Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,827 évaluations
674 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ
31 juil. 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

Filtrer par :

651 - 671 sur 671 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Harry A H

26 févr. 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

par Jessica S

12 août 2019

The course is set up well with the videos (along with the text), quizzes and notes. A couple of the lessons are a bit dry but, overall, I truly enjoyed this course.

par Keira W

27 mars 2020

I found the study and explanation of plant and animal biology and anatomy in alpine environments to be both fascinating and enriching. Thanks for the course!

par Matthew B

10 août 2020

I wish that some of the information went into more detail. Otherwise, this was a great introductory survey about mountains.

par Brayden J

14 mai 2020

This was my first course on Coursera, and it was wonderful. I'll be looking forward to continuing Coursera in the future.

par Samuel R

15 sept. 2020

El curso está realizado de manera exquisita, buena calidad visual y con ejemplos reales en parques naturales de Canadá.

par J M

7 mars 2017

Really interesting course and well done. Was really impressed with all the ressources and even guest speakers.

par GREG G

16 mars 2017

Leave out the politics and controversial science stated as irrefutable fact.

par JEREMY C

7 mars 2017

Fantastic course! Audio needs some re-mastering, was frustrating at times.

par Kenny C

4 févr. 2017

Highly recommand it to do it if you love Canada and its Mountains!

par Edgar B

5 mai 2017

Buen curso para iniciar en el conocimiento de las montañas.

par Ian L A

28 oct. 2020

A fascinating overview of all aspects of mountains.

par Tanya F

23 juin 2017

Very education and well done, easy to do/understand

par Richard K

18 août 2017

very interesting and informative

par Shirley K

9 juil. 2020

fun course, really enjoyed it

par Elita Y

9 juin 2020

Very comprehensive

par Rahul S

17 janv. 2018

A complete one!

par Jeff F

15 nov. 2020

I really liked the course content, but I would have wished the course was more challenging in terms of difficulty. Also, I would have also like to have learned more about ways to utilized plants and resources from the mountains instead of solely being told the preserve mountain ecosystems. I love going into the mountains for days at a time while being self-sufficient, surely not an easy task so any information to become a better mountain man is surely Welcome!

par Jonathan G

30 janv. 2018

and Justin course. However, a lot of what was being covered with redundant. You can easily learn the stuff covered in the course on a camping trip or from a mountain climber.

par Alexandropoulou C

9 sept. 2019

It was good at the basics but I was looking for information about caves in mountains and bats!

par John W S

14 févr. 2017

Got as far as lesson six. Took test and received 78%. Have been trying without success to retake the test. There does not seem to be anywhere to try and find out how to fix this.???????????????????????