Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
2,177 évaluations
816 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

LB
4 mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtrer par :

776 - 800 sur 812 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Corey B

15 avr. 2017

Awesome content. Really inspired me to bring out my love for biology, chemistry and nature. The downside is that in order to fully absorb the content, its necessary to take notes while watching the lectures. This added effort turns what says is a 20 minute lesson into an hour at the very least. Besides the time consuming nature of this course, it was awesome. I love the awareness that it brings to people from all disciplines about the potential harms that we are creating for our environment.

par Peter

18 mai 2019

Excellent course, interesting and wide-ranging in the selection of topics. As a student from Africa I would have liked a bit more of an international flavour, particularly around the dependency of populations on rapidly degrading mountain environments. The course is a bit Canada-centric, which is also very interesting for us foreigners, who envy the resources you can bring to the protection and study of mountains.

par Andrea G

6 avr. 2021

I found it to be a great way to learn and expand my knowledge of mountains. However I sometimes found the videos or additional information a bit distracting at times. But maybe I was also expecting something a little more scientific or focused on the building, formation, and science of mountains from a strictly geological aspect. Anyways still very happy I participated and experienced this course!

par Elena M

10 févr. 2017

This was a great course. I am retired so I do not want extremely high level courses with quizzes that are very hard to pass. I feel this course was respectful of learners intelligence without going over the top. Well presented topics made it enjoyable. Also liked the interactive map learning, and tech tips. Thank you.

par Kevin J C

15 août 2019

Was very interesting until the last lesson. Don't agree with the whole man made climate change theory so it seemed to detract from the course, as did the cameo from our poor excuse for a prime minister. Skipping those parts made no difference in the course outcome so all good. Thanks for the rest of it tho.

par Yusuke S

12 oct. 2020

I had learned about much of knowledge and words of mountain, nature, and environmental.

The words what are learned in the class are sometimes specialized, so it might be feel difficulty at the class.

If you have interesting or curiosity about mountaineering, I 'll strongly recommend to take this class.

par Maxime L

30 nov. 2019

Very instructive and interesting. Didn't think it would cover so many different aspects of understanding. Especially the part talking about society and mountains.

On top of that it helps getting a better geographical culture of the world and may give you ideas for your futur vacations!

par Darren

5 févr. 2021

This course has an excellent variety of content, that is well-presented, and made very interesting. I really enjoyed the ways that academic and research knowledge was integrated with practical tips and suggestions. I also really enjoyed the guest speakers.

par Himal k

30 avr. 2020

I'm very thankful to mountain s101cousera to give me this kind of opportunities,and online courses ...it is very useful to who are free or studying students to burden their knowledge, skill capacity...thank u very much

😊😊😀🥰

par Harry A H

26 févr. 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

par Wally W

28 juin 2021

Very informative with respect to the impact of mountains on our civilization. The lectures were presented very well and added greatly to the learning environment.

Well done.

par Jessica S

12 août 2019

The course is set up well with the videos (along with the text), quizzes and notes. A couple of the lessons are a bit dry but, overall, I truly enjoyed this course.

par Keira W

27 mars 2020

I found the study and explanation of plant and animal biology and anatomy in alpine environments to be both fascinating and enriching. Thanks for the course!

par Brayden J

14 mai 2020

This was my first course on Coursera, and it was wonderful. I'll be looking forward to continuing Coursera in the future.

par Samuel R

15 sept. 2020

El curso está realizado de manera exquisita, buena calidad visual y con ejemplos reales en parques naturales de Canadá.

par J M

7 mars 2017

Really interesting course and well done. Was really impressed with all the ressources and even guest speakers.

par GREG G

16 mars 2017

Leave out the politics and controversial science stated as irrefutable fact.

par JEREMY C

7 mars 2017

Fantastic course! Audio needs some re-mastering, was frustrating at times.

par Sanjana K

8 févr. 2021

A very engrossing and deeply engrossing course. Loved my classroom!

par Kenny C

4 févr. 2017

Highly recommand it to do it if you love Canada and its Mountains!

par Andrea G

21 févr. 2021

Very interesting and informative course on mountain environments.

par Edgar B

5 mai 2017

Buen curso para iniciar en el conocimiento de las montañas.

par Ian L A

28 oct. 2020

A fascinating overview of all aspects of mountains.

par Tanya F

23 juin 2017

Very education and well done, easy to do/understand

par Richard K

18 août 2017

very interesting and informative