Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,746 évaluations
647 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ

Aug 01, 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 643 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Jill W

Mar 22, 2017

Excellent course! Enjoyed it immensely and learned a lot! It was great to visit other mountain places around the world that I'll never see as well it was equally fantastic to see and learn about the mountains around my home. I had no idea about the Banff snail. I understand better the chinook systems that brighten my winter days. I am thrilled to see the return of the bison and saddened by the expedited loss of our glaciers. I loved the history, the poems and the pictures! You guys were great at explaining and showcasing, in understandable terms, some of the most majestic of earths creations as well as underlining the importance of stewardship and protection. Kudos to the University of Alberta for, as always, producing top notch research! Proud to be an Albertan! Thank you! :D

par Jakub M

Nov 08, 2019

I like this course very much. Mountains is my passion and thanks to this course i learn a lot of new things about mountains. From people who obviously like mountains and nature too. There is very much professional informations as well as lightweight tips for mountains trips. Videos which are made with various profesionals in different national parks in North America on various topics is very refreshable and interesting. I like finding the mountains on interactive map of the world in nearly every lesson. English language is on a perfectl level. I spent a great time in the company of these people who are professionals and love mountains. At the end of the course I was almost sad that the course ends. I really recommended this course to the people who loves mountains.

par Austin J

Apr 09, 2020

Completed this course as part of my professional development hours to renew my Interpretive Guides Association certification as a Rocky Mountain Guide. This was a nice sweeping review of EVERYTHING related to mountains. I think anyone interested in nature and who loves mountains, but hasn't studied or read about them much before can learn a lot. Most of the lessons were lacking the depth that I hoped they would cover, but I did come out with a lot a healthy reminders around the technical vocabulary for concepts that have become cloudy over time and some great interpretive bits to share with guests on my trips in the future. Absolutely recommend this course if the topic interests you. It is presented in a very dynamic way for a 100% online class. Great work!

par Alice

Aug 12, 2019

I took this free online course to help prepare for my Masters in MSc Sustainable Mountain Development at the University of the Highlands & Islands in September 2019. I come from a Hospitality/Tourism Management background, have a bit of experience of hiking holidays in the Alps and working in a ski resort in Austria, as well as my Bachelors dissertation on sustainable tourism development in the Alps. This course helped me understand the more science-y/geology/geography aspects that I didn't study in my Bachelors. Those parts of the course were a bit more difficult for me but the cultural and development aspects were easier. Overall I really enjoyed the course and would highly recommend this course for anyone who's interested in learning about mountains.

par Shivani R J

May 10, 2020

I visited Canada in the summer of 2019 as a research intern at the University of Regina. During my 3 month stay in Canada, I got the opportunity to visit some of the most beautiful national parks and places in Canada such as the Banff National park, Grasslands National Park. I even got to sit on one of the iconic Red chairs and appreciate the true natural beauty of the mountain world. Since then I've developed a deep connection and passion for mountains and the environment. This course brought back some wonderful memories from my visit to Banff and I look forward to visiting so many fascinating sites discussed during this course. Thank you so much for creating this wonderful course and instilling a passion for the environment in young minds.

par Aaron L W

Apr 16, 2018

As an ecologist by education, and an outdoors lover by experience, this course helped me better understand and appreciate the mountain environments and rekindle that love I had back in college in learning all I can about the outdoors. Being from Minnesota, USA, there aren't any mountains nearby, so this course was very insightful and allowed me, through the videos and testimonies of all those involved, to get a view and feel for what the mountains have to offer. I am starting to plan my first mountaineering adventure with my wife and kids, which will hopefully take place next year, and instill in them my love of the outdoors, and what we can do to preserve that beauty for future generations to come. Thank you very much for this course.

par Aurimas S

Jul 29, 2017

Not being from the mountainous country myself, I truly enjoy visiting and watching mountains. This course provided me with a lot of useful and interesting information, that will allow me to enjoy mountain even more in the future. The course is really nicely organized, the pictures and videos of mountains during lessons make them more entertaining (sometimes during lessons I needed to go backwards to re-listen to what was being told, because I focused my attention too much on the picturesque backgrounds :) ). The teachers were great, and the interviews throughout the course provided even more variety of information. Overall, one of the best and most professional online course I have taken over the years! Amazing job!

par CM C

Apr 12, 2017

This is one of the best college level classes I've ever taken, and my first online class. The slides were beautiful, there was just the right amount of general concepts and specific examples, and many shots were done on location. The instructors were well spoken, informed, enthusiastic, and even had a sense of humour. I live in the mountains of Montana, and I now have a better understanding of where I live, and many things to look for as I walk around in the US and Canadian Rockies. I 'm at a loss to say just how much I enjoyed this class, how much I learned, and how much I was inspired to learn more. Thanks for putting so much care, enthusiasm, and science into this class. Please continue with a Mountains 201.

par Veronica M

Apr 24, 2020

This has been an exceptionally interesting and enjoyable course and I congratulate not only our two front lecturer/presenters but absolutely everyone who has played a part in delivering the programme.

The videos, reading and quizzes and broad overview of such an immense subject have been outstanding and such that I am keen to study some aspects in more depth - congratulations to everyone at the University of Alberta!

Finally I should say that I am a long time retiree in the UK, currently in strict isolation due to the Coronavirus, and Mountains 101 has been a superb diversion from the news of the pandemic all around us. I dream of the day when this is past and I can be back in the mountains!

par Erica D

Sep 30, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! It is very well-made and extremely interesting. It is packed with reliable and crisp information, tons of different resources, good explanations and beautiful visuals. The pop quizzes, end of lesson quizzes, interactive mountain world and tech tips; all made this an extremely engaging, fun and enriching journey. The course really delivers a rounded and integrated view of mountains and has increased my appreciation, reverence and interest in them. I will definitely keep coming back to these resources in the future. And I would like to extend my gratitude to the Professors- David Hik and Zac Robinson- for delivering this course so well! Thank you!

par Kartik M J

Oct 19, 2020

As soon as I started this course with the first chapter, first lesson. I got that mountain vibe and I really got connected to this course. I liked how practically this course was explained by the profs. and the content that they explained. I loved the vibe of mountains exactly as explained in the course and I totally got the Vibe of nature and the main purpose of selecting this course for me is to learn more about the mountains and definitely to protect the mother earth, mother nature. Definitely after learning from this courses, I will try my best, the best possibility, to save mother nature, mother earth, from mass media perspective.

Thanku Coursera

Thanku University of Alberta

par Chris T

May 20, 2020

I learnt so much from this course (and I'm coming from an environmental science background). It was superbly presented, the content was engaging and scaffolded appropriately, and the interviews with other scientists, professors and the tech team really complemented the course. Lastly, I felt somehow emotionally invested in this course, a combination of the subject matter and also the passion that was evident in the team that made it. This was the first course I completed (and I've taken 5 others over the last 5 years), and I think in a large part that it was because of how this course was designed. I wish you all the best, and look forward to the next content that comes out.

par Christy S

Nov 24, 2017

I immensely enjoyed taking this course. I was really satisfied the diversity of voices that were included in the lessons, including men and women from Canada Parks staff, a wide range of academics and specialists, First Nations peoples, and more. The course does a tremendous job exposing us to so many different topics in accessible ways--everything from art, history of thought about mountains, meteorology, geology, and so much more. The professors' passion and enthusiasm for the topics was infectious and by the end of the course they felt like friends. Absolutely recommended to anyone interested! It's a wonderful way to spend a-1.5 hours/week for 12 weeks!

par Jazmin O

May 11, 2020

Highly recommend!

A comprehensive and holistic view of mountains past, present and future, covering the geological phenomena that create them, the social and human impacts, and plant and wildlife that live in mountains. It takes an interdisciplinary approach, view interviews (many of them on the field) with scientists and writers that study mountains. It is challenging to absorb a lot of information in the time provided, but self pacing makes this a very approachable course. The instructors and their guest experts are fantastic. Especially recommended course for anyone who spends time in the outdoors.

par Robert A

Aug 17, 2020

This course served admirably to enhance my understanding of the multiplicity and complex interplay of environmental and social dynamics affecting mountains around the world. The visual dimension of the course was strikingly beautiful and well-integrated. The instructors communicated clearly and conveyed in a warmly personable fashion, something of their personal enthusiasm for the topics. This would seem to be an excellent, non-quantitative beginning course for fostering an appreciation of the crucial nature of scientific inquiry in the preservation of our environmental heritage.

par Balvan S

Jun 30, 2020

Wow! first of all I pay my respect to all the persons involved in designing this course. My native place is a small village in the lap of Himalayas (India). This course provided me the basic knowledge about mountains and how we live here. There are alot of information which I am gonna use in my day to day life. There are new things which my parents aur grandparents used to do like burning the fields and I always stopped them for doing that. Thank you team Mountains 101 for educating me. Wanna study more about mountains. Once again I thank you all for this wonderful course.

par Elías B E

Aug 18, 2017

A really interesting and entertaining course. As a ranger in a national park in Iceland it also benefited me in my work.

My only complaints are that sometimes you can feel that the audio needs to be remastered. The sound quality of the lecturers voices vary during a single lecture and there is only one song used (which is too dramatic in the first place and already over used in week 2). Also, the prime minister ending was too much. It felt like having a desert that's way too sweet and you want to vomit.

But these are negligible factors. The course was great, thanks a lot!

par Alex M V

Apr 29, 2020

You guys are amazing! Zac & David and all the staff, thanks for making this course as perfect as you did. I was in Canada Parks last year, before taking the course, and my time there was fantastic. Now I cannot wait to go back again with all the new things that I know! Every lesson is super complete (the maps section and the tips for having a nice experience in the mountains are super nice) and as a student, its super grateful to feel the love that you feel for the mountains. I will kind of miss you from now on.. You're awesome. Best course I've made in coursera !

par Anthony A

Apr 17, 2020

Skeptical at first. However, the course is well-worth taking. It is somewhat superficial, but it is a 101 course, as advertised. The quality of the video and photography is absolutely outstanding, the best I have ever seen. This is an excellent course for everyone. The video quality alone makes this course worth taking. Mountains for most people are distant and abstract places. However, they are integral to all our lives. There are a few typos and vague wording in the tests and quizzes. However, I am a professional academic copy editor, so I notice them.

par Jean M O

May 12, 2020

When deciding which Coursera course to take I chose Mountains 101 for no specific reason. As the course unfolded so many reasons became apparent. I really enjoyed the interviews with the experts, the beautiful videos, and the very challenging maps. (I feel somewhat ready for Jeopardy now. jk) This course is a perfect introduction to mountains and taught me so much. Each chapter was unique and well-organized. I actually looked forward to getting to the material every time I opened my computer to work on the course. I want to move to the Banff area now!

par Miriam B

Mar 24, 2017

The course does an excellent job of providing a basic understanding of the multi-disciplinary facets of mountains with enough detail to display their complexity and awesomeness, but not so much that you lose sight of the draw of the mountains which brought you to the course in the first place. The visuals in the videos are appropriate and wonderful; while many of the locations are recognizable to those familiar particularly with the Rocky Mountains, it would have been an extra bonus if the locations of the background shots could have been referenced.

par Coralee K

Mar 01, 2017

I went into this course with a geologic understanding of mountains and I was pleasantly surprised by how much more there was to know about mountains. I loved the graphics and thought that the videos were well put together, and I really liked that there were so many knowledgeable guest speakers from all over (not just from Canada or Alberta). After learning about the Banff Springs Snail at the Cave and Basin in Banff National Park I can't wait for warmer weather to go see them for myself! A great course to help broaden your knowledge of mountains.

par Rosalyn A

Aug 05, 2020

This course is so thorough and covers a plethora of topics regarding mountains. I find myself always excited to watch the next video because I learn something new and intriguing in each video. I even rewatch some videos that contain so much content that I want to try and retain the information. And the instructors are very engaging, eloquent, and fun to listen to. I am also impressed with the extra aspects, such as the Tips videos, map lessons, and notes to download after each lesson. This by far is one my favorite Coursera course I have taken yet!