Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
2,208 évaluations
830 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

LB
4 mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtrer par :

801 - 825 sur 829 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Himal k

30 avr. 2020

I'm very thankful to mountain s101cousera to give me this kind of opportunities,and online courses ...it is very useful to who are free or studying students to burden their knowledge, skill capacity...thank u very much

😊😊😀🥰

par Harry A H

26 févr. 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

par Wally W

28 juin 2021

Very informative with respect to the impact of mountains on our civilization. The lectures were presented very well and added greatly to the learning environment.

Well done.

par Jessica S

12 août 2019

The course is set up well with the videos (along with the text), quizzes and notes. A couple of the lessons are a bit dry but, overall, I truly enjoyed this course.

par Keira W

27 mars 2020

I found the study and explanation of plant and animal biology and anatomy in alpine environments to be both fascinating and enriching. Thanks for the course!

par Brayden J

14 mai 2020

This was my first course on Coursera, and it was wonderful. I'll be looking forward to continuing Coursera in the future.

par Samuel R

15 sept. 2020

El curso está realizado de manera exquisita, buena calidad visual y con ejemplos reales en parques naturales de Canadá.

par J M

7 mars 2017

Really interesting course and well done. Was really impressed with all the ressources and even guest speakers.

par GREG G

16 mars 2017

Leave out the politics and controversial science stated as irrefutable fact.

par JEREMY C

7 mars 2017

Fantastic course! Audio needs some re-mastering, was frustrating at times.

par Sanjana K

8 févr. 2021

A very engrossing and deeply engrossing course. Loved my classroom!

par Kenny C

4 févr. 2017

Highly recommand it to do it if you love Canada and its Mountains!

par Andrea G

21 févr. 2021

Very interesting and informative course on mountain environments.

par Edgar B

5 mai 2017

Buen curso para iniciar en el conocimiento de las montañas.

par Ian L A

28 oct. 2020

A fascinating overview of all aspects of mountains.

par Tanya F

23 juin 2017

Very education and well done, easy to do/understand

par Richard K

18 août 2017

very interesting and informative

par Shirley K

9 juil. 2020

fun course, really enjoyed it

par Elita Y

9 juin 2020

Very comprehensive

par Rahul S

17 janv. 2018

A complete one!

par Diane W

23 déc. 2020

A good introduction and interesting case studies. Many interesting parts to the course but I found it a little easy (that was probably due to my background as a geography teacher) I would also have liked to see a little more encouragement to investigate further on the topics - perhaps suggesting websites or additional reading. I found I was rather a passive learner and would have preferred to be more involved with finding things out.

par Sandy J M

23 juin 2021

The material in this course was excellent, but I avoided the videos and did it by reading the transcripts only. The music accompanying the lectures and other bits is distracting and annoying. I spent 10 years at university and never attended a serious lecture that was accompanied by elevator music.

par Jonathan G

30 janv. 2018

and Justin course. However, a lot of what was being covered with redundant. You can easily learn the stuff covered in the course on a camping trip or from a mountain climber.

par Baral P

28 mai 2021

Much focus was on the alpine mountains, whereas mountains are found on all climatic zones. Very less was taught about the mountains beyond alpine mountains of North America.

par Alexandropoulou C

9 sept. 2019

It was good at the basics but I was looking for information about caves in mountains and bats!