Chevron Left
Retour à Mythologie grecque et romaine

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mythologie grecque et romaine par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
954 évaluations
248 avis

À propos du cours

Myths are traditional stories that have endured over a long time. Some of them have to do with events of great importance, such as the founding of a nation. Others tell the stories of great heroes and heroines and their exploits and courage in the face of adversity. Still others are simple tales about otherwise unremarkable people who get into trouble or do some great deed. What are we to make of all these tales, and why do people seem to like to hear them? This course will focus on the myths of ancient Greece and Rome, as a way of exploring the nature of myth and the function it plays for individuals, societies, and nations. We will also pay some attention to the way the Greeks and Romans themselves understood their own myths. Are myths subtle codes that contain some universal truth? Are they a window on the deep recesses of a particular culture? Are they a set of blinders that all of us wear, though we do not realize it? Or are they just entertaining stories that people like to tell over and over? This course will investigate these questions through a variety of topics, including the creation of the universe, the relationship between gods and mortals, human nature, religion, the family, sex, love, madness, and death. *********************************************************************************************************** COURSE SCHEDULE • Week 1: Introduction Welcome to Greek and Roman Mythology! This first week we’ll introduce the class, paying attention to how the course itself works. We’ll also begin to think about the topic at hand: myth! How can we begin to define "myth"? How does myth work? What have ancient and modern theorists, philosophers, and other thinkers had to say about myth? This week we’ll also begin our foray into Homer’s world, with an eye to how we can best approach epic poetry. Readings: No texts this week, but it would be a good idea to get started on next week's reading to get ahead of the game. Video Lectures: 1.1-1.7 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 2: Becoming a Hero In week 2, we begin our intensive study of myth through Homer’s epic poem, the Odyssey. This core text not only gives us an exciting story to appreciate on its own merits but also offers us a kind of laboratory where we can investigate myth using different theoretical approaches. This week we focus on the young Telemachus’ tour as he begins to come of age; we also accompany his father Odysseus as he journeys homeward after the Trojan War. Along the way, we’ll examine questions of heroism, relationships between gods and mortals, family dynamics, and the Homeric values of hospitality and resourcefulness. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 1-8 Video Lectures: 2.1-2.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 3: Adventures Out and Back This week we’ll follow the exciting peregrinations of Odysseus, "man of twists and turns," over sea and land. The hero’s journeys abroad and as he re-enters his homeland are fraught with perils. This portion of the Odyssey features unforgettable monsters and exotic witches; we also follow Odysseus into the Underworld, where he meets shades of comrades and relatives. Here we encounter some of the best-known stories to survive from all of ancient myth. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 9-16 Video Lectures: 3.1-3.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 4: Identity and Signs As he makes his way closer and closer to re-taking his place on Ithaca and with his family, a disguised Odysseus must use all his resources to regain his kingdom. We’ll see many examples of reunion as Odysseus carefully begins to reveal his identity to various members of his household—his servants, his dog, his son, and finally, his wife Penelope—while also scheming against those who have usurped his place. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 17-24 Video Lectures: 4.1-4.8 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 5: Gods and Humans We will take a close look at the most authoritative story on the origin of the cosmos from Greek antiquity: Hesiod’s Theogony. Hesiod was generally considered the only poet who could rival Homer. The Theogony, or "birth of the gods," tells of an older order of gods, before Zeus, who were driven by powerful passions—and strange appetites! This poem presents the beginning of the world as a time of fierce struggle and violence as the universe begins to take shape, and order, out of chaos. Readings: Hesiod, Theogony *(the Works and Days is NOT required for the course)* Video Lectures: 5.1-5.9 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 6: Ritual and Religion This week’s readings give us a chance to look closely at Greek religion in its various guises. Myth, of course, forms one important aspect of religion, but so does ritual. How ancient myths and rituals interact teaches us a lot about both of these powerful cultural forms. We will read two of the greatest hymns to Olympian deities that tell up-close-and-personal stories about the gods while providing intricate descriptions of the rituals they like us humans to perform. Readings: Homeric Hymn to Apollo; Homeric Hymn to Demeter (there are two hymns to each that survive, only the LONGER Hymn to Apollo and the LONGER Hymn to Demeter are required for the course) Video Lectures: 6.1-6.7 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 7: Justice What counts as a just action, and what counts as an unjust one? Who gets to decide? These are trickier questions than some will have us think. This unit looks at one of the most famously thorny issues of justice in all of the ancient world. In Aeschylus’ Oresteia—the only surviving example of tragedy in its original trilogy form—we hear the story of Agamemnon’s return home after the Trojan War. Unlike Odysseus’ eventual joyful reunion with his wife and children, this hero is betrayed by those he considered closest to him. This family's cycle of revenge, of which this story is but one episode, carries questions of justice and competing loyalties well beyond Agamemnon’s immediate family, eventually ending up on the Athenian Acropolis itself. Readings: Aeschylus, Agamemnon; Aeschylus, Eumenides Video Lectures: 7.1-7.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 8: Unstable Selves This week we encounter two famous tragedies, both set at Thebes, that center on questions of guilt and identity: Sophocles’ Oedipus Rex and Eurpides’ Bacchae. Oedipus is confident that he can escape the unthinkable fate that was foretold by the Delphic oracle; we watch as he eventually realizes the horror of what he has done. With Odysseus, we saw how a great hero can re-build his identity after struggles, while Oedipus shows us how our identities can dissolve before our very eyes. The myth of Oedipus is one of transgressions—intentional and unintentional—and about the limits of human knowledge. In Euripides’ Bacchae, the identity of gods and mortals is under scrutiny. Here, Dionysus, the god of wine and of tragedy, and also madness, appears as a character on stage. Through the dissolution of Pentheus, we see the terrible consequences that can occur when a god’s divinity is not properly acknowledged. Readings: Sophocles, Oedipus Rex; Euripides, Bacchae Video Lectures: 8.1-8.9 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 9: The Roman Hero, Remade Moving ahead several centuries, we jump into a different part of the Mediterranean to let the Romans give us their take on myth. Although many poets tried to rewrite Homer for their own times, no one succeeded quite like Vergil. His epic poem, the Aeneid, chronicles a powerful re-building of a culture that both identifies with and defines itself against previously told myths. In contrast to the scarcity of information about Homer, we know a great deal about Vergil’s life and historical context, allowing us insight into myth-making in action. Readings: Vergil, Aeneid, books 1-5 Video Lectures: 9.1-9.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 10: Roman Myth and Ovid's Metamorphoses Our consideration of Vergil’s tale closes with his trip to the underworld in book 6. Next, we turn to a more playful Roman poet, Ovid, whose genius is apparent in nearly every kind of register. Profound, witty, and satiric all at once, Ovid’s powerful re-tellings of many ancient myths became the versions that are most familiar to us today. Finally, through the lens of the Romans and others who "remythologize," we wrap up the course with a retrospective look at myth. Readings: Vergil, Aeneid, book 6; Ovid, Metamorphoses, books 3, 12, and 13. Video Lectures: 10.1-10.9. Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. *********************************************************************************************************** READINGS There are no required texts for the course, however, Professor Struck will make reference to the following texts in the lecture: • Greek Tragedies, Volume 1, David Grene and Richmond Lattimore, trans. (Chicago) • Greek Tragedies, Volume 3, David Grene and Richmond Lattimore , trans. (Chicago) • Hesiod, Theogony and Works and Days, M. L. West, trans. (Oxford) • Homeric Hymns, Sarah Ruden, trans. (Hackett) • Homer, The Odyssey, Robert Fagles, trans. (Penguin) • Virgil, The Aeneid, Robert Fitzgerald, trans. (Vintage) • Ovid, Metamorphoses, David Raeburn, trans. (Penguin) These translations are a pleasure to work with, whereas many of the translations freely available on the internet are not. If you do not want to purchase them, they should also be available at many libraries. Again, these texts are not required, but they are helpful....

Meilleurs avis

PS

Jul 02, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable and instructive introduction to a different world and our historical and present interpretation of its meanings and mysteries. Would recommend to a friend or family member.

DA

Apr 13, 2016

This class is very interesting and I love the structure of it. I love how in depth he goes into the different mythological stories and how they connect to Greek culture and daily life.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 244 Avis pour Mythologie grecque et romaine

par Ian M

Apr 15, 2019

Really liked this class. Great presentations that tied in mythology, psychology, and psychoanalysis, which is exactly what I wanted to get out of the class. Thank you.

par Michel G

May 30, 2016

I had a wonderful time in this course, learnt a lot, Peter Struck is a very motivating teacher. Only small criticism: The reading installments are sometimes too muc

par Katie S

Apr 28, 2018

My only complaints is that I want more. The instructor was engaging, the stories were great and this has taken me back to being a student and living for mythology.

par Georgina M G

Jun 19, 2017

Wonderful Class. I really enjoyed reading the books and taking notes and discussing the class with my family and friends and college age young people. Thank you!

par Symbliene G

Aug 17, 2016

Don't take this class if you don't have time for the (extensive) reading. But even if you DON'T have time? Listen to the first week's lectures!

The class is great!

par Lauren A

Feb 09, 2020

Great class! The teacher was super interesting and had a good sense of humor. I got to read many great books I might not have read otherwise. Strongly recommend !

par Calvin O

Dec 10, 2016

An excellent course. Mr Struck is clearly an asset to the University of Pennsylvania. Fluid, easily understandable and ultimately thoroughly enjoyable. Well done.

par Daniel V J

Jan 03, 2020

Amazing course. It helped me better know how greek myths work while providing intelligent and meaningful readings of the material covered in class. A lot of fun.

par R. L P C

Nov 09, 2016

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo completamente. Abarca grandes autores como Homero, Sófocles, Virgilio y el profesor muy innovador en sus enseñanzas.

par Lara R

Jun 08, 2017

Excellent course I enjoyed learning more about Greek mythology and what myth means. I would have liked to spent more time on the Roman mythology

par lisa r

Aug 02, 2016

Brilliant course. The reading is enjoyable and the tutorials revealing. I am thoroughly enjoying the course. It brings ancient Greece to life.

par Christine W

Feb 04, 2018

Truly enjoyed the course. Peter really dug deep and brought out the deep cultural meaning of ancient myth and how they shaped the human society.

par Oleksii

Sep 16, 2017

Absolutely fantasting course! Very well structured, encourages to dive deeper into mythology of the ancient world. Highly recommend to everyone.

par Olivier B

Feb 21, 2020

Professeur captivant et surement captivé (du moins par son sujet).

Un régal culturel et intellectuel. Après ça on est moins bête et plus humain.

par Joanna K

Apr 12, 2018

Excellent MOOC, greatly enriches reading Greek and Roman myths and leaves you with a proper academic approach to exploring myth in general.

par Sally R

Oct 14, 2016

The course has given me the string to enable me to venture into Greek and Roman mythology knowing I shall be able to find my way back out.

par Eagle Y

Jan 04, 2018

This class is really fun!! I love it and sincerely hope that this class can be more well known and taught to the public. Many thanks!

par Alex T

Aug 29, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal, it expanded and improved my whole view and perspective of Greco-Roman mythology! Professor Struck is the best!

par Vandhana C

Jun 02, 2018

I loved it. the material was precise and helped me to explore more. Thank you so much for such an awesome and well planned course.

par susan

Jul 30, 2019

Love this subject. Love the professor also. Took his course on the Odyssey and enjoyed so much. I could quote the text!!

par Halah K

May 01, 2017

Peter Struck is one of the best teachers i have ever studied from, really looking forward to more courses from him.

par Kenneth V

Oct 24, 2019

Very fun course, learned a lot about ancient Greek and Roman mythology and some nice applications to modern times.

par Carlos E O S

Jan 04, 2020

Amazing professor and brief review through some of the most important ancient civilizations and their mythology.

par Aleeka K

May 26, 2018

A good course, Fairly in-depth exposure and a grand sweep of the important works in Greek and Roman mythology.

par Sergios

Sep 05, 2017

Amazing instructor, very enthusiastic, you can feel his energy and passion for mythology and ancient cultures.