 mai 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

par Nj R

11 nov. 2020

so informative that helps you to be open-minded, understand the various cultures and respect people why they behave or do certain behaviours.

par Catarina B

6 avr. 2020

I learing a lot in this course. the only thing that I did not like it was the fact of the week 4 was way more longer than the others. Thanks!

par Yenlik T

13 févr. 2020

Amazing professor! Last week is quite dense with many new notions regarding techniques so separating them into more pieces might be helpful.

par Sarah S

18 juin 2017

Excellent course, well delivered and a good balance of detail and insight with laymen terminology. I would definitely recommend this course!

par Nakarin C

10 juil. 2020

it s a very good course for any persons who interest the social sci and this course gives me a new len to see how the societies really are

par Pablo G

14 nov. 2019

Very interesting and useful course. People should learn about this, so better programming oriented to behaviour change could be developed.

par MD. A R H

2 nov. 2019

I have come up with in and outs of social expectation, norms and behaviour responsible to create or abandon these norms. Helped me a lot.

par Haroon A

13 juil. 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you

par elnaz a

10 nov. 2021

it was my first experiment about online learning.and it was so helpful and amazing. I am grateful for your effort and time for training.