Chevron Left
Retour à Musique et action sociale

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Musique et action sociale par Université Yale

4.7
étoiles
137 évaluations
52 avis

À propos du cours

What is a musician’s response to the condition of the world? Do musicians have an obligation and an opportunity to serve the needs of the world with their musicianship? At a time of crisis for the classical music profession, with a changing commercial landscape, a shrinking audience base, and a contraction in the number of professional orchestras, how does a young musician construct a career today? Are we looking at a dying art form or a moment of reinvigoration? In this course we will develop a response to these questions, and we will explore the notion that the classical musician, the artist, is an important public figure with a critical role to play in society. The course will include inquiry into a set of ideas in philosophy of aesthetics; a discussion about freedom, civil society, and ways that art can play a role in readying people for democracy; discussion on philosophy of education as it relates to the question of positive social change; and an exploration of musical and artistic initiatives that have been particularly focused on a positive social impact. Guiding questions for this course inquiry will include: - How can classical music effect social change? - How has music made positive change in communities around the globe? - What can the field of classical music learn from other movements for social change? - How have educators and philosophers thought about the arts and their connection to daily contemporary life? Each class will explore one critical question through lectures, discussions, interviews, or documentaries....

Meilleurs avis

DO
14 mars 2018

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

HC
15 juil. 2020

It's an amazing course!\n\nIf you really wanna improve your knowledge as Musicians or Artists and power's action in your community, you need to enroll in this course.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 52 Avis pour Musique et action sociale

par VALERIA B

5 juin 2020

I thought the course was great!. I enjoyed all the lectures and videos, and hope to meet professor Sebastian personally some day.

par Estelle N

13 juin 2020

A course that helped me refresh and affirm my intentions and motivations to continue pursuing music as a mode to social action.

par Sonja I

27 mai 2020

This course has given me so much more than I had ever hoped for! A true eye-opener for anyone who is involved in the arts!

par Amber W

14 mai 2020

Love this class very much interactive with students and Teacher, and I will take this learning experience with forever!!

par Jelena D

21 juil. 2020

I’ve had the opportunity to hear great things about how human creativity can move society toward progress.

par Gena V

2 mai 2016

I am glad to have this course as it really makes me feel happy and teaches me more things I wanna know.

par Erick M

30 juil. 2020

Excellent and complete!

I learned so much and have new perspectives and new wide thinking.

Thanks.

par Maria G

17 août 2020

The multimedia material explored in the course was excellent! I really enjoyed this course.

par Elena P

5 févr. 2017

I would prefer except from the peer-view assignments, that a teacher could view them also.

par Arturo I R J

31 juil. 2020

Great course! I feel motivated and engaged with all the themes of the course

par Felipe V R

21 juil. 2016

Yale is the Best! really! my dream is study there! oh capitalism... =)

par Bart S

18 mars 2016

outstanding and thought provoking

par Nguyen K N

4 oct. 2019

This is very thought-provoking.

par Ayu

6 août 2019

very good course

par Maria C L

22 juin 2020

amazing course!

par Missagh D

28 avr. 2020

Remarkable

par Adrian B C G

4 juin 2019

The course was very interesting and had a lot of interesting insights. The problem was that a lot of the reading material was very difficult to get, if not impossible, so I felt that I missed a part of what I could've learned. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

par Katerina S

30 mai 2018

Very interesting course. I would like to point out that some material is not accessible for international learners, like me. Appart from that it is a balanced course, with a lot of food for thought.

par Education J

3 mai 2016

there wasn't' much classroom discussion lead by staff/or mentors. having more then two people peer-review would be ideal. readings were not easily accessible.

par Tan K L G

31 oct. 2020

This course is a little confusing, as it is not just music but also art. As well as the relation of Social Action (political expects).

par AKHILA A

4 juil. 2020

I really enjoyed completing this course.

par Sharita H

17 avr. 2017

I

par Joan E F

3 janv. 2017

This course is mis-titled. There is very little music involved and a lot of social action. The discussions and videos are interesting, buy I am confused about the use of "music" to carry the course's agenda. Perhaps "The Influence of the Arts on Social Action" would better define the intent of the course.

par Veda R

29 févr. 2016

I think that this course has wonderful material, however, I think that more than 2 people should be required to peer review the assignments so it is a balanced grade. In my other classes, at least 5 reviewers are required to review each individual assignment.

par Joy S

3 avr. 2018

ok, I guess