Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education par Université HSE

4.4
étoiles
94 évaluations
31 avis

À propos du cours

This course designed at HSE University gives insights into the importance of multilingual learning in the linguistically and culturally diverse world. It is based on recent studies and case discussions. Several important questions are tackled during the course: • At what age should children begin to learn a second language? • Do bilingual and multilingual children show better performance at school? • How to distinguish between favorable and unfavorable language and education policies? • How are multilingual and/or multicultural classes different from usual ones and what obstacles do teachers and students have to deal with? • How can institutions enhance multicultural and multilingual education process? After finishing this course, the students will develop the following skills: • assess different teaching methods used in multilingual and multicultural classrooms; • assess different language approaches and organizational tactics employed in multilingual learning environment; • gain deeper understanding of the demands pupils have in a multilingual/multicultural classroom; • apply the theory from the online lectures in multilingual/multicultural classrooms; • work with the immigrant students or those who have a minority language as L1. This course will be useful primarily for teachers, students specializing in education/language and linguistics, researchers in language/education policy as well as for those who want to grasp the multilingual approach. The topic is of great interest now as globalization has an impact on different areas of our lives, and it can bring benefits, especially to those who are flexible or try to improve/alter their career....

Meilleurs avis

JA
10 févr. 2021

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

FP
8 oct. 2020

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 31 Avis pour Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

par Luz M S R

15 août 2019

The course offers important and interesting information, but the teacher limits to read the slides instead of explaining them. The topics and the tests are in disorder, and they contain some small mistakes. However, it did help me improve as a teacher and learn new things. It offered a new perspective on MME

par Chiara A

2 nov. 2019

Very interesting course that gives a very broad overview of the topic of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

par Isabella D S

13 juil. 2019

Great course! Thanks to Denis, It is perfect for those teachers that work in International Schools. Recommended!

par Marilyn

7 août 2020

I think the structure needs improving and some of the questions are grammatically confusing.

par Valerie P d L

3 août 2021

The information was useful but REPEATEDLY the test questions asked about subject matter that had not yet been taught. This happened usually once or twice PER TEST, and I would later learn the answer/concept in a future unit. The course needs to be reviewed and edited. Obviously this course was active years ago, but the forums are completely dead now and there is no interaction. No additional assignments to apply the concepts. I would have appreciated recommended further reading. The mistakes in the quizzes, the lack of interaction, homework, and additional resources makes this course extremely dry. Considering the topic is EDUCATION, the course could have been much more dynamic.

par 刘佳文

29 sept. 2018

This course is very useful in training a teacher's multicultural and multilingual consciousness, very practical in today's multicultural and melting-pot world. It really widens my horizon. Many aspects of this topic never occurred to me until I took this course and listened to the videos provided by the professor. M&M education is a very complicated cause, which demands careful thoughts, systematic operations and unsparing love for this field, with many things having to be taken into consideration. I highly suggest you take this course, no matter if you want to be an international teacher, whether you will participate in the educational field or not, because this course will open up your mind and facilitate your understanding of this world as a whole, in which diversity, pluralism and integration is the trend and ultimate goal of human society. It will be beneficial whatever walk of life you're from, as long as you are living in this multicultural world and continue interacting with other people, relatives, friends, teachers, classmates, bosses, colleagues...I promise!

par Oxana S

13 mai 2018

As a teacher of English and Spanish to all age groups in various settings myself, I am very glad I signed up for this course on multilingual and multicultural education. The material is completely relevant to my work, and I believe it will be very useful as I design my language curricula for the upcoming academic year. I am hopeful that what I learned here will help with individual learning as well as group cohesiveness, since my classrooms have diverse students with different backgrounds. The instructor, Denis Zubalov, was also very clear and concise, leaving no ambiguity in his presentation of course materials. I highly recommend this course, and I look forward to upcoming courses in this series.

par Asterilla J M

18 juin 2020

This course sets a solid comprehensive, academic foundation for Multilingual and Multicultural Education through a examination of the most fundamental theories in the field. A great way to get your foot into the door into understanding the field.

par Titov D

12 oct. 2019

For me this course about multilingual/multicultural education is really interesting, because I work abroad now. The course has a good lecturer, structure and design, I recommend it to everyone who is interested in this topic.

par Gabriela T d S

22 août 2020

The videos are short and useful and my notes have never been this organized. I'm thankful to prof. Denis Zubalov and HSE for developing and offering this course that provided me the skills a language teacher must have.

par yael v g

4 déc. 2019

Excelente curso, aclaración de muchos conceptos y muy necesario para educadores de idiomas extranjeros / educadores que trabajan en sistemas educacionales multilinguales y multiculturales

par jessie a

10 févr. 2021

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

par Abderrahmane L

19 sept. 2020

actually pretty good, i learned the deeper meaning of some terminologies that are commonly used by people left and right , thank you mr. zubalov denis

par Francis T P

9 oct. 2020

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

par Baktiyar A

21 juin 2020

if there were some self read material like other University course it will be more better, but I gained knowledge and thank you so much.

par Radia A A

28 juil. 2019

It has given me a new mindset and different perspective in the field of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

par Jessyca M

16 juin 2020

This course gave me the opportunity of expand my knowledge about education in an inclusive pedagogical view.

par Innez M

13 févr. 2021

Really interesting and well developed course, not exactly what I was expecting but great nonetheless

par Shirley J

24 nov. 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso, porque abarca temas desde la pedagogía inclusiva.

par Cherry A V

8 sept. 2021

Excellent and thank you so much to our Professor

par APOSTOLIA F

10 janv. 2021

Very interesting course with top lecturer.

par Hamida M

22 nov. 2020

Thanks for this valuable course.

par Ronny V

7 oct. 2018

Great!

par Edmar O

11 nov. 2019

This course serves its purpose as an introduction to multilingual and multicultural education as it offers the historical, political, pedagogical, and practical perspectives of the language education in such setting. I just want to see the references integrated in the downloadable button of each week.

par Paul V d E

9 sept. 2020

Interesting course. Slides could be improved (max 6 lines with max 6 words per line). Instructor sometimes speaks too fast for this kind of course (even if you can stop and rewind). Some very creative pronunciation.