Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,821 évaluations
670 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ
31 juil. 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 670 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Emmy

1 sept. 2020

Thank you very much. I learned so much on this course. I particularly liked how integrated the course was, the inclusion of many famous mountains (and the mountain maps) and the talks with industry experts. The lecturers are great and clearly passionate about mountains.

par Ali Y

20 avr. 2017

Without the doubt this was one of most amazing courses which I be taken so far. It was my first Official Course and I had enjoyed a lot by watching lectures, reading some extra notes, and completing the quizzes

My Sincere Thanks to Coursera team and University of Alberta

par Szakál B

18 juil. 2020

I was blown away by this course. It is informative, interesting, very enjoyable, and well put together. It magnified my fascination with mountains - and my knowledge about them too. Thank you for providing such good material, I am truly impressed by all this good work.

par Tyler R

19 août 2019

This course was amazing. I really appreciate the effort of everyone involved in making it happen. David and Zac were fantastic instructors. It has really helped me expand my knowledge and appreciation for mountains. My favourite topics were glaciers and climate change.

par Shawn F

28 mai 2020

Very comprehensive overview of the significance of mountain environments as they relate to geology, ecology, and humanity. Engaging and refined content that presents the information in a way that continued to surprise me with insights that I never would have expected.

par Helen H

8 juin 2020

Thank you so much for bringing the mountains of the world into my little world. I have learned so much about the mountains in every continent of the world. David and Zac have done an amazing job in passing on their wealth of expertise and knowledge about mountains.

par Tawna H

19 avr. 2020

The course gave informative material in many aspects of mountains. Everything about this course was really well done, to the examples, the pop quiz’s, and the interviewers that gave their perspective on the lesson at hand. I would recommend this course to everyone...

par Amit T

23 juil. 2017

This course provides overview of why mountains are important and how they affect humans. Information about different mountain ranges, glaciers, rivers is something I enjoyed most. The tips at the end of each course is nice. This course met my expectations completely!

par Meagan F

3 avr. 2020

This course was fantastic! We really enjoyed the thought that went into planning a course that covered so many diverse topics relating to mountains. Thank you for all your efforts. We love mountains even more now! We'll be celebrating December 11th from now on :)

par Nikola J

3 nov. 2017

Unbelievable source of information for people that are not pro. Really nice set of instructions, with lot of animations that describes all topics. Really worth of time and effort to understand all. At the end, we are getting closer to the Earth with this classes.

par omkar b

6 juin 2020

This course is easily comprehensible and enriching for those who intend to study ecology. It was extremely well-curated and helped me discover my profound interest in understanding mountains and its associated cultures! Thank you for this amazing experience!

par Jean L

10 avr. 2017

What a great class! It was so engaging, with beautiful photos and a good mix of biology and social sciences. Technical topics were well explained with nice diagrams and the guest experts provided great examples of in depth knowledge. I loved Mountains 101!!!

par Seila T

15 juil. 2019

What a beautiful and insightful course! The multidisciplinary nature of the course makes it very informative, but also entertaining, and the level of the lessons is challenging without being too difficult. Great instructors, great content and great course!

par Sharal D

19 avr. 2020

It was not just a course, it was an amazing journey that has left me appreciating mountains and related ecosystems more than ever before. Lots of love to all the course instructors and guest speakers for making such an amazing course. Absolutely loved it!

par Olga M K

16 sept. 2019

It's a fantastic course! I felt very motivated throughout and both course leaders were very engaging in their way of presenting. I also loved the quality of the materials and the possibility of going beyond by doing additional reading. Highly recommended!

par Emiko T

5 août 2020

This course is beautifully made. I have taken several online course, and this course is the best so far! I am very grateful to take this course. Thank you very much for all the effort to create this beautiful and has a lot of information and knowledge!!!

par Timo K

23 févr. 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Brilliantly diverse, and with spectacular images, videos, animations and interviews, this course has reaffirmed my appreciation for mountains, strengthened my knowledge of the environment, and has brought me academic joy. Well done!

par Ayush B

27 avr. 2020

As someone who has a deep interest in the cryosphere and glaciers this course has enabled me to become more knowledgeable in this field. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wishes to know more about mountains and their importance to the world.

par MANJUNATH N V

12 nov. 2019

Very interesting course to learn more about the country from India. quite surprised to see the talk by Canadian prime minister at the end of course and congratulating me....its shows how he is giving importance to the course content and education.....

par Pablo T

25 avr. 2020

Excellent course providing a very interesting and interactive overview of mountains in their social, biological, geological, hydrological and historical levels. I'm taking away a greater knowledge and awareness of mountain ecosystems and their value.

par Jérémi G

7 mai 2020

Thanks for this fabulous course. Ce fut très intéressant et enrichissant de vous suivre semaine après semaine. Very well contructed and brought to life. Vous donnez envie d'enfiler nos bottes de randonné et de se diriger vers là-haut.

Merci encore.

par Blue A

17 oct. 2018

I am a mountain hiker and my mind has grown more curious about how my favorite places are formed and my concern for their well being has also grown. I was so happy to find this course and I have already learned so much just in the beginning of it.

par Shanda W

24 juil. 2020

Very fun and interesting course. The instructors were friendly and informative. I really enjoyed the course content and learned a lot. Can’t wait to get out and enjoy mountains and the amazing world we are lucky to live in. Thank you so much!

par Maia R

12 mai 2020

Fabulous wealth of information. I have always been inspired by mountains but this course introduces a wide range of perspectives, as well as handy practical tips, and has given me new appreciation for mountain landscapes and their importance.