Chevron Left
Retour à Mountains 101

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mountains 101 par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
2,174 évaluations
816 avis

À propos du cours

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Meilleurs avis

LB
4 mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

BS
11 févr. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 812 Avis pour Mountains 101

par Emiko T

5 août 2020

This course is beautifully made. I have taken several online course, and this course is the best so far! I am very grateful to take this course. Thank you very much for all the effort to create this beautiful and has a lot of information and knowledge!!!

par Timo K

23 févr. 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Brilliantly diverse, and with spectacular images, videos, animations and interviews, this course has reaffirmed my appreciation for mountains, strengthened my knowledge of the environment, and has brought me academic joy. Well done!

par Ayush B

27 avr. 2020

As someone who has a deep interest in the cryosphere and glaciers this course has enabled me to become more knowledgeable in this field. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wishes to know more about mountains and their importance to the world.

par MANJUNATH N V B

12 nov. 2019

Very interesting course to learn more about the country from India. quite surprised to see the talk by Canadian prime minister at the end of course and congratulating me....its shows how he is giving importance to the course content and education.....

par Andrey D

3 févr. 2021

Professionally presented by knowledgeable lecturers with input from field specialists. Truly a work of art, I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect covered and look forward to exploring deeper into the suggested readings provided at the end of each lesson.

par Pablo T

25 avr. 2020

Excellent course providing a very interesting and interactive overview of mountains in their social, biological, geological, hydrological and historical levels. I'm taking away a greater knowledge and awareness of mountain ecosystems and their value.

par Zoe S

11 déc. 2020

The content of this course is well thought out, visually beautiful, and very informative. I love the interdisciplinary aspect of the course, and reflects very well how versatile mountains are. Highly recommend for science nerds and mountain lovers.

par Jérémi G

7 mai 2020

Thanks for this fabulous course. Ce fut très intéressant et enrichissant de vous suivre semaine après semaine. Very well contructed and brought to life. Vous donnez envie d'enfiler nos bottes de randonné et de se diriger vers là-haut.

Merci encore.

par Blue A

17 oct. 2018

I am a mountain hiker and my mind has grown more curious about how my favorite places are formed and my concern for their well being has also grown. I was so happy to find this course and I have already learned so much just in the beginning of it.

par Laura M M G

1 avr. 2021

The best course for me! Each lesson was very interesting, I learned many things that I did not know and I broadened my perspectives. You can see the effort and the will of each person who participated in this course. I recommend it to everybody:)

par zoeluca

2 févr. 2021

Wonderful course, everything was well explained. The sections have continuity and keep the attention focused. The presenters did a great job and I loved that they spoke clearly and not very fast. A well documented course. I will do it again soon.

par Shanda W

24 juil. 2020

Very fun and interesting course. The instructors were friendly and informative. I really enjoyed the course content and learned a lot. Can’t wait to get out and enjoy mountains and the amazing world we are lucky to live in. Thank you so much!

par Maia R

12 mai 2020

Fabulous wealth of information. I have always been inspired by mountains but this course introduces a wide range of perspectives, as well as handy practical tips, and has given me new appreciation for mountain landscapes and their importance.

par Claudia B

9 avr. 2020

The only thing, I did not like about the course: It ended too early. Great course, stunning pictures, great teachers, lots of informations, impressive bandwith of issues. Thank you so much & hope to see this team again in mountains 102 :-)

par Tom K

14 avr. 2017

LOVED this course!!!! I am looking to have a fulltime career in the ski industry and this was a great base to have. Am hoping that this might develop into more courses ie Mountain Economics or Preservation of Mountain Ecosystems...Thanks.

par Max G

27 oct. 2020

Excellent course. I’m neither a newcomer to Mountains, mountain cultures, mountain climbing nor mountain safety, and I found this course to be exceptionally entertaining and informative and just fun. Made me want to visit Canada! Thanks.

par willow333@earthlink.net

31 juil. 2020

This is a great thorough course on all aspects of mountain studies! However, it needs some updating. Some information provided is more than 5 years old. Many of the references are also old and some require additional fees for access.

par Kapil E

15 mars 2020

An excellent course, very inspiring to see the Canadian Government efforts in conserving mountains. The lectures were all informative and shot in beautiful backgrounds. The tech tips were useful and fun! Overall a most wonderful course.

par Elizabet T

30 avr. 2021

Interesting and comprehensive. Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the mountains I love, and many I had never heard about. The lessons were engaging. I plan on delving deeper into plate tectonics, volcanoes, and glaciers. Thank you!

par Clifford C

29 juin 2020

Very thorough discussion for an introductory course. Definitely whet the appetite for additional coursework dealing with our natural environment. Very well delivered and easy to follow along. Thank you for providing this opportunity!

par Nara

11 juin 2021

Fantastic Course.

I learnt a lot of aspects about Mountains - geological origin, structures, bio- diversity, importance of glaciers, impact of climate, human and other anthropogenic activities. Overall,a well planned,executed course.

par Julia M

19 déc. 2020

Very information course, great regardless of your academic background! I love the style of the lecture videos which include great tech tips, interviews, photographs, and demonstrations of concepts. Overall a really fantastic course!

par Lisa C

13 sept. 2020

I would give this course 10 stars if I could. It's fascinating and fabulous, extremely well produced, and really an overall excellent experience. It's been a Covid lifesaver- I've enjoyed the vicarious travel and beautiful scenery.