Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
2,233 évaluations
839 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

BS
11 févr. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 838 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Steven M

22 janv. 2017

Great course! Really impressive collaboration with other universities, government agencies, and cultural institutions (and MEC). Wish another week or two could be devoted to social and cultural themes, but really good to see historical content from beyond Western European perspectives.

par pratik b

19 juil. 2020

Exceptional course! Prof. Zac and Prof. David's video lectures along with the very important Tech tips were a treat to learn. The history, geography, geology, impacts, biodiversity, end lesson quiz, and also interactive map were very engaging and informative. Overall a great session!

par Sally S

6 juin 2021

Loved the course. It covered a wide variety of topics and gave such a fascinating insight into many aspects of mountain life. Its a shame more of the references were not open access but there was still plenty of material to go through. Probably the best MOOC Ive ever taken. Thank you

par Carey T

3 mai 2021

Mountains 101 was a pleasure to participate in. It was great to see all the things people are doing to share the importance of Mountain places. This course has refreshed some of my own perspectives on the Mountain environment I call home and reinvigorated my sense of stewardship.

par Andreas A K

1 mai 2020

It's a great course! The best I have so far in my entire life, trust me! I'm a little sad that I finished the course already, because with that good quality of teaching materials I will never get bored with the entire course! Thank you for the professors and the other contributors!

par Steven S

31 août 2017

This course has been very interesting, engaging and very easy to follow. It covers a great range of topics and subtly puts across an important message about environmental protection. I'll likely complete it again shortly because there's a lot of useful information to take on board.

par Ryan C

14 mai 2020

A very informative and thought out course. The videos are great and along with the transcript is perfect.

Love the little guide videos as well. Your attention may start to wander in some of the lengthier videos, but its a great course. worth the time and effort of completing it.

par Katie C

11 oct. 2020

Very clearly presented covering a variety of topical environmental and cultural issues, encouraging good practise in the mountains and an informative learning tool. Highly recommended for first time learners or as a refresher for those who already have a mountain background.

par Desislava D

19 mai 2020

Truly wonderful experience in the mountain world. Interactive teaching method with a lot of examples and expert opinions the course is suitable for mountain lovers regardless of their educational background.

Take your time and enter this illustration of the world we live in.

par Amy

5 nov. 2017

Wonderful, comprehensive look at mountain formation, climate, habitat, biodiversity, and the impacts of humans both now and in the past. I especially enjoyed the historical lessons on mountains and the human imagination in eastern and western societies. Highly recommended!

par Giovanni C R R C

4 nov. 2020

Excelente, me gustó mucho, aprendí mucho sobre la formación de las montañas, la biodiversidad que las habitan, la influencia en el clima del planeta, y la importancia que tienen para muchas cultural alrededor del mundo, y como extra varios tips para viajar a las montañas!

par Adam B

23 janv. 2017

Fantastic course, so interesting! Loved every lesson. Will be recommending this course to all my friends. Thanks to the U of A for putting it together. Congrats to Drs. Hik and Robinson for a job well done. Can hardly wait until Mountains 201 is offered. So appreciative.

par Glenda M

3 nov. 2021

E​njoyed the inter-connectiveness of all the disciplines used in this course. A very full perspective of all things mountain. I especially loved the literature connection!

t​ips for enjoying mountains was duly appreciated

t​hank you for a full and wonderful class

g​lenda

par Emmy

1 sept. 2020

Thank you very much. I learned so much on this course. I particularly liked how integrated the course was, the inclusion of many famous mountains (and the mountain maps) and the talks with industry experts. The lecturers are great and clearly passionate about mountains.

par Ali Y

20 avr. 2017

Without the doubt this was one of most amazing courses which I be taken so far. It was my first Official Course and I had enjoyed a lot by watching lectures, reading some extra notes, and completing the quizzes

My Sincere Thanks to Coursera team and University of Alberta

par Things A

18 juil. 2020

I was blown away by this course. It is informative, interesting, very enjoyable, and well put together. It magnified my fascination with mountains - and my knowledge about them too. Thank you for providing such good material, I am truly impressed by all this good work.

par Tyler R

19 août 2019

This course was amazing. I really appreciate the effort of everyone involved in making it happen. David and Zac were fantastic instructors. It has really helped me expand my knowledge and appreciation for mountains. My favourite topics were glaciers and climate change.

par Shawn F

28 mai 2020

Very comprehensive overview of the significance of mountain environments as they relate to geology, ecology, and humanity. Engaging and refined content that presents the information in a way that continued to surprise me with insights that I never would have expected.

par Helen H

8 juin 2020

Thank you so much for bringing the mountains of the world into my little world. I have learned so much about the mountains in every continent of the world. David and Zac have done an amazing job in passing on their wealth of expertise and knowledge about mountains.

par Tawna H

19 avr. 2020

The course gave informative material in many aspects of mountains. Everything about this course was really well done, to the examples, the pop quiz’s, and the interviewers that gave their perspective on the lesson at hand. I would recommend this course to everyone...

par Amit T

23 juil. 2017

This course provides overview of why mountains are important and how they affect humans. Information about different mountain ranges, glaciers, rivers is something I enjoyed most. The tips at the end of each course is nice. This course met my expectations completely!

par Barbara S

11 mars 2021

This was one of the best courses I have taken. It was well organized, presented in a clear and easy to follow manner, full of information. I have taken other science courses with the University of Alberta, and have found all of their courses to be well presented.

par Meagan F

3 avr. 2020

This course was fantastic! We really enjoyed the thought that went into planning a course that covered so many diverse topics relating to mountains. Thank you for all your efforts. We love mountains even more now! We'll be celebrating December 11th from now on :)

par Nikola J

3 nov. 2017

Unbelievable source of information for people that are not pro. Really nice set of instructions, with lot of animations that describes all topics. Really worth of time and effort to understand all. At the end, we are getting closer to the Earth with this classes.

par omkar b

6 juin 2020

This course is easily comprehensible and enriching for those who intend to study ecology. It was extremely well-curated and helped me discover my profound interest in understanding mountains and its associated cultures! Thank you for this amazing experience!