Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,821 évaluations
670 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ
31 juil. 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 670 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Εleftherios K

24 mai 2020

An exceptional, multidisciplinary course on mountain science and culture. It is engaging, very well organized and thought-provoking. The amount of science material presented is just perfect and the interviews featured added an extra 'flavor' to the lectures. I loved the mountain tips at the end of every lesson and of course, the video production and scenery was breath-taking! I had an amazing time learning new concepts and practices. Thank you so much!

par Avanee D

17 juin 2020

This was my first 100% e-course and I am glad it was so! I am truly dumbfounded to get the right words to express how exhilarating this experience was.

I will keep returning to this every time I miss mountains and wanna get lost in the while being at home :)

I would like to express my gratitude towards the erudite professors and guest lecturers without whom the entire experience wouldn't have been complete! This course has opened a new universe for me!

par Svenja R

5 oct. 2020

This course was so much fun! I really enjoyed all the lectures and learned a lot of interesting facts about mountains. The course is very well structured and incorporates a lot of different aspects. I rellay enjoyed all the interviews and visiting different places which also had to be recognized on a map in the end. The tech tips were a great additional for pratical tips. Overall, this is the best coursera course I've done so far! Thank you so much!

par Kristopher A

3 avr. 2017

This course was one of the best produced ones that I have seen on Coursera. The production quality of the videos is very professional and they interview experts in many different fields(history, literature, meteorology, biologists, etc.) to provide a very interdisciplinary view on the topic of the course. The quizzes aren't very challenging but they suggested plenty of supplemental material for those that want to learn more about the subject.

par Kimberly F

30 juil. 2017

A great course for an intro to mountains! You get a little bit of everything from geology, history, biology, wildlife, culture, evolution and conservation as well as handy tips for hiking in the mountains. The modules were easy to follow, the instructors easy to understand, and each lesson was accompanied by beautiful graphics, and interviews with professionals that helped to make it feel like you were there. Can't wait to take Mountains 201!

par Goh T Y

28 juin 2020

Being from a country with limited mountains, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always loved the outdoors, and this course allowed me to understand mountains better despite not being in close proximity with them. The scientific concepts were clearly explained, and I enjoyed how the course was very interdisciplinary. Being a humanities student myself, I really enjoyed the elaborations on how mountains shaped cultures, literature and art.

par Michelle P

31 juil. 2020

A top-notch course that I would highly recommend for everyone. The cross-disciplinary content made the learning process both intriguing and an absolute delight. The material covered was deeply fascinating, with practical tips that anyone can apply. The breathtaking imagery left me totally inspired. I really didn't want this course to end! A big thank you to the Mountains 101 team and the University of Alberta. Got any more up your sleeve?

par Keith P

29 sept. 2020

An amazing introduction to what mountains are actually about, beyond their seemingly everlasting beauty and majestic visual power. Their relationship with weather systems, habitats for fauna and flora, peoples and their cultures and economies is truly well presented, described, and explained.

There's a really cool surprise at the end of the course, and the whole journey towards it makes the overall learning experience a time greatly spent.

par Lawrence S

14 juil. 2017

I truly enjoyed the course. It tackles a lot of disciplines from geology to history to social and they introduced relevant experts from those fields. The photos during the videos were also beautiful and they provided a pleasant experience while the instructors were discussing. This course is well developed and well produced and I consider one of the best MOOCs I have taken so far. Congratulations to the team for this magnificent work!

par Ophelia

3 oct. 2017

I found the course to be informative with just the right amount of difficulty, requiring me to pay close attention to the lectures and those interviewed. I was amazed over how much I learned and the absolute necessity of mountains and the ecosystem!

I commend the lecturers and the interviewees for their obvious devotion and commitment to the preservation of mountains and their habitats.

Without hesitation I give the course 5 Stars!

par Dar M

28 janv. 2017

This was such a wonderful and informative course. I love the mountains and travel frequently around the world to experience mountains in other places as much as I can. The videos were put together wonderfully with different speakers and resources, such a great collaborative effort. Education and awareness is so important for sustainability. I also really enjoyed the interactive maps and tech tips. Really great course all around.

par Marie S

11 sept. 2020

Mountains 101 is an excellent interdisciplinary survey of every subject about the mountains. The instructors delivered interesting, easy to understand lectures, which were accompanied by entertaining videos, particularly of the Canadian Rockies. Can't wait to get out on the trails again to explore some more, learn more in nature's inviting laboratory, and check out some of the many references they recommended. Thank you!

par Ramyashree A H

22 avr. 2020

Wonderful couse!! I am a postgraduate (M.Tech) student from India. In high school I was very much interested in geography. I would like to mark places on my country map and world map. I chose engineering because I love maths and physics. But topics like geography, history, sports etc are my subjects of happiness and curiosity. I don't study them as my subjects, rather I enjoy watching videos in free time. Thank you !!!

par Cole M

12 mai 2020

As an Environmental Sciences student, now employed with Parks Canada as an intern, I see huge benefits of the information I've been able to absorb from this course. Relative knowledge reinforced, and confidence to take on more of the mountain terrains. I feel that this course has given me more than just the taught information, but installed a deeper respect for our mountainous regions and all the life within them.

par Dawn S

16 juin 2020

This was an awesome course! Filled with insight and beauty and an appreciation for Canada and its stance on conservation! The professors both kept me captivated and I enjoyed every lesson and seeing your PM at the end was awesome! I am going to miss this course but I have gained so much by taking it thank you for giving me an even greater appreciation for the mountains, in my eyes they are the footstools for God.

par David P D

5 juin 2019

An outstanding applied geography of mountains that deals with the physical, ecological, and human dimensions, with practical advice on how to experience mountains firsthand. The course makes great use of current and historical photography, diagrams, animations, pop-quizes during recorded lectures, and interactive maps. It sets a high bar for self-paced courses in terms of content, pacing, and use of the platform.

par Stephen B

24 août 2020

Such a fantastic course!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it. The instructors are excellent, the material interesting and well presented and the interactive maps and tech tips added much to the learning and experience of the course. The images and interviews with various subject matter experts added to the quality of learning. I am sad to have finished the course because it has been so enjoyable.

par Blake F

26 août 2020

The course is super comprehensive and leaves you with an overall greater appreciation for the majesty of our planets mountains, and the processes that occur within their ecosystems. Not only do you feel more knowledgeable about the ecological processes of mountains and their formation, but the course also gives you a broad range of perspectives when it comes to living in and adapting to mountain life.

par Richard E

11 avr. 2020

Very educational survey course for non-Science majors. No complaints as I knew what I was getting into. It would be interesting for me to attend a follow-up course with some Geochemistry, Math, and computing skills (Python, R, SQL, etc.) required. Excellent presentation of issues related to human activity and various cultures. Quite educational. References provided for deeper dives. Recommended!

par Gordon W

17 juil. 2017

Amazing Course! Interesting and Eye-opening course of mountains. The courses touches on many different aspect of mountains, which I very enjoyed. As well as a bonus, I got to learn about many different mountains across the world and lots of tips for travelling and hiking in the mountains (which I plan to do in the near future, after seeing how beautiful and magnificent they are from this course)!

par amit a

2 nov. 2017

This course gave me a holistic understanding of the various aspects of mountains viz. historical,cultural, geological and ecological. The course is very well researched and the speakers are well acquainted with the subject. I would thank University of Alberta and Coursera for such a wonderful experience. I am looking forward for future courses which cover Himalayan mountains in detail. Thank you.

par Mayukh S

2 juin 2020

The course was very interesting .The map pointings activity which showed different landforms across the globe, their beautiful interesting pictures,various diverse landscapes the class notes, the teachings of the instructors were so good!!!I The class seemed a real one. I learned a lot and it was very detailed,informative ,creative and a flexible one even in terms of grading and schedule.

par PIETRO B

3 mai 2020

Hi, I'm Pietro from Italy. As a mountain lover I really liked this course, it makes me love even more this environment and push me te do even more to make whatever is possible to protect it. I hope in the future to come to Canada and visit al the beautiful national parks that I've seen. Again thank you very much I really appreciate a lot this course and I will recommend it to my friends.

par Michelle O

1 févr. 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

par Chris S

8 juil. 2020

This was one of the most phenomenal online courses I've ever taken. They have high engagement, production value, and information specificity. This really is a magnificent starting point for anyone interested in mountains, ecology, the outdoors, etc.; I would recommend this to just about anyone. Kudos and thanks so much for some of the most enjoyable learning I've experienced in years!