Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
2,235 évaluations
839 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

BS
11 févr. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 838 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Kapil E

15 mars 2020

An excellent course, very inspiring to see the Canadian Government efforts in conserving mountains. The lectures were all informative and shot in beautiful backgrounds. The tech tips were useful and fun! Overall a most wonderful course.

par Elizabet T

30 avr. 2021

Interesting and comprehensive. Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the mountains I love, and many I had never heard about. The lessons were engaging. I plan on delving deeper into plate tectonics, volcanoes, and glaciers. Thank you!

par Clifford C

29 juin 2020

Very thorough discussion for an introductory course. Definitely whet the appetite for additional coursework dealing with our natural environment. Very well delivered and easy to follow along. Thank you for providing this opportunity!

par Nara

11 juin 2021

Fantastic Course.

I learnt a lot of aspects about Mountains - geological origin, structures, bio- diversity, importance of glaciers, impact of climate, human and other anthropogenic activities. Overall,a well planned,executed course.

par Julia M

19 déc. 2020

Very information course, great regardless of your academic background! I love the style of the lecture videos which include great tech tips, interviews, photographs, and demonstrations of concepts. Overall a really fantastic course!

par Lisa C

13 sept. 2020

I would give this course 10 stars if I could. It's fascinating and fabulous, extremely well produced, and really an overall excellent experience. It's been a Covid lifesaver- I've enjoyed the vicarious travel and beautiful scenery.

par Miko T

5 sept. 2020

Incredibly enjoyable course for anybody with an interest in mountains or even just in the environment in general. The lecturers are cool and the different segments are engaging. The tech tips are a really good bonus to each week.

par Kerianne H

8 août 2020

One of the best MOOC I have ever taken. So wonderfully instructed, edited and presented. So much time and collaboration was used and the result is amazing! So proud to have content of this caliber come from a Canadian University

par Kathy P

31 janv. 2021

What an interesting course focusing on mountains but I learned so much more than just information about mountains themselves. Wonderful instructors and guests that shared their knowledge made this a really enjoyable experience!

par Michael W

10 janv. 2018

Very interesting course, with excellent presenters. Having grown up in the small mountains of Cumbria (The English Lake District) it was very impressive to see and learn about the big mountain ranges of the world. Thank you!

par Jody

7 févr. 2021

What a great way to present mountains of the world in a compelling and understandable way. Thank you for a wonderful course. What a great base knowledge of mountains that will serve me well in future adventures and education.

par Dr.Shailashree S

20 juil. 2020

Thank you professors, the videos are so awesome that I felt like I am watching them really, so beautiful scenes of mountains and all other pictures, really enjoyed and seen all the videos completely, hats off to you sirs.

par Eamon H

15 juil. 2020

Great course covering a wide range of topics concerning mountains from physical geography, climate and biodiversity to human perspectives. Would highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountain landscapes.

par Lydia W

19 juin 2020

Mountains 101 was a pleasure to learn during lockdown. The videos were well paced and informative, and the lecturers and guest speakers were all brilliant. I'm really sad to have finished! Thank you (from Manchester, England)

par Shubham S

23 août 2020

outstanding experience , should be made available in multiple languages across the world specially in Asian countries at school level to educate young students to join forces against climate change and increasing pollution.

par Brice P

27 janv. 2018

Really good content and very interesting. The tech tips are a little vapid for the average outdoors person, but a good try to add something different.

My favorite was the module on altitudes effects and adaptations on humans

par Matúš S

2 sept. 2017

Excellent course, it provides very good information about mountains from various perspectives. I will make sure to go through this course once again in the future and get the certificate! Thank you for making Mountains 101.

par Arenell R

22 sept. 2020

I have completed 8 courses from various institutions over the past year and have found this course by far the best! I enjoyed the variety of aspects covered in much detail and inputs from different experts in their fields.

par Robert S

13 juin 2020

I only wish there were a Mountains 102, 103, and more from the same University of Alberta team. I may suffer from withdrawal symptoms.....though a run in my local mountains after passing the last test was some consolation!

par Jan E

13 mai 2020

great multidisciplinary information in a appealing package, paired with relaxing mountain vistas - almost like a small vacation including interpretative hikes with park rangers, while I'm physically stuck at home - thanks!

par Svetlana R

13 mars 2017

Learned a lots of really interesting infomation about mountains. Thanks a lot, it was realy beautiful and breathtaking adventure and I was sad it's finished - like I always feel when my journey somewhere comes to the end.

par AREZIA G

18 oct. 2020

I really (really really) enjoyed this course. Very well structured, never boring and with a lot of unexpected topics.

Honestly the best course i have taken and to be 100% honest now that I completed the course I am sad.

par Ang C C

3 mai 2020

This is a multi-disciplinary course and I really enjoyed it as we learned various topics concerning mountains, glaciers, and the importance of mountain. I am pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable this course is in fact.

par Mitch B

27 févr. 2017

Great course and very well presented. Sometimes I spent more time looking at the spectacular pictures than listening to the instructors. I live near Banff National Park in Canmore so I recognized a lot of the pictures.