Chevron Left
Retour à From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement par Université Emory

4.8
étoiles
242 évaluations
75 avis

À propos du cours

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

Meilleurs avis

EJ

Apr 27, 2020

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

KS

Sep 28, 2019

I have learnt so much and will be applying this to the change action empowerment in the UK. I appreciate this opportunity to learn at my own pace and appreciate the work undertaken in the past.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 74 Avis pour From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

par Chaundra W

Sep 24, 2017

Dr. Bernard LaFayette is an excellent storyteller and he recalls many of the events of the Civil Rights movement with great passion and reflection. All of the guest speakers and interviewers were excellent. There is a lot of important American History in this course.

par Ignasi I

Dec 04, 2016

Exceptional information and lessons to better understand what was the struggle for Civil Rights. The teachings of Dr. LaFayette invite to take the brief experience as a case study, worthy of being analyzed and considered when comparing it to other social movements.

par Kathleen R

Jul 26, 2020

Dr. Bernard Lafayette is a national treasure and his insights into one of the most important movements in American history are of incredible historical value and offer excellent instruction to new generations of change agents. Fascinating course.

par Christine

Oct 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course, particularly the breakdowns about nonviolence as a way of life/philosophy. The bonus interview with Rev. Vivian was amazing as well! A must-take class for the sheer volume of oral history you get from Dr. Lafayette.

par Nisha A

Sep 08, 2020

It is a great course for anyone who wants to learn how one can participate in bringing about a social change. The course also covers the aspect of organizing the masses and that, for me, was the most helpful part in understanding such movements.

par Joanna D

Feb 16, 2020

Fascinating course featuring living civil rights activists. Focusing on the thoughts of those involved in the nonviolent approach of activists, it brought more depth to me on how this attitude to the civil rights struggle was successful.

par Kerry T

Jun 30, 2017

This course provided valuable oral histories of the Civil Rights movement in America. My sincere gratitude to all those who put together this course, and of course to those who participated in advancing the cause of Civil Rights!

par Karl M

Jan 13, 2018

Done this course as a beginning to a new Shabbat practice really enjoyed it learned so much.As a Millenial and one who has dealt with domestic violence it helped me realize how nonviolent action can change a lot of things.

par L W

Jul 27, 2020

I love this course. It offers so many insights that you wouldn't be able to access anywhere else. The pace and level of depth is perfect, and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the videos. I have learnt so much. Thankyou.

par Joni L

Feb 05, 2016

I'm learning so much, and it's a wonderful format. We're going to need to know these principles of Nonviolence if we're to deal effectively with the regenerative changes needed. I'm so glad i heard about this course!

par Blaise L

Sep 07, 2018

Fascinating. I recommend this course for anyone who wants an in-depth understanding of the role of non-violence in the success of the Civil Rights movement, and its relevance to the world of race relations today.

par Jackson M

Aug 01, 2020

I love this and have been recommending it to everyone I know. Am also going to see if components of it can be added to our First Year Experience classes. What an inspiration and education this has been.

par Edward B

Apr 25, 2018

Among the very best courses led by the participants in the struggle for civil rights. Helped me to gain a better understanding of what has been gained (and lost) in our nation's story.

par Haley M

Jul 02, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this class and learned so much. This was very eye opening to me and all of the principles taught here are very valuable. I highly recommend taking this course.

par Fernando E B N

Oct 23, 2018

It was an amazing experience to learn with Dr LaFayette about nonviolence practices, methodologies and foundations in US history and considering a worldwide and human perspective.

par JOHN Q

Dec 06, 2015

Nice review of a very difficult time in our history which was favored by some courageous folks who worked and endured a lot to effect a better society.

par Aloke N P

Dec 28, 2018

a must do course for every global citizen. Its not just exploring an idea but its also about exploring you as a human being and your capabilities.

par Diane N

Dec 02, 2015

Every body black white green or polka dot should take this course, learn to come together non violently thank you all for the lessons I learned

par Aaron L H

Jul 17, 2020

This course was outstanding. There was a lot of information about the Civil Rights I didn't know about. The power of learning never gets old.

par Danielle C

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for refreshing the history of a time when I witnessed so much change. I really enjoyed it.

Danielle Rawls Carr- Atlanta, Georgia

par Barbara S

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent course!!!!!!!! Thank you so much—I learned an incredible amount of information and found this course to be very transforming.

par Lisa S

Jul 09, 2017

Absolutely fascinating course - a privilege to have insights from one of the major lights of the civil rights movement

par Corinne S

May 22, 2016

One of the best and most informative classes I have taken on Coursera. I highly recommend for everyone!

par Célia C

Mar 02, 2020

Very interesting, in this course, we have al the inside view of what happened, I truly recommend.

par Valentina G M

Mar 16, 2020

I usually don't like history but the way this is told capitvated me! Thank so much