Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,813 évaluations
668 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

SK
22 déc. 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ
31 juil. 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 667 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Ignacio F D

11 juil. 2020

Amazing, im a 17 year old student from Argentina, and I loved this course. Thank you so much to the University of Alberta and Coursera to giving me the oportunity of completing this course.

par Becky F

29 oct. 2019

Incredible mixture of geography, biology, conservation policy, biodiversity, art, culture, literature and social issues!! Entertaining, engaging, interesting, informative, 10/10 recommend.

par Virginia N F C

19 sept. 2017

thank you very much for thic curse. I connected to mountain environments even more. tahnk you for taking the time for preparing this course and leaving it open and free for the world.

par Yugansh B

10 juil. 2020

I refer this course to all nature lovers. It is an interdisciplinary course. You will learn how to survive on mountains, reasons behind the experiences you will face in the mountains

par David k O

1 juil. 2020

Very interesting course! I love the field aspect of the course more maybe because I'm a field geologist . The course gave me more understanding about what mountains are in real life.

par Way C A

27 mars 2017

This course is absolutely wonderful and educational. I should get back to hiking. How did you guys manage to get Justin Trudeau to give a speech for this course? Thank you very much.

par ABDU S M

28 sept. 2020

Awesome Course!

Excellent lecture classes. I learnt many terms and concepts from this course.

Thank you COURSERA, University of Alberta and the most respected professors and lectures.

par Vinci A

13 juil. 2020

Informative, engaging, and beautifully done. Not only has it instilled a deeper and renewed appreciation for mountains, but it also made me extra proud of to be Canadian. Thank you.

par Robea I P

1 mai 2020

Very nice & interactive course .Quite rich in information and very nice applied examples regarding the given information. Also the maps were a nice touch to this course . Thank you!

par Kubčo T

30 avr. 2017

This course helped me a lot during my intensive studies for exam at my University. I would like to thanks all contributors and authors for achieving this great piece of good job :)

par Danielle R

10 mars 2017

I enjoyed watching the videos and learning about the mountains all over the world. Was a well laid out course, very informative and enjoyed the video clips throughout the talking.

par David B

29 janv. 2020

A Beautifully constructed course that does great justice for the topic of Mountains! It was a pleasure and a joy to take this course, and I will always remember what I learned. :)

par Mark H

2 avr. 2017

Absolutely enjoyable. Great introduction to mountains: not dumbed down or diluted; covers an expansive range of topics; very well produced videos that keep the viewer interested.

par Miguel A R L

3 août 2020

Great, very interesting course, a wide look through the mountains diversities. A challenge start point to explore the high lands with new tools.

Tanks professors Robinson and Hik

par Dave S

17 juin 2020

Amazing instructors, very knowledgeable on the subjects, well put together videos, as well as guest speakers (felt like a field trip) and outdoor tips. Thanks for the experience

par Mohamed M A E

29 janv. 2019

I really enjoyed sharing and following this wonderful course. Very well designed, organized and professionally presented.

Many thanks and hope to see you again in another course.

par Deleted A

1 mai 2018

What a great course. On top of learning a lot about mountains, there are suggestions for extra resources (articles, books, videos) at the end of every week's worth of material.

par Marian Z

28 juin 2020

I've loved everything about this course. And you can learn quite a lot from 12 lessons.

Thanks to professor Hik and professor Robinson the lessons are very easy to understand.

par Randy S

10 août 2017

This course was my perfect re-introduction to learning. I haven't taken courses for approximately 20+ years and Mountains 101 was fun and engaging. Recommended to everyone.

par Pooja S

30 mars 2020

I thank Dr Zac Robinson and Dr David Hik for teaching extraodinarly. I thank coursera for having this topic. I love mountains and after learning this subject i love it more.

par William R N J

24 août 2017

Great course, the best I've seen on Coursera. I'm now starting University of Alberta's Dino 101 course and look forward to other offerings from the University of Alberta.

par kana k

18 avr. 2017

I really enjoed each lessons and I've gotten much more interested in mountains around the world. I'll review all lessons again to make my understanding more deep and solid

par Faiz A R

30 mai 2020

All in all, this course has been amazing! It is a well-made course that approaches mountains from various perspective. Would recommend outdoor lovers to take this course!

par Tatiany P V

9 mai 2017

Foi o curso on-line mais incrivel que eu já realizei!! Parabens a todos!! As videos aulas, o cenario, a musica, o conteudo e explicacao. Simplismente demais!! Incrivel!!!

par Annesha K G

7 mars 2017

Brilliant course on mountain. Learned many things from hiking to living of animals & human beings. Thank you Coursera & University of Alberta. Thanks for the certificate.